The Kiln (Fire-us, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Kiln (Fire-us #3)

3.81 of 5 stars 3.81  ·  rating details  ·  251 ratings  ·  18 reviews
They are not alone. After most of the world's population was wiped out by a deadly plague five years ago, this small group of children formed a family. They've taken care of each other, scavenging food from deserted supermarkets, fighting off the wild animals that prowl soccer fields and schools. The children thought they were the only ones left.

Then they came across the K...more
Library Binding, 208 pages
Published March 7th 2003 by Eos
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Kiln, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Kiln

The Magic of Finkleton by K.C. HiltonSwitch! The Lost Kingdoms of Karibu by Karen  PrinceHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingBentwhistle the Dragon in a Threat from the Past by Paul CudeCulloo by Murielle Cyr
Great YA/Children Books
145th out of 237 books — 262 voters
The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret AtwoodDivergent by Veronica RothV for Vendetta by Alan MooreThe Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsBelligerent by B.N. Mauldin
Dystopias
24th out of 39 books — 29 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 389)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Alex
The third and last book of the Fire-us trilogy was fantastic. A lot of people think it did not live up to the previous two books, but I thought it was amazing.

In this book, the group leaves Florida where they had stayed with the grownups for a while, and travels to an island to see the President. Apparently, the President has been hiding a vial with the virus that is the cause of the apocalypse. It is up to the group not to let him release it, wiping out everyone who does not have an antidote.

Th...more
Issam
The final book of the 'Fire-Us' trilogy. Not as strong as the previous two. It loses a sense of that post-apocalyptic isolation and dread feeling that the kids had to face in the first two books, a premise that originally attracted me to the series in the first place. But I suppose that it was unavoidable as they introduced so many Grown-Ups in the previous book, while also trying to resolve everyone's plot lines here in this book as well.

Overall, 'The Kiln' is mildly disturbing as certain plot...more
Phair
Fairly complex tying up of the major arcs. I was satisfied on most points (the cause of the disaster, motivations of many of the characters, decisions made to bring resolution. Again, some small points that I whent 'yeah, right- THAT would happen'. But overall I loved the whole series. Would be great if there could be a 4th installment documenting the subsequent cross country journey of the group. I'm not really ready to leave this bunch of characters.
Coquille Fleur
For sure the weirdest of the trilogy, the third book concludes the story and explains how the virus leaked out and who perpetrated the mass murder of most of the planet - also why the children and ??? survived. Charismatic leaders, cult behavoir, and a little coming of age drama keep the story fresh and interesting. I love how she deals with mental illness and stress anxiety in young adults.
Sam
Even though Fire-Us: The Kiln is a step up in maturity from the rest of the Fire-Us books, it was probably my favorite. I love all the surprises that turn up, such as the identity of Supreme Leader and the truth behind Angerman. This is a great book to finish up the series.
Kate
Mar 11, 2010 Kate rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Middle - High School, Fans of Science Fiction and YA Books
Recommended to Kate by: Sonya Huser
I really liked this series and this book is a great ender. The children are constantly pushed to do more than anyone their age should ever have to face. The secret of Fire-us is disturbing and the villain is creepy and psychotic. I hope these authors collaborate again.
Spark740
Upon receiving this book I jumped up and down and screamed. Was I still so elated after I finished the book? Almost. Good points: prose is great. Wordplay continues to be witty. Content is appropriate for teens. Nothing bad, but certain topics are discussed. Plot: good until the end. Cory, introduced in the second book, has limited interactions with the characters around her and the action she takes to end the conflict is touchy to a critic. Her motive was weak and her fulfillment of the plan se...more
Bryan Enriquez
The Kiln which is the 3rd book in the Fire, US series was pretty good. Overall i found it very interesting that the characters names were Mommy, Hunter, and even Angerman. They have very distinct names. Fire U.S. is basically a post apocalyptic book. With even the president of the U.S. being involved in it with strange characters like the Keepers of the fire and etc. This book has the traits of love, retaliation, craziness and even betrayal. After reading most of these books this edition of the...more
J.Elle
This was ridiculous. I almost hated it. Why I even wasted time reading the whole trilogy, I don't know. Although, you would probably call it more like skimming because after reading the first book, I definitely only sped-read through the last two. So, this series is about a gang of kids who survived a deadly virus that swept across the world killing everyone but them (or so they believed). They've been living on their own for five years until a strange boy and twins show up in their town. The st...more
Cathleen Ash
This third book is a wonderful example of a great ending to a great trilogy. The mystery of the original apocalypse is solved, the children able to understand what happened that caused all of their parents to die, and a number of the group find resolution to baffling memories they've had. As a whole, this trilogy provides the classic elements of a great books for young adults: it has mystery, adventure, young adults battling for survival and winning, and no parents (except the occassional evil o...more
Cherry
While I wasn't impressed with the second of this trilogy, I was pleasantly surprised that the final book made up for the disappointment I felt. This book was action packed and the authors did a splendid job developing the plot and creating an exciting conclusion. I'm new to reading young adult novels, and I was surprised by the mature themes covered in this final book- rape, murder/suicide, eugenics, etc. Especially when compared to the first two books. I'm glad to report that this book made me...more
Ann
The children travel to Pisgah Island to find the President, only to discover that he is the Supreme Leader who released the virus in the first place. Plot holes (if all females about menopause survived, why haven't the children seen more adults in five years? Was the virus really in the vial, or was it a decoy?) galore. Kids will want to read to find out the ending, but it's a disappointing one. Shallowly presented, with quick character turn-arounds (Angerman) and hasty-seeming motivations. Plot...more
Erin Newton
This was a good ending to this series. It wasn't overly positive but you get the sense that they will be okay as long as they are together. This ending was pretty disturbing considering and I wish the author had written some plot twists differently but this was a good, short series to read.
Meg McGregor
This book is the last in the trilogy about children being left alone in a future Earth where all the adults have died from a virus. I enjoyed it but it was a little predictable. Still worth the time to read but definitely not the best of the three.
Alyn
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Stef
I liked this series at first but then it got kinda crapier as it went.
Molly
Please tell me you read the first two first or else this would make no sense.
Sarah Ercanbrack
Oooh, this one was sad, but soooo good!!
Nancy Lumbert
Nancy Lumbert marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2014
Kathleen Dixon
Kathleen Dixon marked it as to-read
Aug 16, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 12 13 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Plague (Plague 99, #1)
  • Vanishing Point
  • Survivors. Terry Nation
  • Long Voyage Back
  • The Snow
  • Floodland
  • I'm Eve
  • Memory Boy (Memory Boy, #1)
  • The World Ends in Hickory Hollow
  • Amplified (Reign of Blood, #3)
  • Sparrow Rock
  • Falling Angels
  • Living with the Dead (The Famished Trilogy, #3)
  • The Carbon Diaries 2017 (Carbon Diaries, #2)
  • Resident Evil: Extinction
  • Unbroken (The Reaper Diaries, #3)
  • Far North
  • Life is Funny
19546
Jennifer Armstrong learned to read and write in Switzerland, in a small school for English speaking children on the shores of Lake Zurich. The school library had no librarian and no catalog – just shelves of interesting books. She selected books on her own, read what she could, and made up the rest. It was perfect. As a result, she made her career choice – to become an author – in first grade. Whe...more
More about Jennifer Armstrong...
Shipwreck at the Bottom of the World: The Extraordinary True Story of Shackleton and the Endurance The Kindling (Fire-us, #1) The Keepers of the Flame (Fire-us, #2) Steal Away Once Upon a Banana

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »