Felicity: An American Girl (The American Girls Collection)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Felicity: An American Girl (American Girls: Felicity #1-6)

3.97 of 5 stars 3.97  ·  rating details  ·  3,502 ratings  ·  134 reviews
Felicity Merriman is a spunky, spritely girl growing up in Virginia in 1774, just before the Revolutionary War. Felicity's stories tell of the adventures of this spirited girl, who grows impatient doing the "sitting down kinds of things" that colonial girls are expected to do. Felicity much prefers to be outdoors, especially riding horses In her stories, Felicity learns ab...more
Paperback, 412 pages
Published June 1st 1992 by American Girl
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Taylor
Felicity Merman is growing up in a time of very feirce loyalty and Firey Independence Just as America is about to break free from englands rule! Everyone around her her friends family everyone is taking different sides. With her passion and her courage felicity must find a way to hold both love and loyally in her heart. MEet felicity is all about how felicity tries to get the hoarse she has allways dreamed of from that wretched Jickey Nigh who treats her like dirt. Felicity learns a lesson is a...more
Katie
I love these books and read them at least once each season as time passes both in our world and in the books. I adore Felicity's adventures and high spirits, which I feel would not be much diffrent from mine if I lived in that era. I have also collected the doll and as many of the accessories as I can afford (they are quite pricy) from American Girl Co.
Kristin
Okay, from an adult's perspective, these books may be a little formulaic and they're definitely rosy-ended predictable, but they do leave me smiling. In Felicity, we learn a little about Williamsburg right on the brink of the Revolution. We get a good dose of friendship, a bit for horse lovers, a tad about the love of a grandfather. We learn a bit about apprenticeship and running a mercantile. We also learn about manners, sewing and music of the day. Most importantly we see a few core values ena...more
Phoebe
This is easily the strongest of the American Girl collections I've reread so far, consistent in quality across all six books. Felicity is well-drawn, complex, and interesting. She makes mistakes, and holds biases, but is also likable and so very, very "spunky." The stakes are high--war! stolen horses!--and the tensions between Felicity's family and Elizabeth's family helps to illustrate the difficulties of the time period (though I can't imagine how much more difficult their friendship will beco...more
Sami
to always be happy
Myra
***New Review:
I had to demote my rating to only two stars, not three, after spending the semester in my Liberty Girls group reading this series aloud to my kids. I realize the main reason I stuck with this series is because of the period of history it covers - the American Revolution, my favorite. Although I still love the third book, and the 6th book has some merit (although Felicity still has quite a selfish attitude that she partly overcomes) I have to say that I am not impressed with this se...more
Rachel
Felicity's world seemed the most inaccessible to me growing up, considering that she was the oldest character and her world was far more chartered and organized than mine. I groaned to think of Miss Manderly's lessons and proper parties at the governor's. I was thrilled that she maintained her friendship with Elizabeth, despite their cultural differences. I feared for her horse, Penny, who was abused, for her mother who got sick, for Ben, who perhaps scared me most of all, as his indentured rela...more
Susie
I found the Felicity books fascinating because I had actually been to the place where the books take place - Williamsburg, VA. It's so cool that Williamsburg is preserved and you can see where people like Felicity lived and worked and went to school. Anyway, so her stories were especially interesting to me because I knew about the places. The stories dealt with exactly what was going on at that time - the relationship between the Loyalists and the Colonist rebels. Felicity's best friend is a Loy...more
Haley Anderson
I really enjoyed this book because I understand the popular American Girl Doll fad that happened when Felicity was new. For today's readers I think Flelicity might be a little outdated of grabbing their interest, though nevertheless enjoyable overall.
Ellen Diem
Felicity is a spunky little girl who grew up in colonial America in 1774. During her story there were two different groups living in America, loyalist and patriots. Felicity's best friend is a loyalist while she is brought up in a patriot household. Felicity gets into may different things while having fun. The age range of this group of book is primary, because girls are usually into girl power, and independence. Many girls in this age group are into those things. The artistic elements, while th...more
Dara
I read these back when I was around 10 years old and I can easily say these were the books that ignited my love of history and historical fiction. I still have all the books some 20 years later and the doll that went with them.

I'd love to see what happens to Felicity when she grows up but I guess that will just need to be up to the reader's imagination.
Miss Clark
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kasey
I loved these books! They were refreshing after reading huge complicated novels. I enjoyed all the characters and the stories that were filled with such emotion! Any young lady would love to read these books! Reading level is for about 8 years old or older and an experienced reader can finish one book in about an hour. The books average out to about 68 pages and each include 'A Peek Into The Past' section at the end. I think these collection would be a great gift for a young reader or even an ol...more
Taylor Munson
When I was younger I always loved these books. I remember I would read them with my grandma and we would always relate the characters stories to mine. I really loved Felicity's story because she was one of my favorite dolls. I was drawn in by the different culture she lived in and the time she lived. I read many of her stories and eventually got the doll! Her story in particular demonstrates a spunky girl with a lot of goals. She is an inspiring role model to girls and someone I loved to learn a...more
Tiff
Loved these books as a little girl. One of my favorite American girls.
Jen Wold
These are the books that first got me into reading.
Audrey Hill
Read this with my mom. Jiggy Nye was a mean mean guy.
Angel
My daughter loves the American girls! Felicity is a great intro to life in colonial America, and the revolutionary war. Some of the books focus more on the storyline than on events or ways of life, though. (Little House on the Prairie does a better job of that, as well as having an engaging storyline). We also checked out a CD of colonial music from the library called "Music of Colonial America" by Anne and Ridley Enslow, which my girls can't get enough of in the car. I'm actually getting into t...more
Wendy
Sarah and I love these American Girl books!
Julie
One of my all time favorite books growing up! :D
Kerith
I had a blast reading this -- I don't know what took me so long (I admit I bought my Felicity doll some years ago). I went to school in Williamsburg, at the College of William & Mary, so much of this was a trip down memory lane.
I know these are written on a formula and are meant to sell dolls, but the setting is charming and the history is accurate. I've got the books on Kit, Molly, and Samantha also waiting for my daughter, but this one will have the doll also waiting with it. She's my favo...more
Ally
The American Girl books were some of my favorites growing up. I read them over and over. Felicity was always my favorite, but that's probably because I have red hair and had been to Williamsburg. I loved Kirsten as well, and I just think these short books are great for kids, great for empowering young girls, and great for teaching history in a fun way at home. I recommend them all, even though I'm not familiar with the newer Kit and Josefina stories.

My ranking order:

Felicity
Kirsten
Molly
Addy
Sama...more
Caitlyn
Jun 09, 2014 Caitlyn added it
Shelves: family
Good but short!
Senate
I loved the American Girl Collection. They were so helpful in learning history and the way life was in the past. I started reading the books in 3rd grade and my favorite character was Felicity. The author, Valerie Tripp used to come to our class and read to us when I lived in Maryland. Her daughter Katherine and I were classmates. Hearing Mrs. Tripp read the books made the stories come alive. I read every girl's book before I moved onto a new character.
Becky
Bethany and I read these books together last year. I think most 7-11 yr. old girls would really like them. They cover different time eras so you learn a lot about that time period. Plus they are great for homeschooling because we learn history, geography, art, science, vocabulary, spelling, etc. all from one book! We read the felicity series, and now we're on to the Kirsten books. I'm sure we'll read all of the books within a year or two.
Jillene Wilson
Reading the American Girl Felicity collection, when I was in the third grade really started my love for reading and history. My third grade teacher would read aloud to us the felicity books in an old english accent while were studying the american revolution. I wanted to read these books on my own also, so my mom got me the set for christmas that following year. I have also read some of the other characters books as well, and found them all interesting.
Maggie Wiggins
We study Felicity's era in second grade in my school system. When I was in second grade, I did a report about tea party customs and histories and cited the Felicity series heavily. Felicity and Kirsten seem to be the most applicable to school assignments. It also seems to have the broadest appeal, perhaps because it's so widely studied.

Readalikes: Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lingren, American Sisters series by Laurie Lawlor
Alex
Aw man, I LOVED the American Girls series. Felicity was by far my favorite, for no reason that I can really figure out. I am putting this box set on here to represent all the American Girls that I read and loved - Felicity, Kirsten, Samantha, Addy, and Molly. I don't know who these "new" girls are, but these 5 are my original favorites. =) I even have the CD-rom game where you put on a play with their characters!!!
Rai
Feb 11, 2008 Rai rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Girls ages 8-12
Even though Josephina was my doll and Felicity was my sisters, I have to admit that Felicity's books were, by far, my favorite! They inspired my first completed novel- The Apprentice. Set on the brink of the Revolutionary War, Felicity is a young girl with a passion for riding horses and being goofy. There was something so magical about every story in the Felicity series and I still don't quite know what it was.
Kelley
Reviewed by my seven-year-old daughter: Felicity was a good series for learning. She was interested in so many things that I got to learn a lot too. My favorite book was Happy Birthday Felicity because she gets a guitar and I like the guitar. I didn't like Annabelle she was mean but her sister Elizabeth was really nice. I learned a lot about the Revolutionary War during this book and what started it.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Kirsten's Boxed Set (The American Girls Collection/Boxed Set)
  • Addy: An American Girl (Boxed Set) (American Girls Collection)
  • Julie: An American Girl (American Girls: Julie, #1-6)
  • Peril at King's Creek: A Felicity Mystery (American Girl Mysteries)
  • The Curse of Ravenscourt: A Samantha Mystery (American Girl Mysteries)
  • Welcome to Felicity's World · 1774: Growing Up in Colonial America (American Girls Collection)
  • Meet Samantha: An American Girl (American Girls: Samantha, #1)
  • Isabel: Taking Wing
  • Hoofbeats of Danger (American Girl History Mysteries, #2)
  • Kathleen: The Celtic Knot
  • A Spy on the Home Front: A Molly Mystery (American Girl Mysteries)
  • Danger at the Zoo: A Kit Mystery (American Girl Mysteries (Quality))
26735
Valerie Tripp is a children's book author, best known for her work with the American Girl series.

She grew up in Mount Kisco, New York with three sisters. She is a reading expert with a Reading Master’s of Education degree from Harvard University. Since 1985 she has lived in Silver Spring, Maryland. Her husband teaches history at Montgomery College. She has been a writer for reading textbooks for t...more
More about Valerie Tripp...
Meet Felicity: An American Girl (The American Girls: Felicity, #1) Samantha's Boxed Set (The American Girls Collection/Boxed Set) Meet Molly: An American Girl (American Girls: Molly, #1) Molly: An American Girl : 1944 (The American Girls Collection) Meet Kit: An American Girl 1934 (American Girls: Kit, #1)

Share This Book