Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Bride for Anna's Papa” as Want to Read:
A Bride for Anna's Papa
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Bride for Anna's Papa

by
0.0  ·  Rating Details ·  0 Ratings  ·  0 Reviews
The death of he mother has left thirteen-year-old Anna Kallio responsible for running the house. She has no time anymore for going to school or playing with friends. She and her nine-year-old brother, Matti, worry about their father, who is a blacksmith for the iron mines. When they realize how lonely he his, they plot to find him a new wife, even trying to arrange a match ...more
Paperback, 144 pages
Published September 9th 2004 by Milkweed Editions
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Bride for Anna's Papa, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Bride for Anna's Papa

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-24)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Miss Amanda
gr 5-7 136 pgs

1907-1908 Chisolm, Minnesota. 12 year old Anna wants to go to school more than anything, but since the death of her mother she hasn't been able to go. Instead, she is in charge of all the housework and taking care of her younger brother Matti. Anna decides that the only way for her to return to school is to find a bride for Papa...

Great story. Readers who enjoyed Sarah Plain and Tall will enjoy this story too.
Terrie Landsberger
Sep 09, 2015 Terrie Landsberger rated it really liked it
The book that I read was A Bride for Anna's papa. The author of this book was Isabel R. Marvin. The book is a historical fiction. In this book A girl Anns has to treys to fined a bride fore her papa. she wants to go to school but has to take cair of the house. The book was so entertaining that you just knead to read the next page.
;P Gabriella
;P Gabriella rated it liked it
Mar 07, 2016
Rachel Oppitz
Rachel Oppitz rated it liked it
Oct 11, 2015
Rebecca
Rebecca rated it really liked it
Mar 26, 2010
Anne M.
Anne M. rated it liked it
Jul 01, 2013
Judy
Aug 29, 2015 Judy rated it liked it
a Finnish family story
Mary
Sep 10, 2008 Mary rated it it was amazing
Shelves: young-readers
A great historical book on Finnish immegrants who settled up on the Iron Range in MN.
Charity Hall
Charity Hall rated it really liked it
Jun 27, 2013
Holly
Holly rated it really liked it
Jul 05, 2011
Rebel
Rebel rated it liked it
Oct 04, 2015
Jandi
Jandi marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2010
Mary Chambers
Mary Chambers marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2011
Jen
Jen added it
Oct 11, 2011
Amber
Amber marked it as to-read
May 24, 2012
Joelle
Joelle added it
Sep 16, 2012
Catherine
Catherine marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2013
Mary Bronson
Mary Bronson marked it as to-read
Sep 12, 2013
Amy Ruffi
Amy Ruffi marked it as to-read
Oct 20, 2015
Deeann
Deeann added it
Jan 27, 2016
TJL
TJL marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2016
Tfp
Tfp added it
Nov 13, 2016
Lynne Kim
Lynne Kim marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2016
Rob
Rob marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book