Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Michal Chelbin: Strangely Familiar” as Want to Read:
Michal Chelbin: Strangely Familiar
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Michal Chelbin: Strangely Familiar

3.95  ·  Rating Details ·  19 Ratings  ·  5 Reviews
In her sympathetic pictures of contortionists, dwarves, ballroom dancers and wrestlers from small towns in Israel, Ukraine, Eastern Europe and England, Michal Chelbin offers a glimpse into worlds both strange and familiar. Her subjects--usually individuals on society's margins--tend to be portrayed offstage, at home, on the street or in a park, and in a disarmingly direct ...more
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published April 1st 2008 by Aperture
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Michal Chelbin, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Michal Chelbin

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Emily
Stunning. In the tradition of Mary Ellen Mark, Sally Mann and Diane Arbus, yet Michal Chelbin's work stands beautifully on its own.
Sharon Dodge
Apr 16, 2014 Sharon Dodge rated it did not like it
As essentially a coffee table book, you can "read" this in minutes. While the photography is powerful, I couldn't help but also find it reprehensible. Every person photographed in the collection of acrobats and traveling troupes is shown in some subtly sexual, depressed, or stark way. Worse, many of them are young girls on the verge of puberty half-naked. Even if you tried to tell me the one of the hyper frilly-dressed young girl lying on the couch in the most weird, fallen-down position, was ...more
Shana
Mar 27, 2012 Shana rated it really liked it
Shelves: photography
Chelbin's photography for me is clearly influenced by Sally Mann and Diane Arbus - striking portraits, an unsettled vibe, a bit of bleakness, and somewhat narrative not only of the subject, but of the photographer's fascination with the lesser known & oft misunderstood gypsy/nomadic/circus lifestyle...not my preferred genre of photography necessarily, but I have total respect for the artist with a clear vision and an even clearer execution of their intention - overall, highly successful ...more
Ahmed
Ahmed rated it it was amazing
Jul 21, 2012
Michael Bacon
Jul 21, 2014 Michael Bacon rated it liked it
No strong feelings. The work is okay, sometimes emotionally effective, sometimes forcibly shocking.
Melissa
Melissa rated it really liked it
Mar 16, 2010
Michael
Michael rated it really liked it
Aug 03, 2015
Tommy
Tommy rated it it was amazing
Aug 21, 2010
Dmitriy Rozentsvay
Dmitriy Rozentsvay rated it really liked it
Apr 01, 2013
SEEREAD
SEEREAD rated it liked it
Jul 19, 2009
Luis Soares
Luis Soares rated it really liked it
Jan 30, 2012
Dawn
Dawn rated it liked it
Aug 10, 2016
Bur Davis
Bur Davis rated it liked it
Jul 12, 2016
Horrorshow
Horrorshow rated it it was amazing
Mar 25, 2013
Samantha
Samantha rated it really liked it
Jul 25, 2014
Susanna-Cole King
Susanna-Cole King rated it really liked it
Jan 04, 2013
Laura
Laura rated it really liked it
Nov 16, 2008
Baron Como
Baron Como rated it it was amazing
Mar 20, 2009
Annabel
Nov 24, 2008 Annabel rated it it was amazing
Shelves: photobooks
Beautiful portraits. They look even better in person.
Renee
Renee rated it it was amazing
Jun 07, 2008
Rachel
Rachel marked it as to-read
May 24, 2009
David Brown
David Brown marked it as to-read
Aug 09, 2011
Lin Ko Fan
Lin Ko Fan marked it as to-read
Oct 10, 2011
Menna Sayed
Menna Sayed marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2014
Justin Dyer
Justin Dyer marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2014
Erdem Moralioglu
Erdem Moralioglu marked it as to-read
Aug 06, 2015
Stevie
Stevie added it
Jan 18, 2016
d.
d. marked it as to-read
Jul 28, 2016
وفاء
وفاء marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Michal Chelbin (born in Haifa, Israel, 1974) has lived in Brooklyn since 2006. Her work has appeared in solo shows in Israel, Los Angeles, and New York, and in group shows internationally, and is held in many collections, including Palazzo Forti, Verona, Italy; Sir Elton John Collection; and Tel Aviv Museum of Art."
More about Leah Ollman...

Share This Book