Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “This Family Life” as Want to Read:
This Family Life
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

This Family Life

by
3.98  ·  Rating Details ·  176 Ratings  ·  12 Reviews
The hilarious and heart warming sequel to the top ten Kindle best seller This Thirtysomething Life. Perfect for fans of Mike Gayle, Matt Dunn and David Nicholls.


SYNOPSIS


Things that might happen during your first year of parenthood:

1. You’ll get covered in a ‘nuclear’ poo.
2. You’ll be convinced your son is talking with a Japanese accent.
3. You’ll worry that when your s
...more
Kindle Edition, 275 pages
Published June 28th 2014
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about This Family Life, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about This Family Life

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Martina
Sep 16, 2016 Martina rated it really liked it
Shelves: humorous
This book leaves you with a smile on your face - whether it's because of the cheesy happy ending, the times the book makes you laugh out loud or the "Britishness" of it. At first, I didn't like the book at all - mostly because of Rance's style of writing - but this quickly turned around. There's so much happening in the book and you feel like you can't put it down - you're just too excited about what will happen next! After finishing this, I am actually thinking about reading the first part of ...more
Jules (Never enough time to read)
The book wasn't terrible by any means it just wasn't for me.
Judy
Nov 03, 2016 Judy rated it liked it
If you like British comedies, you will probably like this story in diary form of a man in his early thirties living in Wimbledon and coping with being a parent for the first time. Much of his experience with his new son is familiar, but told in his own unique way (nuclear poo, the baby that speaks in Japanese before English, the wave that looks like a Hitler salute). His relationship with his parents and parents-in-law are equally amusing. Even his attempt at marriage therapy with his ...more
Lisa
Nov 22, 2016 Lisa rated it it was amazing
Brilliant,as always :-)
Marina
Jul 05, 2014 Marina rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Original review is posted on This Chick Reads

Last year I accidentally ran into This Twentysomething Life, a short story that I totally enjoyed. The story was about a guy in his twenties and his point of view on life, job, dating, relationships, family, everything. It was such a fun and humorous read, it took me less than an hour to finish it and I didn’t stop giggling while reading it.

One year later, I received an ARC for This Family Life, and was thrilled to get the opportunity to read more f
...more
Book-shelf Shelf
Jul 10, 2014 Book-shelf Shelf rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a brilliantly funny follow up to 'This Thirty something Life'. IN this book we have the addition of William, Harry and Emily's son. William has started growing up and harry tells us all about it, along with stories of the grandparents and best friends/neighbours next door.

Harry puts everything into his diary and we get it first hand. The laughs just keep coming and Jon hasn't changed the characters from the first book. We can all relate to them, be it from a male point of view or a pare
...more
Honeypie
Mar 16, 2015 Honeypie rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2015
Jon Rance writes funny. His experiences of being a dad, and still as husband are so funny and light, and somehow gives justice to English men, whom I read about. Harhar.

---

The stench of middle-age wafts pungently around the Spencer household.

Something else that’s wafting pungently around the house is William’s nappy. He just did something evil in it.
Isabella
Feb 12, 2016 Isabella rated it it was amazing
If you have read This thirtysomething life, you can't miss this sequel.
If you haven't, well, you can read This family life first, and then you'll be wanting to know how this family was created.
I have read all Jon's books, and I loved them all.
This is no exception.
So amusing!
The perfect Summer read.
Heather Hill
Jul 23, 2014 Heather Hill rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Absolutely hilarious read. There aren't too many books that can claim to be a laugh on every page, but this classic comedy from Jon Rance is truly funny. It's refreshing to read romcom from a male point of view too. Highly enjoyable!
Pamela Fellows
Aug 09, 2016 Pamela Fellows rated it really liked it
Well written and enjoyable.

Easy to read, funny and brought back memories of early parenthood. Good cast of characters, will look out for his next book.
Dj Acrey
Jan 01, 2016 Dj Acrey rated it it was amazing
Great Read!!

A real life glimpse of the first year with a child and family, with love, drama and laughs included. enjoyed it!!
Donna Starling
Donna Starling rated it it was amazing
Aug 16, 2016
Cindy Blomquist
Cindy Blomquist rated it liked it
Feb 08, 2016
Mrs Kathy Murdoch
Mrs Kathy Murdoch rated it it was amazing
Nov 17, 2016
PixieDuster
PixieDuster rated it liked it
Nov 26, 2015
Avidreader
Avidreader rated it it was ok
Nov 03, 2015
Catherine Scott
Catherine Scott rated it liked it
Jul 28, 2016
Denise Teutenberg
Denise Teutenberg rated it liked it
Nov 19, 2016
Allison Kelly
Allison Kelly rated it really liked it
Sep 04, 2016
Ailsa Britain
Ailsa Britain rated it it was amazing
Jun 16, 2016
Brenda A. Bigelow
Brenda A. Bigelow rated it liked it
Jan 10, 2016
Kirsty Branson
Kirsty Branson rated it really liked it
Nov 20, 2016
Vaibhav
Vaibhav rated it it was amazing
Feb 17, 2016
Richard W Stevens
Richard W Stevens rated it liked it
Mar 29, 2016
James E Wilson
James E Wilson rated it it was amazing
Jun 15, 2016
rebecca williamson
rebecca williamson rated it really liked it
Feb 20, 2016
Aisling Martin
Aisling Martin rated it it was ok
May 20, 2016
MRS JILLIAN M JAMES
MRS JILLIAN M JAMES rated it liked it
Sep 25, 2016
Julie
Julie rated it it was amazing
Sep 27, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Misbehaving in Miami (Summer Flings #2)
  • Valentine's Day at the Star and Sixpence (short story)
  • The Game (No Greater Love)
  • Crazygirl Falls In Love
  • A Groom with a View
  • 183 Times a Year
  • Wonder Women
  • Jimmy Jazz
  • Your Room Or Mine? (Do Not Disturb #1)
  • Christmas Without Holly
  • Dead Eyed (DCI Michael Lambert, #1)
  • Mindsight
  • Stay at Home
  • My Granny Writes Erotica (The Original Quickie)
  • PICTURES OF YOU: a gripping psychological suspense thriller
  • Orla's Code
  • White Christmas
  • The Torn Up Marriage
5896066
Jon Rance is the author of four novels: the Kindle top ten bestseller, This Thirtysomething Life, Happy Endings (both published by Hodder and Stoughton), This Family Life and Sunday Dinners. He's also the author of the short story prequel, This Twentysomething Life and the Christmas novella, A Notting Hill Christmas. His fifth novel, Dan And Nat Got Married, will be published this October.

Jon stu
...more
More about Jon Rance...

Share This Book



“Children change us, or maybe it’s our love for them that changes us. They melt us, and all the things that seemed a bit naff and annoying before, we see with new eyes; the eyes of a parent.” 0 likes
“Grandad always went on about the good old days. I loved that about him. The funny thing is though, we don’t really know when we’re in the good old days. It seems impossible to know at an exact moment that it’s something special. You can be happy, you can know that a particular time is important, but you never know if it’s the good old days until it’s gone.” 0 likes
More quotes…