The Last Invisible Boy
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Last Invisible Boy

by
3.7 of 5 stars 3.70  ·  rating details  ·  431 ratings  ·  122 reviews
MY NAME IS FINN GARRETT AND THIS IS MY STORY.

I don't want to give anything away, so I'll tell you what you could probably guess from looking at the cover and flipping through the book.

1. It's about an invisible boy. Obviously. That's me. Actually, I'm not totally invisible. Yet. But I'm getting there.

2. There are a bunch of my drawings.

3. There are some really funn...more
Hardcover, 234 pages
Published October 21st 2008 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 922)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Brandy
I picked this up because the children's librarian mentioned it--she said it was reviewed as a Wimpy Kid read-alike, but she had her doubts. I had some time on my hands, so I told her I'd let her know.

Answer: no, not really. It's a read-alike in the strictest sense, in that there are diary entries and pictures/comics that help tell the story, but that's where the similarities end. The pictures here aren't as well-integrated into the story (though they're still very good), and the subject matter...more
Lego Robot Ninja
Dec 21, 2011 Lego Robot Ninja rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: everyone who likes pictures and really long books
LRN: It's a story about a kid named Finn Gerrett whose hair is turning white, which is a sign of invisibility. (Since there are a lot of really cool pictures in it, it's complicated to write about them in the review.)

Mum: Is he really turning invisible, or does he just think so?

LRN: He really is because...want me to tell you something sad?

Mum: Yes.

LRN:Here it is: One day, his dad was in Boston. When his dad was going to go the airport, he had to go to the plane on the runway, but...he got run o...more
Inge
Whoa. Behold: The thinking man's Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I hate to say, "I laughed, I cried," but it's true.

As in Diary of a Wimpy Kid, you'll find diary entries, drawings, and mini-comics. Unlike Wimpy Kid, the characters here are typically, much more likeable. If there's a kid you're going to root for in the literary world, it's Finn Garrett. He's a good boy, but not a goody-goody. He's struggling, but still doing the best he can.

The Last Invisible Boy mixes realism with a sort of surrealism. Fi...more
Catherine
Some have compared this to Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but the subject matter (the sudden death of the main character's father) is much heavier than anything in Kinney's series. Told in a diary style, there is humor here to be sure, and also outright encouragements for young readers to think and create on their own. Several of the very short chapters end with lines like these:

"If you are bored and need something to do, find a sketch pad or notebook and draw a picture of where you live or write a poem...more
Anna
Recommended for J510 at Chase Academy.

I think this is a great read for reluctant middle grade readers. Other readers have compared it to Diary of a Wimpy Kid and I'd say that it's a fairly apt description. Only, I'd say that The Last Invisible Boy is perfect for someone's who ready to graduate from the Wimpy Kid series and move on to book with a bit more to discuss.
This book is also a bit reminiscent of Sherman Alexie's The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian , only Alexie's book is...more
Kathy
Meet Finn. He's slowly fading. His hair is getting whiter. His skin is paler. And he doesn't want to go to school or see people or do any of the things he used to do before The Terrible Day That Changed Everything.



Finn has this thing for name meanings. Findlay stands for "fair hero". Finn doesn't feel like a hero, he feels like a failure. He wasn't able to stop The Terrible Day That Changed Everything. Maybe that's why he's disappearing. So in a combination present-day journal/everyday story Fin...more
Alden
Summary:
This book was amazing it’s about this twelve year old boy (Finn, Finn Garrett) telling the story after his dad had died. He thinks that he is turning invisible because what happens to his body. His skin turns a little bit whiter and also his hair does throughout the whole story he is down on himself and tells story of things he did with his dad, as well as his current life. But he does have a friend that’s a girl that does cheer him up also his mom. Throughout the entire story it does g...more
Bobby Simic
Gordon Korman wrote a favorite kids' book of mine entitled "No More Dead Dogs" about a boy who is tired of reading about dead dogs. Well, this boy would like to extend that idea towards dead relatives too. Give me abduction, abandonment, illness, abuse, amputation. Just don't give me another book about a loved one six feet in the ground! If you couldn't tell, I think I may be becoming insensitive toward the genre because, for the life of me, I could not get into this one.

I think it was a very se...more
Kat
This is one of the best books I have ever read. Really. It's one where you wish you could sit down with the author and thank them sincerely for their contribution to this world. I literally want to own every page so I can re-read one here and there. So hard to read but so beautiful; sobbing my face off. It's a cry about how grief can be so personal yet someone can reach right inside your heart every once and a while and totally understand. Strangely, I read this over three days, and although eve...more
Melissa
I wasn't too sure about this book and I didn't preview read before I started reading to the class. I don't usually pick "sad" books to read-aloud because I'm soft-hearted and tend to cry at sad parts. I was a little worried because I do have 2 students whose fathers died. It turned out okay-kids weren't thrilled with the story, but liked it okay.

"MY NAME IS FINN GARRETT AND THIS IS MY STORY.

I don't want to give anything away, so I'll tell you what you could probably guess from looking at the co...more
Isaack17
I recommend "The Last Invisible Boy" mostly to readers who enjoy reading a fun but at the same time a serious one. "The Last Invisible Boy" by Evan Kuhlman is a fantastic book wrote for middle schoolers. The vocabulary in this book is not very challenging for an middle schooler. I would just put this book into one of the more easy and fun books that I have read. The book itself is not a long book with only 233 pages. I would recommend this book to middle schoolers who just want to read a fun eas...more
Hope Warren
i thought this book was really good.Very creative!
IndyPL Kids Book Blog
My name is Fin Garrett and this is my book and this is my story.

There will be some silliness, lots of my sucky drawings, a pop quiz and fun homework assignments, three or four family photos, and a few of my favorite memories. Caution: Sometime the story will get a little sad. But it won’t always be sad.

I began disappearing this past June, right after what I call The Terrible Day That Changed Everything…

Fin writes his story a lot like Greg in Diary of a Wimpy Kid. He draws a lot of pictures and h...more
Erica Throne
This is one of a few books I picked at random while browsing the middle reader's section of the book store. I grabbed it largely due to the title and well-designed cover, and that its theme of dealing with grief mirrored that if my own work-in-progress.

The book is largely a comedy. It succeeded where it painted the portrait of the grief felt by Finn, his brother, and their mother. The moments of the book showing everyday life through Finn's eyes at times were almost magical with incredibly detai...more
Mary
I expected to be emotionally connected to this book since I've lived through and written about the death of a parent. But I didn't really care about this boy's loss until nearly the end of the book. And I had to force myself to finish reading it to get there. I felt how the father died was being held out as a carrot to keep me reading instead of drawing me into this boy's feelings. I think it was because over and over phrases and even complete sentences jumped out at me shouting, "My critique gr...more
Justin
I did not really like "The Last Invisible Boy." It's about a boy named Finn Garrett, a boy who is slowly (but surely) turning invisible because of an unknown reason, but the most logical reason would be because of his father's unexplained death. Finn tries to keep himself from disappearing, but with little success. He is friends with a girl named Melanie, and she attempts to comfort him even though his is slowly leaving the world. Finn rides to his town graveyard every day to relax, but most of...more
Izzie V
The Last Invisible Boy
By: Evan Kuhlman
234 pages
Realistic Fiction


This book is about a kid named Finn Garrett. Once his father dies Finn thinks he is vanishing from the world. His skin is going deathly pale and his hair is ghostly white. Finn has been staying home from school a lot since he started turning "invisible." His mom is getting very worried about Finn. Once he starts going to school again he starts to get bullied by all the kids there. Except for Meli who is his only friend. Then one da...more
Caleigh W
I have finished the book called The Last Invisible Boy. This book is about a boy named Finn who even though lost his dad, can still write his book in his creative, funny ways. The book is seperated into certain chapters. Some are what he calls the True Story About A Vanishing Boy Part.... well, whatever part he's at. other parts are when he is doing something or not, he has his Log of the Starship. this is something space men do when they are in space, its like their diary about what they've see...more
Jackie
At first, The Last Invisible Boy seems like it would be a good read-alike for The Diary of a Wimpy Kid, with it's cartoon-like, pencil drawings of the main character's life. But, its message is all together different... sad,heartbreaking, and poignant. Finn Garrett journals his feelings after The Terrible Day That Changed Everything, which is Finn's way of putting a label on the day his father died. He believes he is becoming invisible since his sorrow and grief are eating away at him. His mom,...more
Anne Hamilton
Very much in the style of The Diary of a Wimpy Kid, this is the (occasionally) illustrated story of Finn Garrett who fears he is becoming invisible.

By turns funny and poignant, he describes to the reader the events of his life. He documents the people he meets (and what all their names mean) and a multitude of possible causes of his problem. Overnight Finn has turned a freakish shade of pale and his hair dramatically white and he has to cope with the reactions of others to his odd appearance.

I...more
meg
i liked this book, but i did not love it (sorry ingrid!). but maybe i didn't give it the best possible chance, having just finished a very different book about an almost-teen trying to find meaning after the death of his father (jeremy fink and the meaning of life, which i loved). also, i think it suffered from all the comparisons with diary of a wimpy kid. other than the narrators age and the fact that it included drawings, the comparisons didn't make sense to me. this book was much more seriou...more
Erin Forson
The Last Invisible Boy
by Evan Kohlman
I am of a split mind about this book. It is very unique, coupling the voice of a young man named Finn, who has just lost his dad (we find out how his dad died late in the novel) with Finn's drawings. My father died when I was young, (not as young as Finn, but young) and I can remember the profound sadness that I felt. The death of a person you love is never easy, especially when it's a surprise...and so it's to be expected that the novel will not be upbeat, f...more
Payton I
This book is a pretty good book. It is about a boy who had a terrible accident. Now her is turning invisible! He has no reason why and he is trying to stop it. His father had died and he has a 7 year old brother. He doesn't really tell you how his father died until more of the middle of the book. He had this girl who he really likes and she really likes him. His plan is to marry her someday, if he is not totally invisible.

I liked this book because it had some humor. Even though this book has som...more
Karen Ball
12-year-old Finn Garrett lost his father, and then started to lose himself. Literally. Finn's dark hair began turning white, his skin has turned ghostly pale, and he is convinced that he is somehow being erased: "My thought: Dad was taken instantly, I'm vanishing in bits and pieces, like a disease that will not kill me but will erase me. First goes my hair and skin. And then the rest of me." Finn has one good friend, Melanie, who sticks up for him and is there for him amongst all the sadness in...more
Sam Bloom
I really liked this book a lot. In an ideal world, Last Invisible Boy would be every bit as popular as Diary of a Wimpy Kid. As it stands, this book will probably never reach that level of popularity, but I for one will be recommending it to every single Diary-loving kid I know. Diary is pretty much all fluffiness, and while Last Invisible Boy has plenty of silly, fluffy moments, the poignancy of the story gives it much more depth. Finn Garrett's father has just died - we don't know the details,...more
Rosa
Finn's father has passed away and Finn's hair begins turning white and he gets paler and paler. He talks about what life with his dad was like and what life without his dad is like. It's billed as a Wimpy Kid read-a-like but it's only a read-a-like in the respect that the writing format is kind of similar, otherwise this is a very different book. I found it very moving. There were sad parts and sweet parts and even some funny parts. I thought Finn was very honest and I think it was very realisti...more
Jeretta Hall
Well, it was definitely not what I was expecting. At all. It was very sad. It had a few funny parts to it, but not many. I only looked at the cover and inside dust jacket info about the book. If you do that, you will be highly mislead into believing that it is potentially a book about a kid that develops the superpower of turning invisible and how he is the last last of his kind. This book is not about that at all. Spoiler: it's about a little boy who loses his dad. It is incredible sad for most...more
Abby Johnson
Twelve-year-old Finn is turning invisible, or that's what he believes anyway. It all started several months ago on The Terrible Day That Changed Everything. It was on that day that Finn's father died unexpectedly. Almost immediately after that, Finn's hair started to turn white and his skin began to pale. Every week it's gotten a little bit worse and Finn's convinced that he's slipping away into nothing, maybe so that he can join his dad and be happy again.

In a mix of cartoons and prose, Finn t...more
Tin
Jul 17, 2011 Tin rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommended to Tin by: Ela Kaimo
First off, thanks to Ela for lending me this!

I actually got curious about this because Ela told me that Finn, the main character, is a bit similar to Charlie of The Perks of Being A Wallflower.

This is something that I wish I read when I was a 12 year old or, at least, when I was in high school. Finn Garrett is one of those "beyond his years" characters. For a 12 year old, he writes with so much poignancy (and a bit of humor) about what it's like being "invisible" and (view spoiler)...more
Sandra Stiles
Finn Garret has suffered a terrible loss. His father died while coming home on a plane. Finn wakes up one morning to find that he is less colorful. His skin is pale and his hair is turning white. It is as if a giant eraser is beginning to erase him. throughout the book, Finn gives out quizzes, he makes drawings and makes his entries as entries into a space log. As Finn begins to accept the changes to his life, his physical apearance begins to make changes. I really thought I was going to like th...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 30 31 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Only Group Reads: Group Read 1 5 24 Nov 03, 2013 09:37PM  
  • Messed Up
  • Returnable Girl
  • Notes on a Near-Life Experience
  • Love (In the Cards, #1)
  • The Leanin' Dog
  • Project Sweet Life
  • Behind You
  • Isabelle's Boyfriend
  • Mistik Lake
  • Never Been Kissed
  • What I Meant...
  • Leslie's Journal
  • Friction
  • Converting Kate
  • Safe
  • Reaching for Sun
  • How to Survive Middle School
  • Pool Boy
Wolf Boy: A Novel Brother from a Box Great Ball of Light Zonked [w.t.] Zonked (w.t.)

Share This Book

“Sometimes it's like I'm living my life waiting for more bad news.” 7 likes
“The past is every second of your life up until now. Up until NOW. See how quickly the present is gobbled up by the past?
The present is... Sorry, it's already gone. Hmm, it was just there a minute ago.”
7 likes
More quotes…