Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “How Not to Get Rich: Or Why Being Bad Off Isn't So Bad” as Want to Read:
How Not to Get Rich: Or Why Being Bad Off Isn't So Bad
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

How Not to Get Rich: Or Why Being Bad Off Isn't So Bad

by
3.14  ·  Rating Details ·  43 Ratings  ·  9 Reviews
In the tradition of James Thurber and E.B. White, How Not to Get Rich is a timely spoof filled with witty instructions on how to avoid the perilous path toward millionaire-dom.

"Large numbers of Americans are becoming rich every day, and by rich I mean loaded, as in loaded to the gills. You could soon be one of them. On the other hand, you might not be one of them, for a nu
...more
Hardcover, 96 pages
Published September 5th 2005 by Bloomsbury USA
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about How Not to Get Rich, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about How Not to Get Rich

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 95)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Kirsten
Mar 23, 2011 Kirsten rated it it was amazing
Like the Reggie Watts of books: I was pleasantly surprised as I expected this to be just another piece for grazing. Yes, true, the substance might be lighthearted (or is it?), but I would argue that the execution is pretty genius. I would invent some sort of new stylistic category to place it in- the sentences fold over themselves and the train of thought zigzags in such a unique way- it is intelligent chaos which requires some concerted effort since it’s an exercise as much as it’s entertaining ...more
Kevin
Sep 28, 2012 Kevin rated it did not like it
I don't know if this book is supposed to be a joke (it isn't funny) or a parody of get-rich books (moderately successful at that, I guess), but I found it crass and poorly written. I had high hopes, as I like Robert Sullivan's other books, and thought this might be some kind of philosophical look into affluenza and the benefits of a moderate life. Alas, being bad off may not be so bad, but this book is. One of the worst books I've read in a long while.
Mark
Dec 29, 2007 Mark rated it liked it
A bit of a lifestyle parody. Or a a jab at the "Get Rich" books and everything by charlatans like Dr. Phil. Doesn't leave me with much though. What he's trying to instill is the idea of living a good life rather than living for money. And that's great. But I'd rather read the more concrete versions by a guy like Tom Hodgkinson Oddly, this was written by the guy who wrote Rats
Link
Dec 04, 2009 Link rated it really liked it
Shelves: financial
This is a clever satire of the how to get rich books that popped up when I tried to search for this one. A very few people, if any, who read this will really be searching for ways not to become wealthy, but most others who pick it up without this intention will discover, as the title says, why being bad off isn't so bad, a modern revival of Thoreau's basic message. The author is witty and, like many people who are not forcefully goal-directed, is typically in no hurry to get to the point, anothe ...more
Alecia
Feb 16, 2016 Alecia rated it really liked it
Very tongue-in-cheek satirical & laugh-out-loud funny at times. A fun, yet possibly worthless, read - which is exactly what I think the author was trying to achieve! ...more
Ross
Jun 03, 2010 Ross rated it did not like it
A bunch of random rather obvious complaining, written in a humorous fashion. It got a few chuckles from me here and there, but I was expecting something with a little more meat or depth.
Nick
Jan 28, 2010 Nick rated it did not like it
Bailed about half way through. It simply wasn't funny enough to get over not being informative.
Emily
Jun 18, 2008 Emily rated it liked it
...as if I needed advice on the topic!
Amir
Dec 09, 2010 Amir rated it liked it
It's a funny little book. I liked it.
BookDB
BookDB marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2016
Ming-Hui
Ming-Hui marked it as to-read
Aug 06, 2016
Salt344
Salt344 rated it really liked it
May 19, 2016
Laura Benton
Laura Benton rated it it was amazing
Mar 12, 2016
Bgalvin
Bgalvin marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2016
Griffen Stabler
Griffen Stabler rated it it was amazing
Jan 04, 2016
Carol M
Carol M marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2015
David
David marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2015
Kerry
Kerry rated it did not like it
Oct 15, 2015
John Deever
John Deever rated it really liked it
Aug 06, 2015
Suzie
Suzie marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Emma
Emma marked it as to-read
Dec 29, 2014
Kelly Richardson
Kelly Richardson rated it really liked it
Dec 06, 2014
Carl Plumer
Carl Plumer rated it it was amazing
Dec 04, 2014
Rob Clark
Rob Clark rated it liked it
Nov 10, 2014
Abby
Abby marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2014
Joshua
Joshua marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2014
Pamela
Pamela marked it as to-read
Feb 18, 2014
Tracy
Tracy rated it did not like it
Nov 27, 2013
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
6414
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name.

Robert Sullivan is the author of Rats, The Meadowlands, A Whale Hunt, and most recently, The Thoreau You Don’t Know. His writing has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, New York magazine, A Public Space, and Vogue, where he is a contributing editor. He was born in Manhattan and now lives in Brooklyn,
...more
More about Robert Sullivan...

Share This Book