Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Beloved” as Want to Read:
Beloved
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Beloved

3.81  ·  Rating Details  ·  224 Ratings  ·  14 Reviews
Fans of Nora Roberts, LaVyrle Spencer and Kristin Hannah will enjoy this story -- humorous, heartwarming and suspenseful -- by RITA-award winning author Antoinette Stockenberg.

A COTTAGE BY THE SEA: it's a dream come true for Jane Drew. Too bad it comes with a ghost -- and a soulfully seductive neighbor who would just as soon boot Jane off the island.

When you're seriously u
...more
Mass Market Paperback, 400 pages
Published September 5th 1993 by Dell (first published 1993)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Beloved, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Beloved

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 379)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Pattianne
Jan 16, 2014 Pattianne rated it liked it
Beloved - New England Shore Stories - (Mac and Jane) - A COTTAGE BY THE SEA: it's a dream come true for Jane Drew. Too bad it comes with a ghost -- and a soulfully seductive neighbor who would just as soon boot Jane off the island.

When you're seriously unattached and recently unemployed, the inheritance of a cottage on Nantucket Island might seem like a really Good Thing. The fact that the house is ramshackle and possibly haunted? Mere details. Jane Drew never actually believed the neighbors' mu
...more
Teon
Jun 04, 2015 Teon rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A pleasant book.

This was my first book by this author, she did a magnificent job of describing the island and community of Nantucket. Her story was somewhat slow paced and had a realistic development of the romantic relationship. Meaning it wasn't love at first sight, in bed by noon, and married by Friday. The paranormal component was light and not off putting.
Jeanie
Jun 26, 2015 Jeanie rated it liked it
This was a quick, but enjoyable light read. I mostly enjoyed the bits about restoring an older home and the main characters effort to do it herself. That resonated with me. Just the perfect book for a light afternoon or two read. Especially imagining the cool of Nantucket in the heat of California.
Karen
May 31, 2015 Karen rated it really liked it
I continue to love Antoinette Stockenberg novels. This one was a great escape for me and I like the main characters so much I didn't want to put it down. She is good at making you wait for what you want to happen...and for finding out what the mystery is all about. It's a quick and easy read and would be a great beach read.
Kristin
I haven't read this author in a long time. This was a quick read with a predictable plot. It was still enjoyable though and kept me engrossed.
Carey
Jun 07, 2015 Carey rated it liked it
It has its moments.
Lee Anne
Sep 06, 2012 Lee Anne rated it liked it
I liked it. It was very drawn out though. 1600 pages on my nook. It could have used a bit more suspense. One of the main relationships was borderline annoying...very back and forth. Just went back and forth too many times. I loved the setting, loved the house, loved the historical references, loved the mystery and paranormal references.
Nanci de Suffren
Jul 06, 2011 Nanci de Suffren rated it really liked it
I knew what the ending would be but it was fun getting there. This story had very little paranormal and a lot of fun romance. I enjoy getting lost in this kind of story. The twists and turns, back and forth between characters was fun.
Brooke
Sep 04, 2012 Brooke rated it really liked it
A bit of paranormal mystery woven around a modern day romance between a couple of stubborn, strong willed characters. A fun read!
Michele
Oct 31, 2012 Michele rated it did not like it
I bought the wrong "Beloved". Silly mistake.

The romance lovers will undoubtedly be in heaven.

I was not.
Sharon
Sep 12, 2012 Sharon rated it it was amazing
another good one from Antoinette Stockenberg... I really enjoy her books.
Lisa Rick
Feb 16, 2013 Lisa Rick rated it liked it
A paranormal romance that was a bit too long at times.
Lynn Pembroke
Jul 03, 2013 Lynn Pembroke rated it really liked it
An author I had never tried. I really liked it.
Teresa
Dec 14, 2008 Teresa added it
quick read...cute
Vicki
Vicki marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2016
Darcy
Darcy marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2016
Lara Wiebe
Lara Wiebe marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2016
bob williams
bob williams rated it it was amazing
Jun 17, 2016
Josephine
Josephine marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2016
Nancy
Nancy marked it as to-read
May 24, 2016
Sonja
Sonja rated it it was amazing
May 13, 2016
nancy carter
nancy carter rated it it was ok
May 06, 2016
Kellie Demarsh
Kellie Demarsh marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2016
Debbie Cervantes
Debbie Cervantes marked it as to-read
Mar 13, 2016
Linda Burdiss
Linda Burdiss rated it it was amazing
Mar 11, 2016
Carolyn Glass
Carolyn Glass is currently reading it
Mar 01, 2016
Liz
Liz marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2016
Sharon
Sharon rated it liked it
Feb 26, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 12 13 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Midnight on Julia Street (Time Travel, #1)
  • The Haunted Fixer Upper (Haunted Renovation Mystery, #2)
  • Scandalous Lovers (The Men and Women's Club, #1)
  • The Devil's Cradle (Kendall O'Dell #2)
  • THE LETTER (Kellie Conley Mystery, #1)
  • Murder, Mayhem And Mama
  • Dead People in Love (Haunted Hearts #1.5)
  • No Matter What
  • The Ice Cradle
  • Darker than Dark
  • Land's End  (Lowcountry Suspense #1)
  • Mass Murder (Giorgio Salvatori, #1)
  • Edwardian Cooking: 80 Recipes Inspired by Downton Abbey's Elegant Meals
  • Dunstable Park House-A Victorian Time Travel Romance
  • Dark Passing
  • Reign of Silence
  • The Story of Us
  • Castle Juliet

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »