Shopping and Fucking
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Shopping and Fucking

3.55 of 5 stars 3.55  ·  rating details  ·  338 ratings  ·  23 reviews
This ground-breakingdrama was MarkRavenhill's first full-length play and part of a movement in the 1990s of "in your face" British theatre which franklydealt with issues of sex andviolence and pointedly challenged societal values.The play explores how consumerism has become our new value system which reduces everything else to a mere transaction, as shopping malls become
...more
Paperback, 96 pages
Published November 4th 1996 by Bloomsbury Methuen Drama (first published July 1st 1996)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Shopping and Fucking, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Shopping and Fucking

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 563)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Carac Allison
As you can likely guess from the title the author of "Shopping and Fucking" wanted to shock readers and playgoers. And following in the tradition of Edward Bond and Brad Fraser Mark Ravenhill delivers a solid upper cut with each scene. Yet the true shock of this work isn't the drugs or the violence or the sex but the moral void in which all of that happens. These are two dimensional characters on a large flat screen television. Everything can be purchased. No, it's worse than that: everything mu...more
Outi S.
Goes with Sarah Kane's works. Horrible but good.
Stuart
Ravenhill's ambitious little play draws heavily from the literary traditions of Joe Orton, Bret Easten Ellis, Jay MacInery, John Osborn and pretty much everybody else who has ever become obsessed with the lowest, angriest scraping of the social barrel, but his classical roots allow him to find some level of redemption in his tales and that's what makes his work complex and interesting instead of just banal and exploitive. Though at first Lulu, Robbie and Mark seem like overly modern archetypes o...more
Alexa
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Paulina
I think I'm in love with Ravenhill's ability to courageously portray the inner decay of his characters while not forgetting how sensible, fragile and humanlike they actually are.
It's so broken and yet so tender.


Robbie: I didn't say that.
I think... I think we all need stories, we make up stories so that we can get by.
And I think a long time ago there were big stories. Stories so big you could live your whole life in them. The Powerful Hands of the Gods and Fate. The Journey to Enlightenment. Th...more
Lance R. Goebel
Mark Ravenhill is a genius. His play uses the interactions between Lulu and Robbie, two servants, their owner Mark, a young prostitute named Gary and a businessman, Brian, to explore a variety of issues. The book touches on class warfare, the effects of consumerism on the psyche, the psychology of addiction, and the emptiness of our culture. Ravenhill weaves a tale that will bring you to tears, fill you with laughter, and encourage you to analyze the world that we find ourselves inhabiting.

The m...more
Stefan
"Tell me, son, says my dad, what are the first few words in the Bible? I don’t know, Dad, I say, what are the first few words in the Bible? And he looks me, he looks me in the eye and he says: Son, the first few words in the Bible are... get money first. Get. The money. First... It’s not perfect, I don’t deny it. We haven’t reached perfection. But it’s closest we’ve come to meaning, Civilisation is money. Money is civilisation. And civilisation- how did we get here? By war, by struggle, kill or...more
Taylor
I guess it's just easiest to give it three stars. I read this play for my LitCrit class while studying Marxism. I can't say I cared for the play, but that very well may not be the play's fault. I don't like these kind of books or, in this case, plays. That doesn't mean they aren't good for what they are. I can, in no part, relate to the characters. I find much of the content disturbing and downright sad. Maybe this world is incredibly screwed up, and maybe this play does a good job of illustrati...more
Jonathan Edgington
Mark Ravenhill has achieved iconic status in the world of new writing for stage. I once read a description of his work which went something like " ironic in tone, controversial in stage imagery and constantly questioning of social mores..." which really sums up what he is all about. Don't be put off by the content and/or the language - read this play (or better still, go and see it performed if you get the chance) and enjoy the wonderful style and rhythm of the dialogue. The obscenity in the pla...more
Goodreads
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Patrik Kondáš
Bolo tam viac toho fucking, než shopping. Ale podľa mňa to bolo v pohode.
Barbora
How would you define that word? There's a physical thing, yes. A sort of wanting, which isn't love is it? No, that's well, desire. But then, yes, there's an attachment I suppose. There's also that. Which means I want to be with you, now, here, when you're with me I feel like a person and if you're not with me I feel less like a person.

Just impressive and brilliant.
Michelle Lynne Widmann
This is one of my favourite plays. I love the comparison between consuming via shopping and consuming sex via shopping. Or simply consuming sex as something to be had rather than something to experience. Commodifying all of these symbols throughout the play was really ingenious. I just loved reading this play.
Britt Marczak
Read this for my Modern British Drama class in college. It's rough and perverse in everything it does, but it really hits the nail on the head. Absolutely love it in its horrible truth.

I'm also very, very interested to know how this is acted out on stage! I'd love to see a production of this.
Nafiza
A sad look at the consumer culture our world is entrenched in. More terrifying than anything else because it hits close to home and you can't deny the truth it's telling.
Anna
I read this for my comp lit class on shopping. Yes, shopping. It made for some pricelessly awkward moments when we read scenes out loud.
Skip
Dark. Disturbing. Fascinating. Thought-provoking. Read it twice in succession. If you like Neil LaBute, you'll like this.
Vanesa Delson
a bit extravagant maybe but conveys contemporary moral problematics efficiently enough
William
Every year more of what he wrote has come into being more and more true.
Bill
This play started a feud for me, so it is special.
Melissa
Intense, and still thinking about it.
Cecilie
Percutant. Actuel. Universel.
Rachel Stewart
Blunt and excellent
Steven Chang
Steven Chang marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2014
Danilo
Danilo added it
Aug 26, 2014
Olivia
Olivia added it
Aug 22, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 18 19 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Far Away
  • Complete Plays
  • A Taste of Honey: A Play
  • The Beauty Queen of Leenane
  • Venus - Acting Edition
  • The Complete Plays
  • Three Plays: Blithe Spirit / Hay Fever / Private Lives
  • Bent
  • Gross Indecency: The Three Trials of Oscar Wilde
  • Travesties
  • The Last Days of Judas Iscariot
  • The Homecoming
  • Fool for Love - Acting Edition
  • The Balcony
  • Homebody/Kabul
Plays 1: Shopping and Fucking / Faust is Dead / Handbag / Some Explicit Polaroids Some Explicit Polaroids Pool (No Water) & Citizenship Faust: Faust is Dead Handbag

Share This Book