Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Gryphon's Skull (Hellenic Traders, #2)” as Want to Read:
The Gryphon's Skull (Hellenic Traders, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Gryphon's Skull (Hellenic Traders #2)

3.87  ·  Rating Details ·  87 Ratings  ·  6 Reviews
In the tradition of Steven Pressfield and Mary Renault, a seafaring novel of the ancient Greeks

The vast tapestry of the Hellenic world unfolds in this stirring tale of two traders from the island of Rhodes, who range across the wind-blown face of the beautiful and treacherous Mediterranean in search of adventure and profits.

In Over the Wine-dark Sea, H. N. Turteltaub trans
...more
Paperback, 400 pages
Published December 7th 2003 by Tor Books (first published December 1st 2002)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Gryphon's Skull, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Gryphon's Skull

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Ty
May 15, 2014 Ty rated it it was ok
It sold itself well as a seafaring adventure, which I wanted to get into. But in the end...(and at the beginning), boring, really. It's billed as an adventure, but as far as I read it very little adventure showed up. A lot of talking.

What is worse, it was not interesting talking. (Which I CAN enjoy.) But the dialogue was written in such a way as to pack in as many Greek words and facts about Ancient Greece as possible. That made it sound a little absurd.

Also the characters are too "witty" by hal
...more
Burt
Jun 02, 2009 Burt rated it it was amazing
HN Turtletaub is, of course, Harry Turtledove, of alternate history fame. Under the Turtletaub name he writes historical fiction, principally the adventures of Menedemos and his cousin Sostratos, ship captain and traders on "the wine dark sea." The novels are not exactly plot-free, but they contain a wealth of information about life in the 4th century BCE. I just love them and eat up all the detail on the history of the day. I don't think many others do, but if you like this era, like to read ab ...more
Sean
Jan 05, 2016 Sean rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Stiff, expository dialogue? Check.
Awkward, unnecessary sex scenes? Check.
Four stars? Check.

If you like the ancient world, this is sweet candy. Yum. It's got ship design, lingustics, clothing design, numismatics, warfare, gender relations, comparative cuisine studies, theology, philosophy, poetics, and more.
Colin
Mar 16, 2012 Colin rated it really liked it
Shelves: junk-food-lit
The second book of a series, as enjoyable to me as the first. Turtledove is amazing in both his understanding of Hellenistic Greek culture, and his ability to convey that understanding to the reader.
Brentman99
Dec 27, 2013 Brentman99 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Those who like Harry Turtledove.
While this was a stand alone book, I wish Turtledove had made it a series. Written under his pen name, this is another good book that captures ancient history well. I enjoyed it.
Nikolay
Nikolay rated it really liked it
Apr 05, 2012
James
James rated it really liked it
Aug 30, 2015
Sean Gallagher
Sean Gallagher rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2009
Patricia
Patricia rated it liked it
Jun 26, 2009
Sanguinius
Sanguinius rated it liked it
Nov 17, 2016
Joannmpoptonline.net
Joannmpoptonline.net rated it it was amazing
Apr 10, 2015
Alan
Alan rated it it was amazing
Aug 07, 2015
Daruma
Daruma rated it liked it
Jul 30, 2010
Markus
Markus rated it liked it
Feb 02, 2016
Paul Matsi
Paul Matsi rated it liked it
Jul 06, 2012
Sotos
Sotos rated it liked it
Dec 26, 2014
Ted
Ted rated it liked it
Jan 11, 2014
Charles Hang
Charles Hang rated it really liked it
Mar 13, 2016
Loyal
Loyal rated it really liked it
Oct 07, 2016
Gemma Hammond
Gemma Hammond rated it liked it
Jan 01, 2015
Randy
Randy rated it liked it
Dec 25, 2008
Ray Latiolais
Ray Latiolais rated it really liked it
Mar 30, 2016
PhilippeO
PhilippeO rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2015
Seán Gardner
Seán Gardner rated it it was ok
Nov 24, 2009
Dennis
Dennis rated it really liked it
Aug 03, 2011
Bill Sullivan
Bill Sullivan rated it really liked it
Aug 03, 2011
Kathryn Baron
Kathryn Baron rated it liked it
Nov 13, 2013
Geri F
Geri F rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2015
Chang
Chang rated it it was ok
Sep 03, 2013
Ms Thraxan
Ms Thraxan rated it it was amazing
Feb 08, 2012
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other Books in the Series

Hellenic Traders (4 books)
  • Over the Wine-Dark Sea (Hellenic Traders, #1)
  • The Sacred Land (Hellenic Traders, #3)
  • Owls to Athens (Hellenic Traders, #4)

Share This Book