Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Christmas Kiss” as Want to Read:
A Christmas Kiss
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Christmas Kiss

3.74  ·  Rating Details  ·  72 Ratings  ·  15 Reviews
A gift to treasure...
When James Everard announced that he had invited a young lady home for the holidays, his father, the Earl of Gyllford, was astounded and skeptical. Could it be that Jamie was finally showing an interest in something other than horseplay with his friends?

But when lovely Miss Evalyn Pennington arrived at Gyllford Manor, it was the earl who found himself
...more
Paperback, 263 pages
Published December 1st 1990 by Jove (first published 1970)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Christmas Kiss, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Christmas Kiss

Lord Carew's Bride by Mary BaloghThe Temporary Wife by Mary BaloghReforming Lord Ragsdale by Carla    KellyMrs. Drew Plays Her Hand by Carla    KellyThe Rake by Mary Jo Putney
Traditional Regency
428th out of 491 books — 221 voters
A Christmas Carol by Charles DickensSleeping with Santa by Debra DruzyHercule Poirot's Christmas by Agatha ChristieNutcracker by E.T.A. HoffmannThe Lady Most Willing... by Julia Quinn
10 Great Holiday Reads
53rd out of 66 books — 48 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 127)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Linda
This was a warm and fuzzy romance if you can just get past the age difference. I understand why some readers will love the story and others will consider it icky or offensive because of this issue. That aside, I found myself in the majority; I thoroughly enjoyed this heartwarming tale of two interesting but lonely characters found in a social error.

Jamie and his friend, Reggie, meant well when they convinced the governess, Miss Evalyn Pennington, to stay with his extended family over the holiday
...more
Lyuda
Dec 12, 2015 Lyuda rated it it was ok
This was just OK read. The story felt too long, fueled by one big wrong assumption by the hero Philip, Earl of Gyllford, who thought the heroine, Evalyn Pennington, and his son, Jamie, had an understanding/plans to marry. Once the assumption was made, it was never questioned by Philip until the last quarter of the story. Why not? There were plenty of opportunities to talk to his son, to at least mention such an important step in his life. I really disliked this plot device. It didn't provide ade ...more
Miranda Davis
Jul 06, 2013 Miranda Davis rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: G. Heyer fans, Regency lovers, traditional 'clean' Regency seekers
Regarding A Christmas Kiss: This is an old-school Regency, very much in the Georgette Heyer vein. And it's delightful! An excellent Regency featuring witty, low-key characters that live and breathe the period.

Having witnessed a besotted friend cause his family's governess to be turned off without character before Christmastime, a gallant young heir to an earldom and another, lisping lordly friend decide to rescue her. They plot to help her find a new post by having her invited to join his family
...more
Mary C. *Nulla in mundo pax sincera*
This is such a delightfully funny Traditional Regency. I greatly enjoyed all the characters with their own unique quirkiness - some intended solely as fools - but the spirit of love and Christmas brought in all well-suited pairing, except for one poor Jamie. The story is fluffy, but it's a very cute fluff, and with well written historical details too, especially with regards to ladies' clothing of the day.

Anyways, I really enjoyed this, and would recommend it to any fan of tender, lighthearted
...more
Julianna
Jan 04, 2011 Julianna rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Traditional Regencies, Sweet Romances, Fairy Tale Themed Romances
Reviewed for THC Reviews
A Christmas Kiss was a gentle, sweet, romantic story that helped to put me in the Christmas spirit. It was a Cinderella-style tale of a lowly governess who has nowhere to go for Christmas and then fortuitously gets invited to the country house party of an Earl with whom she almost immediately falls in love. Even though it was based in large part on two of my least favorite romance tropes, a misunderstanding and love at first sight, I still couldn't help but enjoy it. The
...more
QNPoohBear
Nov 12, 2013 QNPoohBear rated it it was ok
When Miss Evalyn Pennington, a penniless governess, is accosted by her employer's besotted son Geoffrey, Evalyn is turned off without a character. Her only choice is to go to a distant relative in London and hope to find a position. Geoffrey's friends are aghast at his treatment of Miss Pennington and hit upon the perfect solution. Jamie Everard will ask his father, the Earl of Gyllford and his Aunt Clarissa to invite Miss Pennington home for the holidays. Once Aunt Clarissa meets Evalyn, she wi ...more
 ♥♥Mari♥♥
This is a wonderful, very sweet, feel-good comedy of errors, reminiscent of Shakespeare's own comedies, that had me glued to the page, so I breezed right through it, even chuckling aloud in some places as I read.

The characters are certainly unforgettable, so real that, once the book is closed for the last time, the reader feels bereft, wishing that the story could go on and on... At least, this reader did. I shall have to re-read it at some time in the near future. And here I thought I wouldn't
...more
Spazfungus
Dec 24, 2014 Spazfungus rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jennifer
Apr 20, 2014 Jennifer rated it it was ok
too many missed chances for proper communication lead to a parody of sorts in which no one quite speaks there mind so miscommunication ensues leading to chaos.
Kathy
Jan 25, 2016 Kathy rated it it was amazing
I loved this book! It reminded me of watching "White Christmas" which I love too. It's a very fun romantic Christmas story. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it at Christmas time.
Rachel
Dec 26, 2014 Rachel rated it liked it
Shelves: 2014
I polished this off in a day, looking for a break from the more gloomy things I've been reading/watching. It succeeded in being light and fluffy and entertaining. I quite liked the dialogue and humor, and I thought Evalyn was a delightful heroine. It was predictable, yes, but enjoyable. The ending fell flat for me (hero manages to treat heroine as though she is beneath him in front of others, but then "mellows" when they are alone, heroine somehow manages to be unable to tell him to get stuffed ...more
Beeface
Nov 06, 2014 Beeface rated it really liked it
Should be 4.5 stars .... KEEPER SHELF... need I say more?
Pilar
Sep 23, 2014 Pilar rated it really liked it
I'm giving this as a gift to a friend.
Angie
Jan 08, 2009 Angie rated it it was ok
This book club pick was intended for a light read over the holidays. More of an old English comedy rather than a romance, the story is about several misunderstandings and eventually a happy ever after, just like a Disney movie. My favorite part of the book were the silly character’s names such as Lord Gyllford, Gervaise, Reginald (Reggie) Windle and the twins Freddy and Teddy. Best of all was the protagonist named Evalyn Pennington and her antagonist named Sally TrEVELYN. Sneaky eh?
willaful
Dec 09, 2009 willaful rated it liked it
Shelves: bye
Nice traditional Regency romance; although the plot revolves around a misunderstanding, just about everyone involved is gracious, mature and good-natured. (With the exception of the obvious villains.) The niceness eventually got a little dull, but it was a pleasant read.
Lisa
Lisa rated it really liked it
Feb 09, 2016
Mayumi Ashizawa
Mayumi Ashizawa marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Cindy
Cindy rated it really liked it
Jan 14, 2016
Becky
Becky rated it really liked it
Jan 12, 2016
Cheryl Breza
Cheryl Breza rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2016
Rtfirefly
Rtfirefly rated it liked it
Jan 14, 2016
Diahanna
Diahanna marked it as to-read
Dec 28, 2015
Theresa Walker
Theresa Walker rated it really liked it
Dec 19, 2015
Eva
Eva rated it really liked it
Dec 15, 2015
Lizzy
Lizzy marked it as to-read
Dec 08, 2015
Kristi
Kristi added it
Oct 27, 2015
Ruth  Wilson
Ruth Wilson marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2015
Heidi
Heidi added it
Aug 10, 2015
Simmera
Simmera marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Elizabeth Mansfield is the author of numerous regency romances. She is an intelligent and thoughtful writer, a hidden gem whose novels deserve to be more widely read and enjoyed.

Elizabeth Mansfield is the pen name of the talented Paula Reibel Schwartz. Ms Schwartz also wrote different genres under the pen names Paula Reibel, Paula Reid, and Paula Jonas.
More about Elizabeth Mansfield...

Share This Book