Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Great Cat Nap” as Want to Read:
The Great Cat Nap
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Great Cat Nap

by
0.0  ·  Rating Details ·  0 Ratings  ·  0 Reviews
Ace is a hard-core newspaper reporter. He's tenacious, confident, and assertive. He's also a cat. When the famous show cat Ruby the Russian goes missing, Ace is on the story. But he bites off more than he can chew when he agrees to play detective and find the prize-winning cat, believed to have been kidnapped by animal smugglers. Calling on his feline friends, a few dogs, ...more
ebook
Published October 28th 2014 by Smashwords Edition (first published December 1st 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Great Cat Nap, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Great Cat Nap

Community Reviews

(showing 1-27)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Bradley Sides
Nov 12, 2014 Bradley Sides rated it really liked it
She’s beautiful. She’s charming. She’s a star. But there’s this thing: Ruby the Russian is missing. Oh, and there is something else you should know: she’s a cat. A.M. Bostwick takes the standard detective novel and creates something fun and new in her adventurous debut Middle Grade novel, The Great Cat Nap.

The premise of The Great Cat Nap is straightforward, yet inventive. Ace, a modest, cool-guy kind of cat, is a journalist at a Wisconsin newspaper, The Daily Reporter, and he also happens to be
...more
Melissa Lenhardt
Oct 20, 2014 Melissa Lenhardt rated it it was amazing


Take a clever, determined reporter who moonlights as a detective, a sidekick who spends most of his time flirting with the ladies, a kidnapped beauty, and a host of lowlifes who just might hold the key to unlocking the case and what do you have? You have The Great Cat-Nap, a delightful middle-grade mystery in the vein of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett. With cats. Yes, you read that right. Cats. And really, what better animal to have as a stand in for Sam Spade than a slick, black cat with
...more
Nikki Bennett
Oct 08, 2014 Nikki Bennett rated it liked it
I did enjoy this book. I liked the cats' very human characteristics, and the hijinks they get into. Ace and his friends are off to solve the mystery of a missing show cat. Was she stolen? Ran away? Ace is determined to find out, and many of his adventures are fun to read.

The first half of the book is mostly Ace chasing down leads, most of which don't seem to go anywhere. So it takes a while to get to any real action and danger. I think the book could have been made a little stronger by introduci
...more
Alice
Alice rated it it was amazing
Feb 20, 2015
Anna Hess
Jun 29, 2015 Anna Hess rated it it was amazing
Garfield's Sam Spayed meets your average housecat --- great read that's sure to bring laughs!
A.M. Bostwick
Apr 14, 2014 A.M. Bostwick rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Anna Hess
Anna Hess rated it it was amazing
Jan 13, 2014
A.M. Bostwick
Feb 04, 2016 A.M. Bostwick rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Cornerstone Press
Cornerstone Press rated it it was amazing
Sep 18, 2015
Ella Zegarra
Ella Zegarra marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2014
Arshia
Arshia added it
Oct 04, 2014
Jonelle
Jonelle marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2014
Sarah
Sarah marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2014
Jon Speilburg
Jon Speilburg marked it as to-read
Oct 20, 2014
Michele
Michele marked it as to-read
Oct 21, 2014
Debra Akageorge
Debra Akageorge marked it as to-read
Oct 25, 2014
Romina
Romina marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2015
Jack Pan
Jack Pan marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2015
Donna
Donna marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2015
Roeden
Roeden marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2015
Raymond Stone
Raymond Stone marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2015
Raymond Stone
Raymond Stone marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2015
Kelly
Kelly marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2015
Kelly
Kelly marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2015
Faith
Faith added it
Jan 21, 2016
Kelly
Kelly marked it as to-read
May 03, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
7740933
A.M. Bostwick writes Middle Grade and Young Adult novels. Her debut middle grade novel, The Great Cat Nap, earned the 2014 Tofte/Wright Children's Literature Award from the Council for Wisconsin Writers. It also earned the Moonbeam Children's Award Bronze Medal in the Pre-Teen Fiction category. The sequel and standalone, The Clawed Monet, hit the shelves in 2016. Her young adult novel, Break the ...more
More about A.M. Bostwick...

Share This Book