Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Divorce Turkish Style” as Want to Read:
Divorce Turkish Style
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Divorce Turkish Style (Kati Hirschel #3)

by
3.36  ·  Rating Details ·  75 Ratings  ·  10 Reviews
Praise for Esmahan Aykol:

"Kati could be the love child of Miss Marple and NPR's Andrei Codrescu. It doesn't matter who done it. What matters is that Aykol uses the genre to tell us more about the world than we're used to."—Newsday

"An offbeat amateur sleuth with a distinctive narrative voice. Fans of Amanda Cross's Kate Fansler and Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher will find
...more
Paperback, 235 pages
Published November 3rd 2015 by Bitter Lemon Press (first published January 1st 2008)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Divorce Turkish Style, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Divorce Turkish Style

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Melinda
Dec 01, 2015 Melinda rated it liked it
Shelves: 2015
The mystery aspect was mild. The search for the culprit(s) is slow and as expected enlightening. The victim was a distant acquaintance of Kati’s and as she peels back the layers and inner circle of this woman’s life things become very interesting as secrets and possible motives are exposed. The drawn out narrative can drag a bit, however Kati’s often brash personality keeps you entertained. Fofo, Kati’s best friend and fellow amateur gumshoe have their share of witty repartee allowing for plenty ...more
Chiara
Feb 22, 2013 Chiara rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Lettura piacevole , per questo che li ho letti tutti e tre. L'intreccio giallo per me è più uno sfondo , la parte più interessante è la descrizione dell'ambiente, città e personaggi turchi e di Istanbul.
Giorgiaelisa
Migliora l'intreccio giallo (quello del primo libro era stato risolto davvero frettolosamente) ma avrei preferito più Istanbul e meno Kati.
Kim
Jun 13, 2016 Kim rated it it was ok
I would like to give the benefit of the doubt knowing this is a translation. However, there were little to no descriptions of the characters physical attributes, personality quirks, or the Turkish cities. There weren't enough details which made it a bit hard to picture who these people were, as well as to keep each character separate from each other.

I can certainly appreciated the inclusion of an LGBTQ character without making the person a caricature of the stereotype. No LGBTQ character was di
...more
Linda
Apr 02, 2016 Linda rated it really liked it
Kati, owner of the only crime mystery fiction bookstore in Istanbul is in pursuit of the reasons why a young woman who was getting a divorce from her wealthy husband while involved in ecological causes is found dead.
Barb
May 26, 2016 Barb rated it it was ok
Turkish setting is interesting. Story is a crazy quilt of all the buttons one pushes in writing a mystery. Not satisfying to solve.
Theut
Jan 07, 2015 Theut rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: viaggi
Un discreto libro da viaggio. Vocabolario poco ricercato ma storia interessante.
La parte più bella le citazioni di zone della città appena visitate :)
Klava reads
Rimangono le descrizioni della città, ma la protagonista si fa sempre più presuntuosa ed irritante el a trama è piuttosto priva di interesse.
Margaret
Jun 08, 2016 Margaret rated it liked it
Shelves: mystery
As with prior book, interesting insights into Turkey. Characters seem more real and some likeable. Plot ok
Giulia Franco
Giulia Franco rated it liked it
Oct 28, 2012
Jackie Williams
Jackie Williams rated it liked it
Apr 22, 2016
Riccardo
Riccardo rated it really liked it
May 16, 2015
Mattia
Mattia rated it it was ok
Aug 28, 2013
Francesca
Francesca rated it liked it
Apr 14, 2013
Nyree Grifeo
Nyree Grifeo rated it liked it
Jul 27, 2012
Elisa
Elisa rated it did not like it
Mar 16, 2015
Tiziana Dorigo
Tiziana Dorigo rated it really liked it
May 29, 2016
Caterina Geries
Caterina Geries rated it it was ok
Dec 11, 2013
Andrea
Andrea rated it liked it
Jul 06, 2013
Patty
Patty rated it liked it
Sep 04, 2012
Natalia Borisova
Natalia Borisova rated it really liked it
Mar 11, 2016
Valerio
Valerio rated it liked it
Oct 14, 2014
Mercedes Procopio
Mercedes Procopio rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2013
Nadia Mendez
Nadia Mendez rated it really liked it
Apr 29, 2016
Sara Van der horst
Sara Van der horst rated it liked it
Nov 02, 2015
Emily
Emily rated it really liked it
Dec 30, 2015
Stefyberto Bertolini
Stefyberto Bertolini rated it really liked it
Oct 02, 2013
James Moser
James Moser rated it it was amazing
Sep 09, 2012
Roberto
Roberto rated it really liked it
Feb 13, 2014
Michael
Michael rated it really liked it
Mar 21, 2016
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
731594
Esmahan Aykol began her writing career as a journalist. Today she is a fiction writer, best known for her "Kati Hirschel" mystery novels.
Aykol's fiction touches upon stereotypes of Turks and Europeans (eg. the character of Kati Hirschel is a reverse of the norm: a German immigrant in Turkey).
Aykol divides her time between Istanbul and Berlin.
More about Esmahan Aykol...

Other Books in the Series

Kati Hirschel (3 books)
  • Hotel Bosphorus
  • Appartamento a Istanbul

Share This Book