Thieves Like Us
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Thieves Like Us (Thieves Like Us #1)

3.74 of 5 stars 3.74  ·  rating details  ·  597 ratings  ·  67 reviews
Jonah Wish, a brilliant computer hacker, is the newest addition to an elite group of teen outlaws all hired by the same mysterious benefactor, Nathaniel Coldhardt. Each of them offers a unique talent: Patch is a one-eyed locksmith; Motti can dismantle any electrical system; Con's charm is truly mesmerizing; and Tye can detect a lie with more precision than a polygraph. Und...more
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published April 4th 2006 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (first published February 6th 2006)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Thieves Like Us, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Thieves Like Us

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 1,058)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Lester
I bought this book at a bargain (GBP 1.74 to be precise) from a newsagents at Birmingham Airport, because after 15 hours of delay and at about 12 a.m. I had run out of my own books to read. It looked like the most digestable of the special offers.



Imagine my surprise when it actually turned out to be good! Rather than helping me sleep on the plane, the damn thing kept me up. It is a rather unlikely story of 5 gifted teenagers who are brought together by a gazillionaire to perform thefts where ot...more
Issam
Started out strong enough (I flew through the first 150 pages), but then I lost a lot of interest after the halfway point. What I thought was going to be a mission impossible/heist type novel, ended up becoming a weird hybrid of Indiana Jones & The Mummy, with immortality elixirs, living corpses, and gateways to hell (that, or the novel simply speculates that they were all high from 'shroom spores).

Aside from the weak plot, there were several things that this book couldn't deliver. Good cha...more
Michele Velthuizen
Interest level: 7th +
Reading level: medium, short
Genre: adventure, crime, teen criminals, suspense
Read-alikes: H.I.V.E., Spy High, Stormbreaker, Cherub

For those of you who enjoyed reading H.I.V.E. and the Spy High series, you will probably like this adventure series by Stephen Cole as well.

In "Thieves Like Us", Jonah, a genius at solving puzzles and deciphering secret codes, gets into trouble with the law but is rescued by Nathaniel Coldhardt - a master criminal who recruits teenagers with speci...more
Jhyun
It was pretty good, but some parts of the story kind of dragged for me, and then some some parts I feel like, some details were skipped which made the story a little bit more bland. I loved the plot and the idea of the story. Definitely, an all nighter book.
Amy Louise
This was a really good book! :D
Hope
This was a fast-paced, entertaining read, but it asked the readers to suspend belief just a bit too much, without any kind of grounding in reality. It came across as nothing more than a daydream. The characters were fun, but confusing; none of them seemed to have enough detail or personality to truly feel like someone you could know. The adult characters were even worse, given very broad personalities with unclear motives that were meant to explain away completely unbelievable behavior. And then...more
Alexander
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Ashley
Teenager Jonah Wish is a brilliant computer hacker that finds himself being broken out of a juvenile detention center by an eclectic and elite group of teenage criminals who each possess a unique talent which helps the team successfully steal invaluable items. Patch can pick any lock, Motti is a brilliant security expert, Con has mesmerizing charm, and Tye is a human lie detector. Led my their mysterious and wealthy benefactor Coldhardt, Jonah and his team will travel to exotic locations, face d...more
 Frenchie
I had been worried that this book would glamorise crime because while I want my children to be entertained, I like they also retain some moral values. But strangely enough, Thieves like Us does not glamorise theft.
Nathaniel Coldhart is a charismatic and enigmatic man. He is also a mastermind thief with a touch of Robin Hood. Only people who deserve to be robbed -in his opinion - are robbed of their wealth. To help him in his grand plans, Coldhart enrols the help of young people he has 'saved' fr...more
Can't-Decide-On-A-Name
Jonah Wish, a brilliant computer hacker, is the newest addition to an elite group of teen outlaws all hired by the same mysterious benefactor, Nathaniel Coldhardt. Each of them offers a unique talent: Patch is a one-eyed locksmith; Motti can dismantle any electrical system; Con's charm is truly mesmerizing; and Tye can detect a lie with more precision than a polygraph. Under Coldhart's watchful eye, this motley crew races from a high-tech underground conference centre to exotic locations where t...more
MizziQ
I guess it was okay. Mostly I just liked the premise. It came off to be more of a book about the kid- Jonah, and him and his skills. Plus getting along with the other talented teens. But it got very mytholigical. It had cliques littered throught, which was irratating to say the least. I DID like it, but it definitely won't be memorable. I love stories like this. Hackers, thieves, etc... but this went all over the map. It went from juvie, to a secret society, to mummies, to curses, to happily eve...more
Logan Dowell
This book is an amazing novel. Thieves Like Us is about five teenage thieves conducted by a billionaire named Nathaniel Coldhart. They all have their special talents: Con is mesmerizing, Patch is a locksmith, Tye is a human lye detector, Motti is a security expert, and Jonah Wish the new kid is a hacker. They were all orphans until Coldhart picked them up from their terrible lives and gave them everything they could want and a father figure to live up to. They do many missions and steal many ite...more
Ash
this book is full with action. Jonah is a great computer hacker that got sent to young affenders. At the start he is broken out of young affenders by a group TEENAGERS!!! they are the "childern" of Coldhardt. An master criminal thats recruiting teenager with special talents. kids with no real family and nothing to lose, he trains them as ruthless efficient professionals and employs them to under take the daring crimes he's planed. And he takes care of them as if they were his own children. He ca...more
Jan
To be fair, I have to admit that I didn't finish reading this book. The premise is rather interesting. A man who is searching for hidden treasures gathers a gang of teens, each of whom is skilled in something -- locks, cars, computer hacking, lie detection -- and then keeps them in luxury until he is ready to send them on a mission to acquire another precious object.
I just got tired of the story, and found I didn't care whether any of these characters ever succeeded or not. On further reflecti...more
Carmel Kelly
I'm so glad I actually ordered this book and read it. I had it on my 'To Read ' list for quite a while!

I enjoyed the characters. I'm glad Jonah wasn't just bought over by material things and the 'We're a family' to join the team. He had morals about what they do. I found the team interactions to be funny between the others.

The only thing I found a little disappointing which may seem weird because I liked the book so much was the plot itself. I found the myth of immortality a little far fetched e...more
Sandy
Umm... I like the premise a whole lot better than he actually pulls it off. This kid, who just happens to be a computer genius, gets himself in some trouble and put in jail. These other kids break him out and try to talk him into joining their team, led by their benefactor. Well, Jonah goes along with it for a little bit, then decides that the life of a thief isn't for him and tries to get out. Things go completely haywire then and there's all sorts of backstabbing going on from like, everybody....more
Tommy Quirk
I really enjoyed thieves like us because it was a very good action packed adventure. It is about a computer hacker named Jonah Wish who is in jail for stealing 500 thousand dollars. He is broken out by a team of kids with special talents. Tye is a great driver and fighter, Con who is charming, Motti who is a security system hacker, and Patch who is a expert lock pick. They are all part of this team that steals expensive items and sells them to private collectors. Their "Dad" is Nathaniel Coldhar...more
Claire
not really one for me. I kept falling asleep which for me, is never a good sign when a book cant keep me awake.
Ryan
Oct 20, 2010 Ryan rated it 3 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: everyone
Shelves: action-adventure
It is a great book about a hacker who gets broken out of jail go and help this clan of teenagers.And they go around th world stealing ancient artifacts.Its really an action filled.Because once you read it you realize hes theyre only seventeen or eighteen and they already know so much.I could really see myself reading this book again.i really liked the part when they brake him out of jail and how they trick the security gaurd and how they knocked out all the prisoners buy putting drugs in theyre...more
Melisa
Oh this book is great. I couldn't put it down until I finished!!! I read it about 3 times and each time I read it, it gets better and better. The story is captivating and the characters are awesome. Stephen Cole details the characters as if it's a group of friends from back in high schools, there's the pretty girl, the nerd, the jock and so on... I would recommend this book to the younger generations but mainly teens (13+) because of some content and language.
Meredith
Like a Mission Impossible movie, this was a blast to read with all the action - who cares if it won't really stick with me, it was fun while it lasted. But then again, it was also more like Indiana Jones with the supernatural-feeling stuff at the end. I did also like the dialogue of the kids - rang true of Brit teens. (The cover, while eye-catching, makes 'em look like they're 25, but they're supposed to be 16 or so.)
Leah
Insanely addicting, absolutely crazy. They're all so crazy! I wanted to be in their world, dangerous as it might be. I think that Coldhardt was probably the most awesome. It was just addicting. I read it in a little more than a day. I couldn't stop reading it [I read the read the last three chapters in 2nd period Precalc]. Can't wait for the sequel.
Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!*
I think the plot had good potential... I don't think it quite reached that potential though. I like that the characters were all unique, had their own specific traits. But the plot was missing a few things, I think; there were parts that I didn't really understand, that the author wasn't very clear about. Over all, it was just okay for me...
Claire
In all honesty I didn't finish this book entirely.. but from what I did read, I've decided that this book is good, but a little cliche and young for me. The concept was great and I found it flickered between really good and gripping to cliche and rather predictable. I'd recommend this book for younger people to read, rather than 16/17 year olds.
Sydney
Overall I like it. It was an incredibly quick read and had kinda of strange story line at some points. I liked all of the characters... Except the main one. Jonah was whiny and was frustrating. He has "get out of jail free card" literally and he questions it the entire book. He was frustrating but the book was overall was good.
Lena
I love this book!!! The different characters' perspectives were great! I love the new twist of the weird magic artifacts and weird legend thing...
This book should be a movie because it so exciting and you never know what is happening next.

Go get this boy if you love misfit kids, and jamesbond, and spies!!!
joanna
Better than I expected, on the whole. Excellent caper, cool mystery, booby traps, ancient cults, snakes! Often felt like the young characters were caricatures - of ethnicities, of spies, but also of teenagers, as if some sort of handy app was in use. But at other moments they were refreshingly genuine.
Ashley
This book strted out good, but I was unimpressed with it as it went along. There was not very much action, at least not as much as I hoped there would be. There were very few details about technology or the heist itself, and it was all just a little too fantasy based for me.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 35 36 next »
  • Nailed
  • The Hero Revealed (The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Boy, #1)
  • The Death of Jayson Porter
  • My Life with the Lincolns
  • Dragonborn (The Flaxfield Quartet, #1)
  • The War within These Walls
  • Stealing Air
  • Jacob's Ladder
  • Second Impact
  • S.T.O.R.M.: The Infinity Code (S.T.O.R.M., #1)
  • Sure Fire (Rich and Jade, #1)
  • Do Not Pass Go
  • House of Dance
  • He Forgot to Say Goodbye
  • The White Horse Trick (New Policeman, #3)
  • Freshman
  • Full Ride
  • Z
5614141
See also: Steve Cole.

Stephen Cole (born 1971) is an English author of children's books and science fiction. He was also in charge of BBC Worldwide's merchandising of the BBC Television series Doctor Who between 1997 and 1999: this was a role which found him deciding on which stories should be released on video, commissioning and editing a range of fiction and non-fiction titles, producing audioboo...more
More about Stephen Cole...
Doctor Who: The Feast of the Drowned Wounded (The Wereling, #1) Doctor Who: The Monsters Inside Doctor Who: Sting of the Zygons Prey (The Wereling, #2)

Share This Book

“You need to cool it some, geek." said Motti. "Why not go to the fridge, open the door, and stand there for a minute? Then grab a beer from inside and bring it to me." Jonah smiled despite himself. "Good of you to think of my welfare like that.” 7 likes
“Say 'Synchronize watches', Motti." Con batted her eyelids. "You know I love it when you say 'Synchronize watches'." Motti glowered at Con, put on a bad falsetto French accent: "Would everyone kindly confirm their watch is telling the same time as their neighbour's watch, yes?” 5 likes
More quotes…