Crown of Silence ((The Chronicles of Magravandias, Book 2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Crown of Silence ( (The Chronicles of Magravandias)

3.84 of 5 stars 3.84  ·  rating details  ·  428 ratings  ·  11 reviews
The terrible consequences of war have left young Shan, brutalized by the invading army of Magravandas, an orphan. Shah is rescued by the magus Taropat and given a home in Taropat's forest hideaway. Taropat teaches the boy both magic and how to forge his loathing of the Magravandian empire into a lethal, honed weapon. The magi of the forest seek to make a hero: bent on reve...more
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published March 1st 2001 by Tor Books (first published 2000)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Crown of Silence (, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Crown of Silence (

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 666)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Nerine Dorman
Although the story lags about 3/4 of the way in, lovers of Western mysticism may well enjoy the skillful way Constantine brings in esoteric lore. As always, her descriptions are lush. At times I wanted to strangle Taropat for his stubborn behaviour.

A word of warning: If you were expecting Pharinet and Varencienne to be viewpoint characters with book two, be prepared to be disappointed.

I thoroughly enjoyed the way regular history is wound together in an completely fascinating mix.

Although it ca...more
Although this is the 2nd book in the Magravandias trilogy, I would actually recommend starting here. It is far more interesting than "Sea Dragon Heir," the storyline has more momentum and coherence, even though it jumps back and forth in time more. We first meet Shan, survivor of a brutal Magravandian attack that wiped out his village, as a recluse magician takes him on as an apprentice, to shape him into a tool to oppose Magravandians. Then about 1/2 the book is the story of the sorceror, Tarab...more
Elizabeth Reuter
Book two of The Magravandias Chronicles continues showing us hero Valraven's development, and the kingdom of Magravandias's corruption, through the eyes of characters who would be sidekicks in most fantasy novels: Valraven's best friend Khaster, Khaster's apprentice Shan, and Khaster's lover Tayven.

Like with book one--which had me rushing to grab this book because I loved it so much--the sensual, evocative writing focuses on character's lives and attachments. Happenings like war, death, and mag...more
Book two of The Chronicles of Magravandias is a good step lower in interest and narrative quality. The first half of the story is set in a completely different scenario than the previous book, with things finally making a bit of sense towards the middle of the narrative. And when I say a bit I mean it. We accompany a wizard, Taropat, first training his apprentice, Shan, and later embarking with him in a quest for a mythical crown, imbued with the power of the elements/dragons. And it’s pretty mu...more
Totally flips away from the main group in the first book, but does follow Khaster/Taropat and Tayven's story along with Merlan, and brings in a new important character, which will come together in the third and final book. Enjoyed the esoteric aspects, throughout, though the book didn't hold me as well. Took a couple of weeks to get through it.
Part two of the trilogy has a very different tone and the bigger picture of the story starts to be revealed. I enjoyed this less than the first book, but not by much! The direction has changed, new characters are introduced and more of the final destination starts to be clearer.
Frank Taranto
The second in the Chronicles of Magravandias trilogy takes us on a quest for the crown of silence, which can only be used properly by the true king.
The characters are all flawed and real people and the story is wonderfully complex.
all the blood, tears and semen I've come to expect from Constantine. Demanding and powerful book. I was completely invested.
I had no idea this was a volume 2 until I'd finished the book. I've never bothered to read the rest of the series.
It just occurred to me that the title is reminiscent of the Cone of Silence in Get Smart. Heh.
Moriah marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2014
Britty marked it as to-read
Aug 10, 2014
Marc August
Marc August marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2014
Eldorankin marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2014
Christyne marked it as to-read
Aug 02, 2014
Sami marked it as to-read
Jul 31, 2014
Daniela Filipa
Daniela Filipa marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2014
Jason added it
Jul 24, 2014
Thecakeisalie marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2014
Megan_bright marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2014
Patrick marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2014
Robin is currently reading it
Jul 12, 2014
Therese marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2014
Sydney marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 22 23 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Point of Dreams (Astreiant, #2)
  • The Third God
  • Ring of Lightning (Dance of the Rings, #1)
  • Dragon's Winter
  • By the Mountain Bound (The Edda of Burdens, #2)
  • Kirith Kirin
  • The Tempering of Men (Iskryne World, #2)
  • Raphael (Damiano, #3)
  • The Book of the Dead (Secret Books of Paradys, #3)
  • Maledicte (Antyre, #1)
  • Dragon Soul (Havemercy #3)
  • Circle at Center (Seven Circles Trilogy, #1)
  • The Golden Horn (The Hound and the Falcon, #2)
  • The Merro Tree
Storm Constantine (b. 1956) is a British science fiction and fantasy author, primarily known for her Wraeththu series.

Since the late 1980s she has written more than 20 novels, plus several non-fiction books. She is featured in the Goth Bible and is often included in discussions of alternative sexuality and gender in science fiction and fantasy; many of her novels include same-sex relationships or...more
More about Storm Constantine...
Wraeththu The Enchantments of Flesh and Spirit (Wraeththu, #1) The Wraiths of Will and Pleasure (Wraeththu Histories, #1) The Bewitchments of Love and Hate (Wraeththu, #2) The Fulfilments of Fate and Desire (Wraeththu, #3)

Share This Book