Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Story of Avis” as Want to Read:
The Story of Avis
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Story of Avis

3.51  ·  Rating Details ·  150 Ratings  ·  14 Reviews
.
Paperback, 250 pages
Published June 1st 1985 by Rutgers University Press (first published 1877)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Story of Avis, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Story of Avis

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Celia
May 03, 2008 Celia rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Lovers of Chopin, feminist scholars, artists, women
Recommended to Celia by: Dr. Rita Deutsch--what a course that was!
Was thinking of this book last night (I've loaned it out and don't expect to get it back . . . these things haunt me at bedtime) and realized I had not catalogued it. This is a fantastic novel from the late C19 that chronicles how the lead character, Avis, compromises her artistic talent to succumb to the demands of domesticity. Similar to Chopin's The Awakening, it is a meditation on woman's role as wife and self, but it is a more extended treatment, more realistic than Chopin's. Phelps deals l ...more
Elaina
Jan 15, 2008 Elaina rated it really liked it
This book is by a little-known bestselling American woman author in the nineteenth century. It is about a woman who feels she has to sacrifice her art (she is a painter) for marriage and children. Her husband ultimately is not financially stable and she ends up facing difficulties. This is similar to the author's own life. I wrote my longest graduate term paper and the image of the Sphinx that the main character paints in this book. I must have gone to the Library of Congress in search for prima ...more
Joanna
Feb 03, 2014 Joanna rated it it was amazing
Such a pleasure to read, I enjoyed every page. But I'm used to 19th century writing and don't find it tiresome.
Mia
May 19, 2009 Mia rated it it was amazing
This is the story of a woman who possesses the talent and the discipline to become a great artist, but who loses the opportunity when she finally agrees to marry. The novel is written in such a way that no one is really at fault, her "failure" is simply the way life is...women are, in many ways, prisoners of their biology. Phelps' writing style is beautiful; I love the way she uses paint colors in her descriptions of people and settings. I think any woman who has felt the tug of career and sacri ...more
Meagan
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jailbird
Sep 28, 2009 Jailbird rated it liked it
This book is uncharacteristic of 19th century women's fiction, in that it reads more like the fiction men were writing of the time. Which is probably why I liked it better than all of the other books I've been required to read for my 19th/20th century women's literature class.

Avis tries so hard to become an artist, but gives up and hopes for the dream to come true for her own daughter, rather than herself. A twist on the "I live vicariously through my children" that is generally played out in t
...more
Alia Makki
Careful with feminine narrations, this books is littered with rambling sets of them.

That said, I love how the author carefully unfolded "romantic love" vs. "serving Love" paradox. This quote, for example, gave the conflict its passive acknowledgment to the quiet sacrifices that one must give daily, whether male or female, in order to achieve meaningful results.
Brittany
Feb 01, 2013 Brittany rated it liked it
I read this for my American Realism class. I thought I was going to die reading it because it was so damn boring.

I like a lot of the messages in the book and what it worked to do and the things it did for literature. I think it is extremely relevant to our times now.

I was just so incredibly bored by it.
Ann Michael
May 03, 2008 Ann Michael rated it really liked it
Yes, fascinating as to subject and content. Phelps in many ways was well ahead of her times. The book is stylistically dated, but not so much as to impede enjoyment of the work (the mantra of "show, don't tell" was not so ingrained during this era.)

Heartbreaking, though, in its way. Even the possible redemption via the gumptious daughter is a bit saddening. But realistic and believable.
Kelcey
Apr 28, 2008 Kelcey rated it it was amazing
"and whatever it would be to me--this life that other women seem to be so--happy in; this feeling that other women--have--to offer the man they--

She broke off abruptly; her voice had fallen into an awestruck whisper."
Anne
Aug 14, 2009 Anne rated it really liked it
19th-C awesomeness. I actually dug this story after a rocky start. The investigation of masculinity and femininity in this book is great.
Brittany
Nov 06, 2010 Brittany rated it liked it
Very detailed, dense, difficult to get through at some points but well worth the read. Phelps is very imaginative with her words.
Eric
Feb 04, 2014 Eric rated it liked it
Fun, cheesy, overdone. I like its slow pace and patient observation. Plus, Avis gets drunk and has a vision.
Laura
Laura rated it it was amazing
Sep 04, 2011
Elizabeth Rodriguez
Elizabeth Rodriguez rated it it was amazing
Jun 10, 2014
Lindsey
Lindsey rated it liked it
Sep 28, 2011
Meghan
Meghan rated it liked it
Aug 14, 2009
Heather Haskins
Heather Haskins rated it really liked it
Mar 11, 2013
Eirik Kjøs Usterud
Eirik Kjøs Usterud rated it liked it
Mar 03, 2013
Michelle Powers
Michelle Powers rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2009
Courtney
Courtney rated it liked it
Jun 11, 2011
John
John rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2007
Dawn
Dawn rated it really liked it
Oct 28, 2010
Elyse Kaderli
Elyse Kaderli rated it really liked it
Apr 24, 2017
Madisen
Madisen rated it liked it
Sep 14, 2014
Jennifer
Jennifer rated it liked it
Mar 01, 2015
Teresa
Teresa rated it liked it
Feb 08, 2009
Torey Ballenger
Torey Ballenger rated it liked it
Feb 25, 2016
Joshua
Joshua rated it it was amazing
Jul 13, 2011
Dana
Dana rated it it was ok
Jan 14, 2009
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
500 Great Books B...: The Story of Avis - Elizabeth Stuart Phelps 1 10 Jul 11, 2014 09:27PM  
  • Paper Conspiracies
  • Whistle Stop: A Novel
  • The Magnificent Spinster
  • The Odditorium: Stories
  • The Girl
  • The Crowded Street
  • Lady Rose and Mrs. Memmary
  • Rebellion in the Backlands
  • Radio Iris
  • Earth and High Heaven
  • Goose of Hermogenes
  • HERmione
  • The Wicked Pavilion
  • The Lady and the Little Fox Fur
  • One by One in the Darkness
  • Miss Mole
  • The Visitor
  • Summer Half
13667
Elizabeth Stuart Phelps Ward, born Mary Gray Phelps, (August 31, 1844-January 28, 1911) was an American author.

She was born at Andover, Massachusetts. In most of her writings she used her mother's name "Elizabeth Stuart Phelps" as a pseudonym, both before and after her marriage in 1888 to Herbert Dickinson Ward, a journalist seventeen years younger. She also used the pseudonym Mary Adams. Her fath
...more
More about Elizabeth Stuart Phelps...

Share This Book



“Success for a woman means absolute surrender, in whatever direction. Whether she paints a picture, or loves a man, there is no division of labor possible in her economy. To the attainment of any end worth living for, a symmetrical sacrifice of her nature is compulsory upon her.” 10 likes
More quotes…