Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “No Greater Courage: A Novel of the Battle of Fredericksburg” as Want to Read:
No Greater Courage: A Novel of the Battle of Fredericksburg
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

No Greater Courage: A Novel of the Battle of Fredericksburg

4.04  ·  Rating Details ·  25 Ratings  ·  4 Reviews
In the tradition of Gods and Generals comes a vividly realistic novel aboutone of the most infamous engagements of the Civil War, from the author of ToMake Men Free.
Paperback, 478 pages
Published April 1st 2007 by HarperTorch (first published March 1st 2006)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about No Greater Courage, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about No Greater Courage

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-47)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Joe Woods
Jan 26, 2009 Joe Woods rated it really liked it
This is a historical novel about the Civil War battle at Fredericksburg. It was a major victory for the Army of Northern Virginia, but it was a low point in the history of humanity, introducing the world to the warfare of the future; senseless carnage and brutality at a scale previously unknown.
No Greater Courage was written in the style of Shaara's Killer Angels, but covered many more characters in many more places. That's probably a good thing since it takes the focus away from the ground in
...more
Dale
Apr 21, 2012 Dale rated it it was amazing
A fine bit of historical fiction.

In No Greater Courage: A Novel of the Battle of Fredericksburg Richard Croker's novelization of the events leading up to and including the Battle of Fredricksburg in December of 1862 is just about as good as it gets in the "cast of thousands" (lots and lots of characters) type of historical fiction.

Due to the nature of this sort of book, it is just about impossible to get too deeply involved in many of these characters. But, Croker does an admirable job of givin
...more
Monte Dutton
For Civil War buffs, this is must-read. The Stonewall Jackson quote referred to several times sticks with me. He told his soldiers, "Kill the brave. That's who the others follow." Detailed account concerned heavily with the elements of a Union disaster. Rings about as true as historical fiction can.
Debbie
Debbie rated it really liked it
Aug 30, 2011
Shredder
Shredder rated it really liked it
Apr 08, 2013
Joshua Hernandez
Joshua Hernandez rated it it was amazing
Jul 23, 2012
Mary Brennan
Mary Brennan rated it it was amazing
Aug 13, 2012
Lowell
Lowell rated it really liked it
Feb 16, 2014
David
David rated it really liked it
Feb 13, 2016
Don Deacy
Don Deacy rated it really liked it
Nov 25, 2015
Emily
Emily rated it it was amazing
Sep 17, 2014
Scott Plumbtree
Scott Plumbtree rated it really liked it
Jan 12, 2013
Jas Herrington
it was purdy good
Philip Walters
Philip Walters rated it liked it
Jun 24, 2012
Shannon
Shannon rated it it was amazing
May 27, 2016
Mark Noce
Mark Noce rated it liked it
May 20, 2016
William Hill
William Hill rated it really liked it
Nov 19, 2011
Octiparan
Octiparan rated it really liked it
Oct 26, 2015
Shawn Miller
Shawn Miller rated it really liked it
May 31, 2014
Ted
Ted rated it really liked it
May 09, 2014
ROBERT C. HOLMAN
ROBERT C. HOLMAN rated it really liked it
Dec 26, 2013
Mike Jones-Kelley
Mike Jones-Kelley rated it it was amazing
Nov 21, 2008
James Stevens
James Stevens rated it really liked it
Nov 24, 2012
John Jorgensen
John Jorgensen rated it really liked it
Jan 12, 2011
Steve Goodson
Steve Goodson rated it it was ok
Aug 30, 2012
Ralph
Ralph rated it really liked it
Jul 28, 2014
Lisa
Lisa is currently reading it
Jul 28, 2008
Miranda
Miranda marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2010
Ben Vogel
Ben Vogel marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2011
Mark
Mark marked it as to-read
May 25, 2011
Joel Manuel
Joel Manuel marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2011
Keith
Keith marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2011
Josh
Josh marked it as to-read
Mar 30, 2012
Andrew
Andrew added it
Jun 02, 2012
Tatuu
Tatuu marked it as to-read
May 07, 2014
H.R. Phillips
H.R. Phillips marked it as to-read
May 22, 2014
Kayla Mckinney
Kayla Mckinney marked it as to-read
Nov 28, 2014
Jas Herrington
Jas Herrington marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2014
Tom Batalias
Tom Batalias marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2015
Denzil Weller
Denzil Weller marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2015
Lisa Smith
Lisa Smith marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book