Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “George Balanchine's the Nutcracker” as Want to Read:
George Balanchine's the Nutcracker
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

George Balanchine's the Nutcracker

4.16  ·  Rating Details ·  49 Ratings  ·  7 Reviews
PUBLISHING EVENT OF THE FIRST ORDER, this exquisite volume brings together the work of two undisputed masters: George Balanchine, the choreographer who changed the course of modern ballet, and Joel Meyerowitz, whose luminous work (collected in such classics as Cape Light) places him in the forefront of American photography. Balanchine's definitive version of Tke Nutcracker ...more
Hardcover, 156 pages
Published August 15th 2003 by Barnes & Noble Books (first published November 1st 1993)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about George Balanchine's the Nutcracker, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about George Balanchine's the Nutcracker

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Teri
Nov 30, 2016 Teri rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: christmas, 2016
Photography of the New York City Ballets performance of the Nutcracker. The story is told along with the photos. It is well done and my daughter and I enjoyed it immensely. I noticed Godpapa Drosselmeier's nephew is Macaulay Culkin. I asked my daughter if she recognized him and she said,"He's in Home Alone." I had no idea "Kevin" had been a ballet dancer. Now, that is some fun holiday trivia.;) This would be a great book to prep children (and adults) before a Nutcracker performance. One more not ...more
Jeremiah
Feb 19, 2009 Jeremiah rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kids-books
My daughter became entranced by the Nutcracker when she was two, and four years later she still loves it-especially the performance this book is based on. Now this book has both the soundtrack and it's filled with scenes from the same performance. By love, love it, be whisked off to a front row seat every time.
Josette
Dec 05, 2008 Josette rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book comes w/ a CD of the music. My children love to listen to the music while they look at the book and recall scenes from the live ballet.
Lauri Meyers
May 26, 2012 Lauri Meyers rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Really quite lovely. My children and I love to read it over and over again. Wonderful way to introduce children to the ballet.
TJ
Feb 21, 2016 TJ rated it really liked it
Loved this book, perfect combination of the Nutcracker with beautiful illustrations from the ballet performance. Also includes the CD, couldn't ask for more.
Melissa
Melissa rated it really liked it
Jan 19, 2014
Karin
Karin rated it really liked it
Mar 30, 2013
Katie Rodemich
Katie Rodemich rated it it was amazing
Feb 09, 2012
Covenant Presbyterian Springfield Ohio
Call Number: J Hol MEY

Available.
Michele
Michele rated it it was amazing
Dec 28, 2012
Faith-Anne
Faith-Anne rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2008
Vickie Weisser
Vickie Weisser rated it liked it
Oct 30, 2008
Christi
Christi rated it it was amazing
Jul 07, 2012
Amara
Amara rated it really liked it
Jun 19, 2016
Laina
Laina rated it liked it
Nov 17, 2015
Shelby
Shelby rated it it was amazing
Jun 23, 2012
Katy Ann
Katy Ann rated it it was amazing
Nov 04, 2015
Amy
Amy rated it it was ok
Dec 27, 2012
Sarah
Sarah rated it it was amazing
Nov 16, 2016
Leslie
Leslie rated it it was amazing
Jan 19, 2017
Gabrielle Munoz
Gabrielle Munoz rated it liked it
Jan 21, 2017
Essan
Essan rated it really liked it
Nov 30, 2013
Heather
Heather rated it liked it
Mar 03, 2009
V.J. Lopez
V.J. Lopez rated it it was amazing
Dec 29, 2016
Anna
Anna rated it it was amazing
May 26, 2016
Lauren
Lauren rated it it was amazing
Dec 11, 2016
Katherine
Katherine rated it it was amazing
Dec 25, 2012
Karla Pineda
Karla Pineda rated it really liked it
Mar 27, 2014
Jordan
Jordan rated it it was amazing
Oct 08, 2009
Grace
Grace rated it really liked it
Nov 20, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Joel Meyerowitz is an award-winning photographer whose work has appeared in over 350 exhibitions in museums and galleries around the world. He was born in New York in 1938 and began photographing in 1962. Meyerowitz is a “street photographer” in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank, although he works exclusively in color. As an early advocate of color photography (early-60’s) he ...more
More about Joel Meyerowitz...

Share This Book