Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Making of a Writer” as Want to Read:
The Making of a Writer
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Making of a Writer

3.85  ·  Rating Details  ·  39 Ratings  ·  8 Reviews
Many of Joan Lowery Nixon's readers have written to her to ask how they, too, can become published writers someday. This memoir, including anecdotes and advice, is her answer to them. From her first publication at age ten- a poem entitled " Springtime" in a children's magazine- to her graduation from Hollywood High during World War II, Joan Lowery Nixon shares the incident ...more
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published May 14th 2002 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers (first published 2002)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Making of a Writer, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Making of a Writer

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 82)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Eden
Apr 10, 2011 Eden rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Fans of Joan Lowery Nixon, People who want to write, Those who are writers
The Making of a Writer is about Joan Lowery Nixon's childhood and teenage years and what influenced her to become a writer.
Joan lived with both her parents and grandparents in the same home. From an early age she loved to read, as did other members of her family, and she fondly remembers grabbing pictures books, going to her grandfather and climbing into his lap so they could read them together.
She loved listening to the stories her parents and grandparents told.

When Joan was a child there was n
...more
Drusilla
Mar 23, 2014 Drusilla rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great Book. Read it as a possible selection for MVES. Joan Lowery Nixon is a prolific children's author. Pleasantly, she wrote about her childhood. Each chapter centers around a specific chronological story and how that relates to a key trait of writing. Above all, it engages and promotes, children to follow their dreams and to do all they can do to accomplish them.
Lindsay
Feb 05, 2016 Lindsay rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016-read
A really lovely, short book about how Joan Lowery Nixon became a writer. The book is written aimed at teens or children, but it is a delightful read that any age can relate to. Loved it!
Natasha ♥ Semi-Hiatus
Quick Read, but a good one. Nice photos, and amazing story. From one girl's nothingness to an amazing writer! Great Job Mrs. Nixon!
Sandy
Nov 18, 2013 Sandy rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I would actually put this at 2 & 1/2 stars-- squarely middling. This is a smooth easy read, but this type of book and subject matter has been done by other writers & much more effectively.
Heidi
Not applicable to my purpose, which is learning how to write a mystery.
Ⓛeah ✿εїз✾
I read this 2 times for school
Phoeb
Oct 07, 2011 Phoeb rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
bleh
Shishir
May 24, 2012 Shishir rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Kids book
Grainne O' Malley
Grainne O' Malley marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2016
Jennica
Jennica marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2016
Stephanie Courtois
Stephanie Courtois marked it as to-read
Jan 19, 2016
Katherine Noone
Katherine Noone rated it it was amazing
Jan 02, 2016
Beiza
Beiza added it
Dec 21, 2015
Mindy
Mindy rated it liked it
Jan 11, 2016
Cyber
Cyber rated it it was amazing
Nov 08, 2015
ginny schoenwald
ginny schoenwald rated it really liked it
Oct 14, 2015
Sgb
Sgb marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2015
Natalie Bombatch
Natalie Bombatch marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2015
Ashley
Ashley marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2015
Red
Red rated it it was amazing
Dec 10, 2014
Danae
Danae rated it liked it
Oct 04, 2014
C.C. Thomas
C.C. Thomas rated it liked it
Oct 01, 2014
Alanna
Alanna is currently reading it
Sep 07, 2014
W
W added it
Feb 03, 2015
Kathryn
Kathryn rated it really liked it
Jun 27, 2014
Elizabeth
Elizabeth rated it it was amazing
Jun 26, 2014
Marissa
Marissa marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
129033
Author of more than one hundred books, Joan Lowery Nixon is the only writer to have won four Edgar Allan Poe Awards for Juvenile Mysteries (and been nominated several other times) from the Mystery Writers of America. Creating contemporary teenage characters who have both a personal problem and a mystery to solve, Nixon captured the attention of legions of teenage readers since the publication of h ...more
More about Joan Lowery Nixon...

Share This Book