Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Wheels Within Wheels (The LaNague Federation, #2)” as Want to Read:
Wheels Within Wheels (The LaNague Federation, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Wheels Within Wheels (The LaNague Federation #2)

by
3.86  ·  Rating Details  ·  179 Ratings  ·  16 Reviews
Canny old Pete Paxton thinks there's a monstrous conspiracy brewing that threatens the LaNague Charter and the freedoms it guarantees for Federation planets. The only way to head it off is to enlist the aid of Josephine "Jo" Finch, the current CEO of Interstellar Business Advisors, a firm Pete co-founded with Jo's grandfather more than half-a-century before. Jo mistrusts P ...more
Paperback, 224 pages
Published November 1st 2005 by Infrapress (first published 1978)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Wheels Within Wheels, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Wheels Within Wheels

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 360)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Stephen
3.5 stars. I am a fan of F. Paul Wilson in general and his LaNague Federation novels in particular. This is another really good installment in the LaNague series though I did not like it quite as much as the previous two, An Enemy of the State and Healer. This is probably because both An Enemy of the State and Healer had main characters that I really, really liked. Enemy introduced Peter LaNague, the man behind the LaNague Federation and dealt with economics and monetary theory. Healer had Steve ...more
Lisa (Harmonybites)
Apr 27, 2013 Lisa (Harmonybites) rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Space Opera and Libertarian Sci-fi
Recommended to Lisa (Harmonybites) by: Prometheus Award
I don't think you have to be a libertarian to like this book, but it helps. F. Paul Wilson is best known for his horror fiction, particularly his bestselling vampires-among-the-Nazis, The Keep. I rather enjoyed that pot-boiler, but I like his LaNague novels much more--but then I am a libertarian. This first of the LaNague books, An Enemy of the State, deals with a favorite theme of science fiction--a interstellar empire. Enter Peter LaNague and down with the empire, up with the Federation. It's ...more
Tobey
May 20, 2011 Tobey rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kindle, 2011
This is my second LaNague Federation book but my 'nth F. Paul Wilson book. I really stepped out of the box with this one as Sci/Fi is really not in my comfort zone and after reading the first LaNague book, I wasn't excited for this one.

I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed this book much much more than the first LaNague book that I read. I was really able to connect to the characters (the humans, that is) and the story was very interesting with a few twists thrown in!
David
May 06, 2011 David rated it liked it
Shelves:
I read most of the stories that make up this book, many, many years ago, so long that I don't remember much about them. I mean to read it again, because every time I look at the magazine cover for the title story (nice piece by John Schoenherr, best of the realist artists working in the SF field in the 1960s & 70s), I remember how much I liked the story.
Shreela
May 24, 2008 Shreela rated it it was amazing
Shelves: scifi
My favorite FPW scifi other than Dydeetown, and of course the Repairman Jack series.

Wheels within Wheels, Healer, An Enemy of the State, and Lanague Chronicles are all from the same world, but IIRC, they can be read in any order.
Kristin
Sep 21, 2011 Kristin rated it really liked it
This doesn't start off or even really address anything from book 1 of the series. I enjoyed The Healer immenseley so that was a bit of a let down but if you can look at it as an independent story, it's a great story in it's own right.
Kallierose
Apr 10, 2010 Kallierose rated it liked it
I enjoyed this book, although not quite as much as the other two I've read by this author. Don't know why. Maybe it was the plot/subject matter. Anyway, it was still a good read.
CK
Apr 12, 2010 CK rated it liked it
A bit over-the-top compared to Wilson's other "libertarian" books (even the author admits it in the foreword). Still an enjoyable story!
Kellie
Nov 17, 2008 Kellie rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: sci-fi readers, F. Paul Wilson fans, politico fans
A sci-fi politico. It's about aliens the way Animal Farm is about farm animals, and Fahrenheit 451 is about firemen. I liked it.
Jacki Morris
Feb 19, 2013 Jacki Morris rated it really liked it
I wouldn't call this book a thriller. However it's enjoyable and clever.
Whitaker
Dec 10, 2010 Whitaker rated it liked it
A really great book shows us how love is great and worth to die for
David Wogahn
May 29, 2013 David Wogahn rated it liked it
Good story but I've enjoyed his other books more.
Ron
Aug 25, 2012 Ron rated it really liked it
Fun libertarian sci-fi.
Marty
May 18, 2010 Marty rated it liked it
ok. not great.
Angelica
Angelica marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2016
Peter Tillman
Peter Tillman rated it liked it
Jul 04, 2016
Cheryl
Cheryl marked it as to-read
May 28, 2016
Muffie
Muffie marked it as to-read
May 26, 2016
Kirk
Kirk marked it as to-read
May 20, 2016
1dkm
1dkm added it
May 19, 2016
Ifonly
Ifonly rated it liked it
May 14, 2016
Choirsoftheeye
Choirsoftheeye marked it as to-read
May 04, 2016
Ryan Bleibtrey
Ryan Bleibtrey marked it as to-read
Apr 28, 2016
Ty Whisenhunt
Ty Whisenhunt marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2016
Kevin Evans
Kevin Evans marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Fun with Your New Head
  • The Humanoid Touch (Humanoids, #2)
  • Naked to the Stars
  • The Tunnel Under the World
  • The Paradox Men
  • A Trace of Memory
  • The Dragon Masters
  • The Gentle Giants of Ganymede (Giants, #2)
  • Low Flying Aircraft And Other Stories
  • Night Walk
  • Earth Has Been Found
  • All the Colors of Darkness
  • THX 1138
  • The Black Mountains (Empire of the East, #2)
  • Star Hunt (Star Wolf, #1)
  • The Wandering Unicorn
  • Can You Feel Anything When I Do This?
  • Birth of Fire
20561
Francis Paul Wilson is an author, born in Jersey City, New Jersey. He writes novels and short stories primarily in the science fiction and horror genres. His debut novel was Healer (1976). Wilson is also a part-time practicing family physician. He made his first sales in 1970 to Analog and continued to write science fiction throughout the seventies. In 1981 he ventured into the horror genre with t ...more
More about F. Paul Wilson...

Other Books in the Series

The LaNague Federation (5 books)
  • An Enemy of the State (The LaNague Federation, #1)
  • Healer (The LaNague Federation, #3)
  • Dydeetown World (The LaNague Federation, #4)
  • The Tery (The LaNague Federation #5)

Share This Book