Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Worried Sick: A Prescription for Health in an Overtreated America” as Want to Read:
Worried Sick: A Prescription for Health in an Overtreated America
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Worried Sick: A Prescription for Health in an Overtreated America

3.68 of 5 stars 3.68  ·  rating details  ·  65 ratings  ·  22 reviews
At a time when access to health care in the United States is being widely debated, Nortin Hadler argues that an even more important issue is being overlooked. Although necessary health care should be available to all who need it, he says, the current health-care debate assumes that everyone requires massive amounts of expensive care to stay healthy. Hadler urges that befor ...more
Hardcover, 376 pages
Published June 1st 2008 by University of North Carolina Press
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Worried Sick, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Worried Sick

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 180)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Lena
Nortin Hadler is a rheumatologist with a mission. That mission is to overhaul the US healthcare system to eliminate "Type II Medical Malpractice." If Type I Medical Malpractice is doctors doing their job poorly, Type II is doctors doing their job unnecessarily. According to Hadler, unnecessary medical procedures are at the root of many of our health care woes.

His stated goal in writing this book is to educate patients about what science really says regarding the effectiveness of many common proc
...more
Kamil Salamah
As a practicing Consultant General Surgeon, I have not come across any such writing on the subject in such detail. I have been touched deeply reflecting on how I and my colleagues have practiced: quoting studies, reviews, articles, editorials, etc to defend what we do and subscribe to our patients.

Knowing some of the historical Type I and Type II malpractices that occur daily, knowing the false claims of the Pharmaceutical studies, knowing the major forces of power at play for the precious doll
...more
Monte
At a time when access to health care in the United States is being widely debated, Nortin Hadler argues that an even more important issue is being overlooked. Although necessary health care should be available to all who need it, he says, the current health-care debate assumes that everyone requires massive amounts of expensive care to stay healthy. Hadler urges that before we commit to paying for whatever pharmaceutical companies and the medical establishment tell us we need, American consumers ...more
Kim
Currently reading. In short, a book about conscious choice and a our culture becoming "medicalized." An eye-opening look at the abuse of particular treatments, medical testing,and public dependancy on what pharm companies and the medical community tell us we need. Everyone needs to read this. Can get dull at times but very informative.
Sally
Covers the same ground as "The Last Well Person," with updated data from studies. Don't read both books, since some of the material is exactly the same - word for word - in this second book. The earlier book is a bit more conversational, this one is more focused on the health care debate.
Martha
Difficult for me to read - sometimes a bit too scientific for a science-phobe like me, but overall a fascinating look at many of the "best practices" of modern medicine, and how they differ from what is objectively known.
Khankins1
These first few chapters are VERY difficult to get through. EGADS, why use 8 words when you can use 1? It's such an important message and such a terrible read. Let's hope I can get through it!
Feck
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jillian
This book makes a lot of good points about the problems with our current healthcare system.
Josh
Sep 06, 2014 Josh rated it 4 of 5 stars
Shelves: health
Eye opening views into modern medicine. I wouldn't have a surgery of any sort without researching the outcomes on my own. Hospitals are set up as profit centers instead of healing centers. Nortin's book takes an insightful look at what is happening inside the sterile walls.

P17 Coranary artery bypass graft, angioplasty, stents, stents coated with drugs. In sum, none work, but doctors keep trying to make it work. Cardiologist and cardiac surgens still have this bee in their bonnet. They talk abou
...more
Cym Lowell
This tome on the over-treated, over diagnosed, over drugged world of America is interesting. The author’s premise is that we are beset with rampant Type II Medical Malpractice – the performance of unnecessary testing, diagnosing, and prescribing. He seems to perceive that we are, as a culture, drug addicts of the first order, responding to the programmed prescription of pharmaceuticals by doctors who mindlessly follow the lead of drug companies and studies financed by the same folks. In the cour ...more
Cheryl
Not as easily comprehensible, esp. for the vulnerable in the target audience, as Rethinking Aging: Growing Old and Living Well in an Overtreated Society. However, well worth reading. Good science that busts not only alternative treatments such as homeopathy but established procedures such as angioplasty, statins, and even routine mammograms.

I've always been a skeptic, and proud of it, and I know about controlled randomized double-blind trials, placebo effect, and absolute vs. relative percentag
...more
Nancy
In some ways this is a really good book. Dr. Hadler provides information you don't see in other places about the marginal health benefits we derive from many of the tests and drugs that are recommended to us.

One good point that comes through is that companies who develop a drug desire to find "benefit" such that half the population will "need" the drug. It is a good idea to get on the internet and read about the studies that proved the benefit of any drug prescribed for you. I did that a few ye
...more
Kali
dude needs to:
1) maybe get a good massage
2) work on his "layman" tone. maybe just his tone? words he loves: fatuous (he says this soo much!), nonagerian (i'd never heard this one before, it means person in their 90's), octogenarians (you guessed in, person in their 80's). really?
3) check himself before he wrecks himself

memorable quotes
*page 143: "After all, it would not have been far-fetched to have constructed sociocultural models for the pathogenesis of pulmonary tuberculosis and AIDS were it
...more
Danielle
In this book, Hadler explains in a very snooty tone how conventional medical wisdom is totally wrong, and how doctors are intent on overtreating you to death. Maybe not an insane premise, and especially timely with today's healthcare debate, but I couldn't get past his tone. It was like he was completely astonished that you (the reader) could have been so stupid as to believe the advice of doctors. Seriously, what's wrong with you? And he just states his opinions as irrefutable facts, condemning ...more
Linda
This is for the audio version. The information in this book would benefit the general public but the book is a challenge with its technical terminology and focus on research statistical results. One is also left with the impression that the author is greatly weighed towards traditional medicine and less focused on complementary or alternative approaches that are gaining in popularity. However, the author raises excellent points about the overall efficacy of treatments or medical interventions th ...more
Irene B.
Mar 12, 2012 Irene B. rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommended to Irene by: Wash Post reviewed newest book
This book sums up what I've been thinking about how going to the doctor (unless its a specific crisis) makes you more sick and how often medical tests have caused me more problems when actually nothing was wrong with me in the first place. The author shows how all the research regarding testing and medications are actually statistical numbers games and not in the patient's best interests at all. No wonder I feel much better when I don't do what the doctors say to do! They are just in league with ...more
Laura
Well-written, thoughtful, passionate and persuasive. The author breaks ranks with many in his profession and offers viewpoints that are worthy of serious consideration both by individuals seeking optimal healthcare for themselves and for concerned citizens who care about addressing the flaws on our system. Hadler's descriptions of Americans' cultural constructs around concepts of health and illness are fascinating. Highly recommended for fans of The Spirit Level and Crazy Like Us, both of which ...more
Liz
I didn't finish the entire book because it was difficult for me to read... it is awfully technical at parts and I just never had the brainpower to get through it. BUT I tend to agree with the basic underlying assumption that we over-treat and under-care, and that we're all basically going to die around 85 anyways, so why do we put so much time, energy, and money into prolonging our lives for 1-5 years, especially at the expense of our quality of life?
Judith
Jun 18, 2009 Judith added it
Difficult scholarly style, but the information is extremely interesting. Read this if you have a chance, especially if you are a baby boomer or older. Wish the print had been a little larger.
Shirley
The most important book I've read for a long time.
Erin
Everyone needs to read this!
Marta
Marta marked it as to-read
Oct 28, 2014
Michael
Michael marked it as to-read
Oct 28, 2014
Oscar Seminario
Oscar Seminario marked it as to-read
Oct 24, 2014
Sophia Zhang
Sophia Zhang marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2014
Olivia Bruff
Olivia Bruff marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2014
Bharathy
Bharathy marked it as to-read
Sep 20, 2014
Carmen Schaefer
Carmen Schaefer marked it as to-read
Sep 13, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
The Last Well Person: How to Stay Well Despite the Health-Care System Rethinking Aging: Growing Old and Living Well in an Overtreated Society Stabbed in the Back: Confronting Back Pain in an Overtreated Society The Citizen Patient: Reforming Health Care for the Sake of the Patient, Not the System Occupational Musculoskeletal Disorders

Share This Book