Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ruthie's Gift” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Ruthie's Gift
 
by
Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ruthie's Gift

by
3.98  ·  Rating Details ·  181 Ratings  ·  30 Reviews
Set in a small Indiana farming community at the start of World War I, this heart-warming and gently humorous story follows Ruthie, an 8-year-old tomboy who develops a stronger sense of self and selflessness during a particularly dramatic year in her life. Rich in setting and brimming with lovable characters, "Ruthie's Gift" is a satisfying story of family and identity. 160 ...more
Hardcover, 150 pages
Published October 12th 1999 by Turtleback Books (first published 1998)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ruthie's Gift, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ruthie's Gift

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Valerie
Jun 22, 2011 Valerie rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Valerie by: The price
I got this book for FREE! Don't you just love it when that happens? I know some people win those giveaway things but I never do so I get real excited the few times I get a free book.

It's a nice cute book that has a great tomboy girl, named Ruthie, set in WWI. There are rumors of war but that doesn't play such a major role because this is a book about a girl who is trying to find a way to be a lady in a house full of boys. I like books with siblings in them and you get a good amount of it here.
...more
Claire
Dec 31, 2014 Claire rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I love the characters in this book. I love the way the author wrote it out and how she actually brings out the characters in this book and talk about there feelings. This book is a wonderful children's book.
Melissa
Genre: Historical Fiction
Grade: 3rd-5th

This book is about an eight year old girl named Ruthie who lives in the time of World War I. Ruthie wants a sister badly and has trouble acting like a lady. She already has five brothers but her mother is expecting and Ruthie prays that it will be a little sister. Much to Ruthie's dismay she gets another brother. She is stuck right in the middle of her six brothers. As if it is not bad enough that she has so many brothers, Ruthie is the only person in her t
...more
Mary
I enjoyed this book and will add it to my historical fiction recommendations for age 7 and up. It takes place in 1916 Indiana and centers on Ruthie, a girl in a family of boys. It is sweet, funny, and heartwarming. We learn about her brothers, the other girls in the one-room school house, and Ruthie's efforts to be ladylike. Fans of American Girl books or Little House in the Big Woods would probably really enjoy this book. I think it would also be a good read-aloud for an elementary school class ...more
Panda Incognito
I read this book twice before in childhood, and on this third read years later, the story got me a little bit teary. I guess this means I'm grown up now...
Brandi
Apr 21, 2015 Brandi rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loved this book as a little girl. So cute and sweet. Great book for children.
LeAnne
Sweet story of a tomboy trying to grow up to be a lady.
Julie
Dec 04, 2014 Julie rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: book-commercial
"Ruthie's Gift," By Kimberly Bradley is a book that I couldn't put down. It is an adorable story about a little girl growing up at the beginning of WWI named Ruthie. She lives on a farm with her six brothers. Her mother is trying to teach her how to be a lady because she is always making a mess of herself and can't keep her clothes clean. Ruthie wishes that she could have a sister and not be the only kid in the third grade. The girls in fourth grade are mean to her so she doesn't want to advance ...more
Emily
Jul 13, 2015 Emily rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Nothing but madcap hijinks here, like the things Ruthie gets up to because she's the only girl out of five brothers, and the only kid in third grade. Ruthie's Gift, by our beloved national treasure Kimberley Brubaker Bradley, is her first book and reads like it, but it's good solid kids' history for third graders. Ruthie's family is adequately prosperous for rural Indiana a century ago but there's still not enough cash in the household to buy Ruthie the doll she longs for from the Sears catalogu ...more
Elizabeth M
Dec 03, 2013 Elizabeth M rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This historical fiction book is about a small girl named Ruthie, it is funny while also heartwarming. This story is set in a farm town in Indiana set in the beginning of the World War 1 era. Ruthie is an eight year old girl who is trying to find her way in a house full of boy siblings. She is longing to be accepted and thought of as lady like. She is saving her coins in a jar to buy a doll she saw previously in town. When she realizes that the threat of war has come true, her eldest brother must ...more
Merit
Apr 17, 2010 Merit rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
this book was about a girl in WWI with six brothers and she is the only girl in the family. Throughout the story Ruth is trying to be ladylike insead of wild and impulsive something that does not come easily to her because she's eight. Ruthie's Gift was written through her eyes and was really made more for children her age so I found it hard to keep the interest up for very long seeing that I'm older then ten. However,I would suggest it for girls younger then that who could relate to it more the ...more
Kellyn

This engaging story, based on the life of the author’s grandmother, describes the escapades of precocious Ruthie. The only girl in her family, Ruthie longs for friends of her own to play with other than her fix brothers. Even after twin girls just her age move to a nearby farm Ruthie finds she still can’t act “like a lady” to please her mother or stay out of trouble.

A touching, funny story of life in rural America at the beginning of WWI.
Miss Amanda
gr 3-5 147 pgs


pre WWI, Indiana. 8 year old Ruthie's mother is always telling Ruthie that she needs to act more like a lady, but with six brothers it's hard not to be a tomboy. When twin sisters move in next door, Ruthie is thrilled. With some girls her own age to play with, Ruthie is sure it will easier to be the "lady" her mother wants her to be.

Good read especially if you're read and enjoyed "One of a Kind Mallie" also by Bradley.
Meadow Frisbie
When Ruth is a girl in a house of just 7 boys. IT is hard to become a lady. When she has no friends. A pair of twins move and become her closest friends. But when Ruthie goes back to her boyish ways she ends up loosing her friends and injuring her brother. Will she ever learn to be more grown up?
Asuka0278
What a sweet book. I read it to my eldest daughter and we both really liked the story. I could relate to Ruthie's plight because I know how hard it was for my one Uncle who was smack dab in the middle of his six sisters. :) I would definitely recommend this one. :)
Jacqueline
May 24, 2013 Jacqueline rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Just like Dovey Coe, I read this a long time ago... Something like fifth grade. Maud Hart Lovelace. :)
Aela Louch
Apr 02, 2012 Aela Louch rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Annm
Jan 22, 2015 Annm rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It's a cute story that reminds me of how thrilledI am to be living in an age of antibiotics and relatively greater equality for girls and women.
JennLynn
May 16, 2014 JennLynn rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2014-my-books
Realistic book about a girl growing up in pre-WW1 rural Indiana. Ruthie hates being the only girl in the middle of six brothers, but when twin girls just her age move in nearby, life improves.
Anaiz
Sep 20, 2010 Anaiz rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: own
I read this book when I was a lot younger and enjoyed it. I have since passed it on to my younger cousin who also loved it.
Delaney Michaels
Delaney Michaels rated it liked it
Jul 09, 2013
Chrissie Mclaughlin
Chrissie Mclaughlin rated it liked it
Dec 01, 2012
Jenefer
Jenefer rated it liked it
Feb 05, 2013
Carmen Rodriguez
Carmen Rodriguez rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2014
Hannah Rose
Hannah Rose rated it it was amazing
Sep 11, 2014
Sarah Randall
Sarah Randall rated it really liked it
Jun 16, 2015
Maisie
Maisie rated it it was amazing
Sep 16, 2008
Gayathry Jayakrishnan
Gayathry Jayakrishnan rated it really liked it
Dec 06, 2014
Emily
Emily rated it really liked it
May 27, 2011
Zoe
Zoe rated it it was amazing
Sep 23, 2008
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Frozen Summer (Remembrance "Mem" Nye #2)
  • An Ocean Apart, a World Away
  • Who Comes with Cannons?
  • Night Journeys
  • A Pickpocket's Tale
  • Ruby Lu, Empress of Everything
  • I Am Rosemarie
  • Seaman: The Dog Who Explored the West with Lewis & Clark
  • The Ramsay Scallop
  • True North
  • In Aunt Lucy's Kitchen (Cobble Street Cousins, # 1)
  • Lords of Trillium
  • Changes for Josefina: A Winter Story
  • Mira's Diary: Home Sweet Rome (Mira's Diary, #2)
  • Prairie Whispers
  • Rebels of the Heavenly Kingdom
  • Sniper
  • Circle of Gold
118639
I grew up reading and loving books by Laura Ingalls Wilder, Lois Lenski, L.M. Montgomery, Madeline L'Engle, K.M. Peyton, Noel Streatfield, Mary Norton, and Sydney Taylor. Patricia MacLachlan and Jane Yolen helped me start writing. I still read everything; I particularly like current writers Jason Reynolds, Linda Sue Park, Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Carole Boston Weatherford, and Marilyn Nelson.

Growing up
...more
More about Kimberly Brubaker Bradley...

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »