Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Making of a Writer” as Want to Read:
The Making of a Writer
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Making of a Writer

3.73 of 5 stars 3.73  ·  rating details  ·  33 ratings  ·  7 reviews
Many of Joan Lowery Nixon's readers have written to her to ask how they, too, can become published writers someday. This memoir, including anecdotes and advice, is her answer to them. From her first publication at age ten- a poem entitled " Springtime" in a children's magazine- to her graduation from Hollywood High during World War II, Joan Lowery Nixon shares the incident ...more
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published May 14th 2002 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers (first published 2002)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Making of a Writer, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Making of a Writer

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 70)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Eden
Apr 10, 2011 Eden rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of Joan Lowery Nixon, People who want to write, Those who are writers
The Making of a Writer is about Joan Lowery Nixon's childhood and teenage years and what influenced her to become a writer.
Joan lived with both her parents and grandparents in the same home. From an early age she loved to read, as did other members of her family, and she fondly remembers grabbing pictures books, going to her grandfather and climbing into his lap so they could read them together.
She loved listening to the stories her parents and grandparents told.

When Joan was a child there was n
...more
Drusilla
Great Book. Read it as a possible selection for MVES. Joan Lowery Nixon is a prolific children's author. Pleasantly, she wrote about her childhood. Each chapter centers around a specific chronological story and how that relates to a key trait of writing. Above all, it engages and promotes, children to follow their dreams and to do all they can do to accomplish them.
Natasha ♥
Quick Read, but a good one. Nice photos, and amazing story. From one girl's nothingness to an amazing writer! Great Job Mrs. Nixon!
Sandy
I would actually put this at 2 & 1/2 stars-- squarely middling. This is a smooth easy read, but this type of book and subject matter has been done by other writers & much more effectively.
Heidi
Not applicable to my purpose, which is learning how to write a mystery.
Red
Red is currently reading it
Nov 15, 2014
Alanna
Alanna is currently reading it
Sep 07, 2014
Ww
Ww added it
Aug 16, 2014
Don
Don marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2014
Marissa
Marissa marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2014
Rosa Vargas
Rosa Vargas marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2014
Reymart Javar
Reymart Javar marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2014
Safi
Safi marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2013
Kris Anne
Kris Anne marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2013
Brycent Etier
Brycent Etier is currently reading it
May 24, 2013
Kyndyle
Kyndyle marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2013
Kokie
Kokie marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2013
Aaron
Aaron added it
Jan 07, 2013
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
129033
Author of more than one hundred books, Joan Lowery Nixon is the only writer to have won four Edgar Allan Poe Awards for Juvenile Mysteries (and been nominated several other times) from the Mystery Writers of America. Creating contemporary teenage characters who have both a personal problem and a mystery to solve, Nixon captured the attention of legions of teenage readers since the publication of h ...more
More about Joan Lowery Nixon...
The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore The Other Side of Dark A Family Apart (Orphan Train Adventures, #1) A Deadly Game of Magic The Séance

Share This Book