Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Lola Goes to the Doctor” as Want to Read:
Lola Goes to the Doctor
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Lola Goes to the Doctor

by
4.07  ·  Rating Details ·  42 Ratings  ·  10 Reviews
Children will identify with Lola as she nervously waits to be called into the doctor's office. Lola feels a little bit brave when the doctor looks into her ears, a little braver when he examines her teeth, and bravest of all when she gets a shot.
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published July 29th 2014 by Creston Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Lola Goes to the Doctor, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Lola Goes to the Doctor

Lola Goes to the Doctor by Marcia GoldmanThe Chester the Chesapeake Trilogy by Barbara EbelAdventure-Pom! by Sean DrydenChester The Chesapeake by Barbara EbelSummertime by Barbara Ebel
Picture book series about dogs
1st out of 13 books — 20 voters
Lola Goes to the Doctor by Marcia GoldmanStar of Wonder by Paige W. PendletonAdventure-Pom! by Sean DrydenThe Case of the Wayward Fae ~ A Chronicle of Mister Marmee by H.L.  StephensSecret Pizza Party by Adam Rubin
Amazing children animal books!
1st out of 28 books — 36 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Rani
Jun 21, 2014 Rani rated it really liked it
Shelves: pb-nonfiction
The slim volume focuses on the feelings of a dog who is visiting a doctor. Lola, the dog, is here for a reason. The volume is especially designed for teaching students with ASD. The words in the text convey the emotions, while pictures show what happens. The visit begins with Lola in the waiting room. She sees so many new faces and new animals. She needs to wait for her turn and uses the time to investigate the chicken, the pig, and other big dogs. Lola is nervous. And when the nurse calls her ...more
The Haunted Reading Room {Cthulhu Down the Chimney Tonight}
REVIEW: LOLA GIES TO THE DOCTOR by Marcia Goldman

A truly delightful story, with appeal to kids and adults, dog lovers, and pet owners of any stripe or type. Lola is a brave dog, curious and (mostly) unafraid to visit her gentle veterinarian. [Lessons here could be applied to children's visit to pediatricians, too.]
Jana (That Artsy Reader Girl)
Originally posted at That Artsy Reader Girl.

Lola Goes to the Doctor tackles a very scary subject in the minds of young children. When my sister was young, she would cry and cry for days when she found out she had to go to the doctor. She was deathly afraid of needles, to the point she had to be put on Valium just to handle a blood test! I remember my mom reading multiple books to my little sister about Cabbage Patch Kids visiting the doctor, the Berenstein Bears and their visit, Arthur’s doctor
...more
Mary
Sep 07, 2014 Mary rated it it was amazing
This enjoyable children's book is a little different than your typical story of a child going to a doctor's office. In this story, the patient is a sweet little Yorkshire Terrier named Lola, and her doctor is a veterinarian. Kids will be able to relate to the nervousness that Lola has about getting her shot and letting the doctor touch her and check her out to make sure she is healthy. (In fact, Lola is a therapy dog who works with her owner, author Marcia Goldman, to help kids feel better in ...more
Barbara
Featuring adorable photographs and a waiting room filled with plenty of different pets, this book follows Lola, a Yorkshire Terrier, to the vet's for a check-up. Even though the tiny dog is brave and enjoys new experiences, she is also just a wee bit anxious about the visit. Everyone around Lola seems patient and kind, and even when the doctor has to give her a shot or take her temperature, he does so gently. This would be a good book to use when trying to alleviate a child's anxiety about an ...more
Victoria Brinius
Sep 13, 2014 Victoria Brinius rated it it was amazing
This is an awesome story. It is perfect for fans of Doc McStuffins! Except that this book has a real dog! I liked it included all the aspects of a doctor visit, so that kids will get used to it and not get scared. I really liked the cuteness of this book and its message. To teach kids not to be afraid of the doctor will help parents for years to come. I am giving this book a 5/5. I was a copy to review from JKS Book Tours, however all opinions are my own.
Kelsey
Age: Toddler-Kindergarten
Familiar Experience: Doctor's visit

Lola parallels a young child visiting the doctor as she describes the events that happen and her emotions throughout the process. A lightness is added to this oftentimes nerve-wrecking experience as Lola talks about the variety of animals in the waiting room, wondering things like how a snake gets a shot.
Renee
Jun 20, 2016 Renee rated it really liked it
I love the book Lola Goes to Work about a therapy dog. It is a great tie in with our therapy dogs at the library who also join us for story time.

This book was perfect when I was looking for books for my doctor theme.

In this book, Lola goes to the vet.
Melissa
Oct 12, 2014 Melissa rated it really liked it
Cute. This is the second Lola book-- the first was about being a service dog. Kids will relate to fears about going to the doctor could also be informative for kids taking a pet to the vet.
Jenna Friebel
Jenna Friebel rated it really liked it
Jul 05, 2016
John
John rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2015
Mary Napoli
Mary Napoli rated it liked it
Oct 30, 2014
Billie Joy
Billie Joy rated it liked it
Apr 13, 2015
Haley Dircks
Haley Dircks rated it liked it
Mar 19, 2015
Leslie Fisher
Leslie Fisher rated it really liked it
Mar 24, 2016
Emily
Emily rated it it was amazing
Jul 14, 2015
Marissa
Marissa rated it it was amazing
Aug 07, 2014
Ariadne
Ariadne rated it really liked it
Dec 01, 2014
T
T rated it liked it
Feb 22, 2015
Marissa DeCuir
Marissa DeCuir rated it it was amazing
Aug 12, 2014
Rachel
Rachel rated it it was ok
Sep 22, 2014
ReadingWench
Lola is such a cute dog. This book would be helpful for children who are afraid of the doctor.
Nimboo
Nimboo rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2016
Lynn Christiansen
Lynn Christiansen rated it really liked it
Feb 17, 2015
Deb Reddy
Deb Reddy rated it it was ok
Aug 16, 2014
Lynn Alayon
Lynn Alayon rated it liked it
Mar 05, 2015
Holly
Holly rated it really liked it
Dec 13, 2015
Clover Worland
Clover Worland rated it it was amazing
Aug 22, 2014
John Goldman
John Goldman rated it it was amazing
Aug 07, 2014
Christine
Christine rated it liked it
Sep 17, 2014
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Hide!!!
  • Santa from Cincinnati
  • Too Many Carrots
  • Wow! Ocean!
  • We're Off to Find the Witch's House
  • My Nose, Your Nose
  • It's Duffy Time!
  • Caveman, A B.C. Story
  • We're Different, We're the Same
  • Clara and Davie
  • Spaghetti in a Hot Dog Bun: Having the Courage To Be Who You Are
  • Santa Clauses: Short Poems from the North Pole
  • Bee-bim Bop!
  • The Seeing Stick
  • Cupcake
  • Little Mouse and the Big Cupcake
  • Book
  • A Tale of Two Mommies
6917908
Marcia Goldman has her Masters Degree in Special Education and has spent the last 25 years focusing on providing therapeutic-based programs for children with autism and their families.
More about Marcia Goldman...

Share This Book