Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Mystery of the Pirate's Treasure (The Code Busters Club, #3)” as Want to Read:
The Mystery of the Pirate's Treasure (The Code Busters Club, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Mystery of the Pirate's Treasure (The Code Busters Club #3)

by
4.27  ·  Rating Details ·  41 Ratings  ·  10 Reviews
Fans of "The 39 Clues" and "A to Z Mysteries" (Ron Roy) series will have tons of fun creating the codes right along with the characters in this interactive series.
Cody, Quinn, Luke, and M.E. love playing around with codes. In fact, they love codes so much they have their own club, with a secret hideout and passwords that change every day.
On a class trip to the Cornell Mi
...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published August 5th 2014 by Egmontusa (first published January 1st 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Mystery of the Pirate's Treasure, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Mystery of the Pirate's Treasure

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Dawn Teresa
Feb 15, 2015 Dawn Teresa rated it really liked it
Originally posted on my blog, ReadLove .

Penny Warner is again nominated for an Agatha Award for Case 3 in the Code Busters Club series, The Mystery of the Pirate’s Treasure. Once again, Berkely Cooperative Middle School is embarking on a fun field trip — this time to the Carmel Mission and the Mission Trail Nature Preserve. Cody, Quinn, Luke, and M. E. are on the case as the investigative team learns California history surrounding a pirate named Hippolyte de Bouchard who raided the mission in s
...more
Rebecca
Feb 09, 2015 Rebecca rated it it was ok
The 6th grade Code Busters—four assorted kids who love everything about every kind of code—go off with their class to Junipero Serra’s Carmel mission for an overnight field trip. While there, they learn of the only pirate associated with California, who attacked the mission and supposedly hid his treasure there. The Code Busters are determined to find the treasure, but they’re not the only ones. Many puzzles and codes are interspersed, with solutions at the back.

This is a popcorn book for kids w
...more
Mehsi
Received ARC from Netgalley.

This was an interesting book. It is book 3, but it seems you don’t need to read the other books to know what it is about. I couldn't find book 1 and 2, so I am happy to see I don’t need to read the other books.

At the beginning it is clearly mentioned who is who, and there is also enough information in the beginning chapters.

What I didn't like:
The fact that after each puzzle was the standard line of: Code Busters’s Solution on Page (insert number). I felt it would be b
...more
Gina Hott
Sep 18, 2014 Gina Hott rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 9-14-boys, 9-14-girls
Hott Synopsis:
“A pirate named Hippolyte. A hidden treasure at a mission. An overnight field trip. A hunt for mission bells. This is awesome!”
When the Code Busters hear that their class is going on an overnight field trip to visit a local mission where it’s said that treasure is lost due to the pirate Hippolytede Bouchard their code breaking senses kick into overdrive.
If only they can keep Matt the Brat from ruining it for everyone!

Hott Review:
What I liked: The Mystery of the Pirate’s Treasure is
...more
Kathy Hart
Jan 13, 2015 Kathy Hart rated it really liked it
I read this to 4th grade classes at my school. They loved the idea of cracking codes to solve the mystery, and were completely intrigued with the story of pirates plundering the Carmel Mission and a treasure hunt. These classes will be studying the California Missions and the book was a perfect lead-in to this unit. Very clever and great mystery reads for middle grades.
Sydney
Jan 06, 2014 Sydney rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
they go on a field trip to the carmel mission. they meet chad bour and he tells them about this explorer named bou chared who tries to find silver in california. they figure out that chad bour is actually the explorer not bou chared. they are trying to help chad bour find the silver. the treasure is a silver bell painted bronze.
Krista
Feb 12, 2015 Krista rated it liked it
Shelves: children-s, clear
In the third book of the Code Busters Club series, Cody, Quinn, Luke and M.E. search for pirate treasure on a class trip to the Carmel Mission and Mission Trail Nature Preserve. While the main characters are in sixth grade the writing is extremely straightforward and would appeal more to younger readers who love mysteries and code breaking. Could easily be used to support Common Core.
Gigi
Apr 13, 2014 Gigi rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Pirates, a mystery, and all sorts of codes kids can solve themselves. What a fun book for inquisitive kids! I loved Encyclopedia Brown books as a child, and wish Penny Warner had already written these Code Busters books when I was that age.
Karen
Dec 26, 2014 Karen rated it it was amazing
I had absolutely no idea that California had a pirate! This was a very entertaining and insightful mystery. I am so glad I read it before gifting it to my great nephew.
Riley
Riley rated it it was amazing
Nov 18, 2014
Carrie Padgett
Carrie Padgett rated it it was amazing
Jun 11, 2016
Elizabeth
Elizabeth rated it liked it
Apr 01, 2016
Edward Sullivan
Searching for pirate treasure in the Monterey Bay area.
Debbie Urbanski
Debbie Urbanski rated it it was amazing
Jun 17, 2014
Riya
Riya rated it really liked it
Feb 13, 2016
Ridge Farm
Ridge Farm rated it it was amazing
Dec 16, 2015
Martha
Martha rated it liked it
Feb 16, 2015
James Lynam
James Lynam rated it it was amazing
Oct 07, 2014
Ags139
Ags139 rated it it was amazing
Apr 13, 2015
Kaavya Jethwa
Kaavya Jethwa rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2015
Ingrid
Ingrid rated it it was amazing
Oct 01, 2014
Marie
Marie rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2015
Kelsie
Kelsie rated it it was ok
Nov 08, 2014
JFH
JFH rated it liked it
Oct 19, 2016
Angelina Almaguer
Angelina Almaguer rated it it was amazing
Oct 23, 2016
Víctor
Víctor rated it it was amazing
Jun 24, 2015
Brenda Schneider
Brenda Schneider rated it really liked it
Oct 31, 2016
Carson
Carson rated it it was amazing
Feb 29, 2016
Laura Frye
Laura Frye rated it it was amazing
Oct 05, 2015
Eeshan
Eeshan rated it really liked it
Aug 24, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Case of the Time-Capsule Bandit (Randi Rhodes, Ninja Detective, #1)
  • The Royal Joust (Girls to the Rescue)
  • White as Snow: A Christmas Story
  • Fighting Chance
  • Andi Unstoppable (Andi Boggs, #3)
  • The Vampire Mystery (The Boxcar Children, #120)
  • The Seahorse Legacy (Eyes of E'veria #3)
  • The Tiny Portrait
  • Finding the Baby Jesus
  • Buffalo Jump Blues (Sean Stranahan #5)
  • Shadow of the Alchemist (Crispin Guest, #6)
  • Squanto and the Miracle of Thanksgiving
  • Fizz & Peppers at the Bottom of the World
  • The Kindaichi Case Files, Vol. 2: The Mummy's Curse
  • A Whole New Ballgame (Rip and Red, #1)
  • Asleep on the Hay: A Dust Bowl Christmas
  • The Case of the Cursed Dodo (The Endangered Files, #1)
  • Bobby Ether and the Academy
27626
Penny Warner is an award-winning author of over sixty books, including DEAD BODY LANGUAGE mystery series (Macavity winner), HOW TO HOST A KILLER PARTY series, and the upcoming Food Festival series. Her middle-grade mystery, THE CODE BUSTERS CLUB, won the Agatha Award for Best Children's Mystery.


More about Penny Warner...

Other Books in the Series

The Code Busters Club (4 books)
  • The Secret of the Skeleton Key (The Code Busters Club, #1)
  • The Haunted Lighthouse (The Code Busters Club, #2)
  • The Mummy's Curse (The Code Busters Club, #4)

Share This Book