Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ruthie's Gift” as Want to Read:
Blank-133x176
Ruthie's Gift
 
by
Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Rate this book
Clear rating

Ruthie's Gift

3.91 of 5 stars 3.91  ·  rating details  ·  115 ratings  ·  21 reviews
Set in a small Indiana farming community at the start of World War I, this heart-warming and gently humorous story follows Ruthie, an 8-year-old tomboy who develops a stronger sense of self and selflessness during a particularly dramatic year in her life. Rich in setting and brimming with lovable characters, "Ruthie's Gift" is a satisfying story of family and identity. 160 ...more
Hardcover, 150 pages
Published October 12th 1999 by Turtleback Books (first published 1998)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ruthie's Gift, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ruthie's Gift

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 186)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Valerie
May 27, 2014 Valerie rated it 3 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Valerie by: The price
I got this book for FREE! Don't you just love it when that happens? I know some people win those giveaway things but I never do so I get real excited the few times I get a free book.

It's a nice cute book that has a great tomboy girl, named Ruthie, set in WWI. There are rumors of war but that doesn't play such a major role because this is a book about a girl who is trying to find a way to be a lady in a house full of boys. I like books with siblings in them and you get a good amount of it here.
...more
Julie
"Ruthie's Gift," By Kimberly Bradley is a book that I couldn't put down. It is an adorable story about a little girl growing up at the beginning of WWI named Ruthie. She lives on a farm with her six brothers. Her mother is trying to teach her how to be a lady because she is always making a mess of herself and can't keep her clothes clean. Ruthie wishes that she could have a sister and not be the only kid in the third grade. The girls in fourth grade are mean to her so she doesn't want to advance ...more
Mary
I enjoyed this book and will add it to my historical fiction recommendations for age 7 and up. It takes place in 1916 Indiana and centers on Ruthie, a girl in a family of boys. It is sweet, funny, and heartwarming. We learn about her brothers, the other girls in the one-room school house, and Ruthie's efforts to be ladylike. Fans of American Girl books or Little House in the Big Woods would probably really enjoy this book. I think it would also be a good read-aloud for an elementary school class ...more
Melissa
Genre: Historical Fiction
Grade: 3rd-5th

This book is about an eight year old girl named Ruthie who lives in the time of World War I. Ruthie wants a sister badly and has trouble acting like a lady. She already has five brothers but her mother is expecting and Ruthie prays that it will be a little sister. Much to Ruthie's dismay she gets another brother. She is stuck right in the middle of her six brothers. As if it is not bad enough that she has so many brothers, Ruthie is the only person in her t
...more
Elizabeth M
This historical fiction book is about a small girl named Ruthie, it is funny while also heartwarming. This story is set in a farm town in Indiana set in the beginning of the World War 1 era. Ruthie is an eight year old girl who is trying to find her way in a house full of boy siblings. She is longing to be accepted and thought of as lady like. She is saving her coins in a jar to buy a doll she saw previously in town. When she realizes that the threat of war has come true, her eldest brother must ...more
Miss Amanda
gr 3-5 147 pgs


pre WWI, Indiana. 8 year old Ruthie's mother is always telling Ruthie that she needs to act more like a lady, but with six brothers it's hard not to be a tomboy. When twin sisters move in next door, Ruthie is thrilled. With some girls her own age to play with, Ruthie is sure it will easier to be the "lady" her mother wants her to be.

Good read especially if you're read and enjoyed "One of a Kind Mallie" also by Bradley.
JennLynn
Realistic book about a girl growing up in pre-WW1 rural Indiana. Ruthie hates being the only girl in the middle of six brothers, but when twin girls just her age move in nearby, life improves.
Merit
this book was about a girl in WWI with six brothers and she is the only girl in the family. Throughout the story Ruth is trying to be ladylike insead of wild and impulsive something that does not come easily to her because she's eight. Ruthie's Gift was written through her eyes and was really made more for children her age so I found it hard to keep the interest up for very long seeing that I'm older then ten. However,I would suggest it for girls younger then that who could relate to it more the ...more
Kellyn

This engaging story, based on the life of the author’s grandmother, describes the escapades of precocious Ruthie. The only girl in her family, Ruthie longs for friends of her own to play with other than her fix brothers. Even after twin girls just her age move to a nearby farm Ruthie finds she still can’t act “like a lady” to please her mother or stay out of trouble.

A touching, funny story of life in rural America at the beginning of WWI.
Meadow
When Ruth is a girl in a house of just 7 boys. IT is hard to become a lady. When she has no friends. A pair of twins move and become her closest friends. But when Ruthie goes back to her boyish ways she ends up loosing her friends and injuring her brother. Will she ever learn to be more grown up?
Asuka0278
What a sweet book. I read it to my eldest daughter and we both really liked the story. I could relate to Ruthie's plight because I know how hard it was for my one Uncle who was smack dab in the middle of his six sisters. :) I would definitely recommend this one. :)
Aela Louch
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Anaiz
I read this book when I was a lot younger and enjoyed it. I have since passed it on to my younger cousin who also loved it.
Jacqueline
Just like Dovey Coe, I read this a long time ago... Something like fifth grade. Maud Hart Lovelace. :)
Zahrah & Maryam Habib
i love this book because it makes me get good ideas too with my
brother too.:)
Angela
Darling story. Reminiscent of the Little House books.
Grade Three
I loved this book. It is my favorite book!!
Jill
This would be a series I think L would enjoy.
Toesnorth's mom
not very good, only read it because of name
Judy Desetti
I really liked this book.
Partridge Public
Aug 27, 2007 Partridge Public added it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: JF Bra
Shelves: juniorfiction
Bradley, Kimberly
Ekaterina Ivanik
Ekaterina Ivanik marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2014
Hannah
Hannah marked it as to-read
Oct 20, 2014
Leah
Leah marked it as to-read
Sep 26, 2014
Clara
Clara marked it as to-read
Sep 25, 2014
Audrey
Audrey marked it as to-read
Sep 21, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
I was born and raised in Fort Wayne, Indiana, in 1967, very near the small town that was the setting for my first book, Ruthie's Gift. I attended Smith College, in Northampton, Massachusetts, and graduated with a degree in chemistry just a few weeks before I married my high school sweetheart--Bart Bradley.

I studied chemistry in college because that was what I most loved to learn, but it's not what
...more
More about Kimberly Brubaker Bradley...
Jefferson's Sons The Lacemaker and the Princess For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy Leap of Faith Halfway to the Sky

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »