The Getaway Special
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Getaway Special

4.01 of 5 stars 4.01  ·  rating details  ·  71 ratings  ·  8 reviews
In the tradition of Poul Anderson's Operation Chaos, Jerry Oltion, a rising star of science fiction and a Nebula Award-winning author, returns with a novel of intergalactic travel, a mad scientist, and otherworldly allies.

Allen Meisner is a member of INSANE, the International Network of Scientists Against Nuclear Extermination. A card-carrying mad scientist, he develops a...more
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published December 20th 2001 by Tom Doherty Associates (first published 2001)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Getaway Special, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Getaway Special

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 141)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Tim Hicks
If you've read Oltion's Anywhere But Here, this is the preceding volume, written in 2001. But each book can stand alone.

Our heroine is a shuttle pilot, our hero a genius scientist. One day he stumbles across a really easy way to build a hyperdrive. With handwaving worthy of a 1950s novel, they're off to space for some adventures.

It feels a bit silly throughout, and it IS silly, but as things roll out Oltion takes some care with the science, being careful with such things as relative velocities...more
Peter
Feb 16, 2009 Peter rated it 2 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: science fiction fans
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Andreas
Vaguely similar in premise to Red Thunder, The Getaway Special is about a scientist who invents a very cheap hyperdrive, and the consequences of his invention.

Unlike our hero’s predictions, the revelation of the hyperdrive leads to instant mayhem as the powers of the world are brought to the brink of war. The fragile balance of power from before is shattered. The US government persecutes the inventor and the commander of the space shuttle on which the experiment was performed, forcing them to go...more
William Sullivan
Eugene author Jerry Oltion's sci-fi novel is a riot -- based on the premise that someone invents a space ship that anyone can build using a septic tank and a few electronic parts from a Radio Shack store. Soon the galaxy is full of space cowboys pioneering new planets, and Earth is in chaos.
Leigh Kimmel
Great fun, and although there were a few technical glitches related to the qualifications of pilot astronauts, terminology, etc, they didn't damage my suspension of disbelief enough to wreck my enjoyment of it.
Trent Mikesell
This one was just a really silly, but fun, read. Reminded me of Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy.
Davion Hellstrom
Oltion is definitely a hidden gem in the sci-fi genre.
Robert
Really wonderful science fiction. DIY space travel
Brian Keller
Brian Keller marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2014
Lena
Lena marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2014
Jason
Jason added it
Jul 14, 2014
Carlos
Carlos marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2014
Brooke
Brooke added it
Jun 06, 2014
Ted
Ted marked it as to-read
Aug 15, 2014
Charlotte
Charlotte marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2014
Derek Dewitt
Derek Dewitt marked it as to-read
Mar 05, 2014
Hrishikesh
Hrishikesh marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2014
Toku49
Toku49 marked it as to-read
Feb 14, 2014
Darrell Grizzle
Darrell Grizzle marked it as to-read
Feb 14, 2014
Simon
Simon marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2014
William F Sullivan
William F Sullivan marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2013
Ryan
Ryan added it
Dec 14, 2013
Brandon
Brandon marked it as to-read
Dec 13, 2013
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Twilight's End Where Sea Meets Sky (Star Trek: The Captain's Table, #6) Mudd in Your Eye The Flaming Arrow (Star Trek: New Earth, #4) Anywhere But Here

Share This Book