Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sabotage at Black Tom Island ” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Sabotage at Black Tom ...
 
by
Jules Witcover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sabotage at Black Tom Island

4.56  ·  Rating Details ·  9 Ratings  ·  3 Reviews
At eight minutes past two o'clock on the morning of Sunday, July 30, 1916, a gigantic explosion sent sleeping residents of New York City and surrounding areas tumbling from their beds. Black Tom, the huge depot loaded with ammunitions destined for the Allies to use against the Central Powers, had been blown up. With terrifying suddenness, the Great War raging overseas had ...more
Hardcover, 312 pages
Published 1989 by Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sabotage at Black Tom Island, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sabotage at Black Tom Island

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-23)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Heribert Feilitzsch
Sep 23, 2012 Heribert Feilitzsch rated it it was amazing
A history book in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Harris and Sadler. Whitcover, a journalist, presents the largest terrorist attack on the United States before 9-11 in a well-researched yet highly captivating story. He manages not only to describe this audacious bombing by the German secret service, which was not uncovered as an attack by Germany until the 1930s, but he switches between the actual bombing and the time when American lawyers battled their German counterparts to settle the ...more
Mark
Feb 12, 2008 Mark rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: history buff and researchers on terrorism
I learned that foreign adventures can bring sabotage on our homeland and this book makes it clear how vulnerble we are to the smallest and easiest of devices to bring about great distruction. It's like reading about our current predicament almost a hundred years before.
Jonathan Eaker
Jonathan Eaker rated it really liked it
Apr 12, 2015
William
William rated it it was amazing
Aug 02, 2009
Pennyloper
Pennyloper rated it it was amazing
Feb 10, 2012
Seth Augenstein
Dec 16, 2015 Seth Augenstein rated it really liked it
Great reporting job. A whole mass of evidence, and a compelling tick-tock.
RoryOMoore
RoryOMoore rated it really liked it
Apr 06, 2016
Radha
Radha rated it it was amazing
Nov 03, 2015
Lisa Price
Lisa Price rated it it was amazing
Apr 17, 2016
KOMET
KOMET marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2010
Joanna
Joanna marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2010
Lazygorillas
Lazygorillas marked it as to-read
Jun 16, 2012
Jerome
Jerome marked it as to-read
Sep 28, 2013
Chris Higgins
Chris Higgins marked it as to-read
Jun 13, 2014
Donald Forster
Donald Forster marked it as to-read
Jan 13, 2015
Dominic
Dominic marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2015
John
John marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2016
Susan Huang
Susan Huang marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2016
Naoj
Naoj marked it as to-read
May 15, 2016
Thomas A
Thomas A marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2016
Daniel J. Osnato
Daniel J. Osnato marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2016
BookDB
BookDB marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book