Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Lightning Cage: A Novel” as Want to Read:
The Lightning Cage: A Novel
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Lightning Cage: A Novel

3.28 of 5 stars 3.28  ·  rating details  ·  18 ratings  ·  2 reviews
In the tradition of Graham Swift and Patrick McGrath---Alan Wall’s The Lightning Cage is a gothic, metaphysical novel given the speed and strength of a thriller.

A former seminarian, Christopher Bayliss abandons his studies in Rome and returns to England determined to be cleansed forever of the contagion of religion and to leave behind his angels as well as his demons. But
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published March 11th 2003 by Thomas Dunne Books (first published January 1999)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Lightning Cage, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Lightning Cage

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 37)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Goele Lousbergh
Aug 09, 2008 Goele Lousbergh rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommended to Goele by: Roel
If I am not mistaken it is in this novel that the character describes a shoe box full of post cards the family sent from their holidays to their own house. I found that such a beautiful habit that I now have my own box.

"Perhaps freedom really did come from renouncing commitments, even though one wasn't permitted to mention the fact."
Jeanette
gave up on this one...not really catching me....
Kaylee (readerxpro)
Kaylee (readerxpro) marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2014
Breonna
Breonna marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2014
C Mcdowell
C Mcdowell marked it as to-read
Oct 26, 2013
Jon
Jon marked it as to-read
Sep 12, 2013
Namita
Namita is currently reading it
Apr 07, 2013
Peter Bassett
Peter Bassett marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2012
Keith
Keith marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2012
Athena
Athena added it
Jun 13, 2012
Alan
Alan marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2012
Tom Schneitter
Tom Schneitter marked it as to-read
May 11, 2012
Hamish
Hamish added it
Feb 07, 2012
Michael Brown
Michael Brown marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2012
Steve
Steve marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
514929
Wall was born in Bradford and studied at the University of Oxford. In addition to his work as a professional author, he has developed a career teaching creative writing with posts at Liverpool John Moores University, the University of Birmingham and the University of Chester. He is also a published poet and critic.
More about Alan Wall...
The School of Night: A Novel Bless the Thief Writing Fiction (Collins Need To Know?) China: A Novel Badmouth

Share This Book