Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association” as Want to Read:
The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Preview

The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association

3.43 of 5 stars 3.43  ·  rating details  ·  44 ratings  ·  5 reviews
In the tradition of "Billy Gashade", Estleman's latest novel again takes readers on a trip through the early movie-making days of Hollywood. The cast of "big guns" includes D.W. Griffith, Tom Mix, Lillian Gish, and unseen villain Thomas Edison.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published July 15th 2000 by Forge Books (first published 1999)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 68)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Sarah Sammis
The early years of filmmaking, and the move to California is a favorite topic of mine. The days before the film industry in America was known as "Hollywood" was a free for all of mavericks going up against huge monopolies. Tiny fly by night companies popped up as fast as Edison's Motion Picture Patents Company (MPPC) could shut them down. The Rocky Mountain Moving Picture Association is a fictional one of these rogue "indies".

The hero of this odd ball historical novel is Dmitri Andreivitch Pulsk
...more
Rachael
I definitely liked this, probably because of my love of film history. Estleman uses enough real people to give the story a realism you don't often find. Again, I read this so I'd have some background of his work before his appearance at the Library and, turns out, he and I had a wonderful conversation about film and the book on the way back from dinner!
Joni
just couldn't find anything in common with it...
Cranky
The early days of moviemaking, as seen through the eyes of a naive young man who gets swept into the excitement. This was a lot of fun--the dialogue made it a rollicking good thing to listen to as an audiobook. I felt like the jumps between the golden hollywood years of the late 30s and 40s and early movie making weren't as successful, but the former were pretty brief. Overall, I really enjoyed it and I felt irritated when it ended as soon as it did--always a good sign for me that a book was a g ...more
Pat
The movie industry in its early days. The characters were interesting, but the plot just seemed a bit thin. George Guidell always does a great read.
Manfred
Manfred marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2015
Deborah
Deborah marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2013
Kerrie
Kerrie added it
Aug 15, 2013
Robert Wallenberg
Robert Wallenberg marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2013
Jaime
Jaime marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2012
Kit★
Kit★ added it
Dec 05, 2012
Teresa
Teresa marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2012
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
13371
Loren D. Estleman is an American writer of detective and Western fiction. He writes with a manual typewriter.

Estleman is most famous for his novels about P.I. Amos Walker. Other series characters include Old West marshal Page Murdock and hitman Peter Macklin. He has also written a series of novels about the history of crime in Detroit (also the setting of his Walker books.) His non-series works in
...more
More about Loren D. Estleman...
Sherlock Holmes vs. Dracula Dr. Jekyll and Mr.Holmes Motor City Blue (Amos Walker, #1) Frames (Valentino, #1) Whiskey River (Detroit, #1)

Share This Book