City of Glass: Doug Coupland's Vancouver
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

City of Glass: Doug Coupland's Vancouver

3.82 of 5 stars 3.82  ·  rating details  ·  616 ratings  ·  33 reviews
Eclectic and provocative, this book, designed to resemble a Japanese underground zine, looks at Vancouver from inside out, from the Grouse Grind to the shimmering glass towers, First Nations to feng-shui. Douglas Coupland takes on monster houses, weather, Sandra Bernhard, Love Boats, SkyTrain, fleece, that endless rivalry with Seattle, and even includes a short story about...more
Paperback, 152 pages
Published May 1st 2003 by Douglas & McIntyre (first published April 1st 2003)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
Snow Falling on Cedars by David GutersonSometimes a Great Notion by Ken KeseyThe Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman AlexieThe Brothers K by David James DuncanHotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford
Pacific Northwest Books
77th out of 459 books — 275 voters
Anne of Green Gables by L.M. MontgomeryThe Shipping News by Annie ProulxAlias Grace by Margaret AtwoodThe Blind Assassin by Margaret AtwoodThe Deptford Trilogy by Robertson Davies
Oh, Canada!
265th out of 463 books — 172 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 1,166)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Paul Eckert
I read this in preparation for a vacation in Vancouver, and I’m glad I did. As usual, Coupland is a master at social and cultural interpretation, only this time he applies his skills to his hometown of Vancouver.

In a style similar to that of Souvenir of Canada, Coupland writes short essays on subjects which are accompanied by pertinent photography. City of Glass riffs on everything Vancouver, from the lax marijuana laws and abundance of inter-racial marriages to Stanley Park and the ‘see-throug...more
Jayme
Oct 13, 2009 Jayme rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of Vancouver and Douglas Coupland
Shelves: travel
This is a weird little non-fiction piece by one of my favourite authors. Written by pretty much anyone else there is no way I would have picked it up. But, being a fan of both Vancouver (my home) and Douglas Coupland how could I not love this.

This book basically describes all of the things that Coupland himself loves about Vancouver. It's a really quick, fun read and gives you a good insiders view of Vancouver. I learned that Douglas Coupland and I both have the same favourite bridge...awesome!...more
Amanda Bolderston
Douglas Coupland and Vancouver go together like Margaret Atwood and Toronto, Stephen King and Maine, John Steinbeck and California (you get the picture...) This is a witty and thought provoking "guide" to Coupland's beloved city from which I learned:
1. Never call it Van (there is East, North and West Van but saying "Van" is like calling Portland "Portl"!
2. In 1998 a Grinder from Ontario (doing the Grouse Grind) was buried in an avalanche and the terrain was too perilous to dig him out so his fro...more
Myles
Hmph. Coupland wrote and captured loving portraits of his country in Souvenir of Canada and to a lesser extent in Souvenir of Canada 2 all the while avoiding the vapid treacleness implied by their titles.

City of Glass is not so fortunate. Between the pleasing design of the cover there is a scattered collection of vignettes that don't come together in any way to form a cohesive picture. Souvenir of Canada 2 showed signs of Coupland being tapped out, but nothing in City of Glass rises above brochu...more
Yuri Artibise
City of Glass reminds Vancouverites why we live here, and tells guests why they should visit. It is the book you leave in the guest bedroom to inspire and delight out-of-towners.

It's brochure like quality starts with the books physical form. City of Glass is bright and colorful—reminiscent of a sunny day in the city. Its cover is even colored in the omnipresent green and blue of Vancouver’s branding.

The title of the book comes from Vancouver’s large number of skyscrapers with glass or mirror f...more
Jessica
This is Douglas Coupland's highly personal take on all the little things that make Vancouver Vancouver -- fleece vests and Teva sandals, Japanese teenage girl fashion, BC Ferry food, old British ladies, the sulphur heaps, Stanley Park, leaky condos.... As someone who got to know Vancouver only as an adult, introduced by my husband who grew up there (and is a Genxer too), it strikes me that Coupland is describing his generation's take on the city with amazing accuracy and clarity. It's illustrate...more
Trin
Coupland juxtaposes a city's quest for identity with the twentysomething's personal quest: it's all muddled and confused now, and sometimes it's even awful, but there's SO MUCH hope for the future. I really like seeing Vancouver (where I've never been, sadly) through Coupland's eyes. This is not a guidebook, but a personal tour by a somewhat funky (and therefore, awesome) friend who shows you patchwork pieces of the place which can then be made into the tapestry of your choosing. Mine has a lot...more
Drew
Jul 23, 2007 Drew rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: travellers
Shelves: nonfiction
Douglas Coupland is nothing if not a British Columbian. Here, he produces a travel guide for his hometown unlike anything you've ever read. There are candid memories alongside the tourist traps and demographic descriptions. There's even a fictional story about a couple of aging punk rockers, set in Vancouver. Highly enjoyable, and short enough it can be read in a day or two. Although, a greater number of stories wouldn't diminish the work at all.
Dan
I think the books best attribute might be its potential to spark discussion. As a British Columbian who's spent a bit less than a year in the city, I find the city very over-rated and its image very narcissistic, but I still enjoyed Coupland's ode to the city he clearly loves. Definitely interesting to contrast his views with mine, although I was probably particularly forgiving, since I love his fiction.
Kate
Just moved to the area and got this book as a birthday present from a close friend. It was great to learn more about my new home from Douglas Coupland himself. A series of short, quirky, and honest essays from someone who loves Vancouver and the surrounding area. Highly recommend it to anyone who lives in the Metro Vancouver area, visits often, or is thinking of stopping by.
Scott
I've been taken to task for saying I "read" books like this. This book is 75% pictures, which is why i bought it. The author is from Vancouver, and this book is essentially a tribute to Vancouver. The book tells about Vancouver and its traits, highlights, etc. It is a place i have always wanted to visit, and i still do.
Miki
I found this book extremely funny after living in Vancouver for a year. Coupland captures my love and frustration with this place with his dry and sarcastic wit. I wouldn't really recommend this book for anyone who hasn't visited the city though.
Keith
Crucial complement to any travel/tour book of the city. I try to mail a copy to all of my visitors. Blog-style but thoughtful short pieces on carefully chosen--and equally carefully observed--elements of the city make up its personality.
Katie
witty & interesting, but not so much if you're not very familiar with or don't give a damn about vancouver. though that is not to say the former shouldn't read it.. i would still suggest it to people interested in the city.
Adam Hodgins
I read this while I was in Vancouver which made it even more interesting, if you're planning on visiting you should pick it up for sure. It made me think a lot about what would be in an equivalent book about Ottawa.
Adam Humphreys
I bought this on amazon whilst homesick for Vancouver - seems like a money grab type thing from Coupland. Nothing serious or interesting in the book - the tone is mostly like an ironic travel guide.
Brian
A perfect portrayal of Vancouver. At least it seemed that way; I've only been in the city for a year, and this book showed me much that was new to me. Fun read, good wit, interesting photographs.
Kate Jongbloed
I love Douglas Coupland's look into his surroundings. This book and Made in Canada hit my feelings about my country and my current city right on the head.
Jazzy
Sep 17, 2007 Jazzy rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: anyone who wants to/knows about vancouver
Shelves: essays
some people hate vancouver, some people love vancouver.
Coupland captures reasons for both. amazing photos and narrative.
Beck
Coupland's irreverent homage to his hometown, with some great photos. Captures the spirit of the place, I think.
Sarah
Picked this up at my library to prepare for a trip to Vancouver. An honest and brilliantly written book.
Valerie
Great book to read when going to Vancouver, BC. Vancouver's version of "Fugitives and Refugees".
Gregory
Looove this. Quick read. Classic Coupland. Perfect if you're planning a visit to Vancouver.
Cherie
He writes so beautifully; if he wrote copy for a toilet paper ad, I'd drool all over it.
Amber
I read this book on the plane ride home from BC. The very best time to read it.
Megan
I really want to go to Vancouver.
And Douglas Coupland is pretty funny.
Katie
Could be the inspiration for a road trip down the coast.
Nancy
Funny, as a Vancouver resident, I enjoyed it.
Brian Gifford
Jan 04, 2009 Brian Gifford marked it as to-read
About Vancouver looks good
Mila
awesome look at Vancouver
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 38 39 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Transmedia Investment 1 2 Feb 06, 2013 11:03AM  
  • Stanley Park
  • How to Be a Canadian
  • The Pornographer's Poem
  • Luck
  • Great Streets
  • On a Cold Road: Tales of Adventure in Canadian Rock
  • Vinyl Cafe Diaries
  • The 100-Mile Diet: A Year of Local Eating
  • Wrestling with Moses: How Jane Jacobs Took On New York's Master Builder and Transformed the American City
  • The Town That Drowned
  • Summer of My Amazing Luck
  • The Mapmakers
  • The Rough Guide First-Time Around the World: A Trip Planner for the Ultimate Journey
  • A Whale for the Killing
  • The Slow Fix
  • Paddle to the Amazon: The Ultimate 12,000-Mile Canoe Adventure
  • Trans-Human (Post-Human, #3)
  • Survival: A Thematic Guide to Canadian Literature
1886
Douglas Coupland is Canadian, born on a Canadian Air Force base near Baden-Baden, Germany, on December 30, 1961. In 1965 his family moved to Vancouver, Canada, where he continues to live and work. Coupland has studied art and design in Vancouver, Canada, Milan, Italy and Sapporo, Japan. His first novel, Generation X, was published in March of 1991. Since then he has published nine novels and sever...more
More about Douglas Coupland...
Microserfs Generation X: Tales for an Accelerated Culture Girlfriend in a Coma JPod Hey Nostradamus!

Share This Book