Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Building Jerusalem: The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City” as Want to Read:
Building Jerusalem: The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Building Jerusalem: The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City

3.91  ·  Rating Details ·  53 Ratings  ·  9 Reviews
"Hunt tells this complex, epic story with dazzling clarity and organizational brilliance . . . I know nothing equaling its scope and ambition."--Phillip Lopate, Los Angeles Times


Ever since Charles Dickens first described Coketown in Hard Times, the nineteenth-century city has connoted deprivation, pollution, and criminality. Yet, as historian Tristram Hunt argues in this p
...more
Paperback, 608 pages
Published December 26th 2006 by Picador (first published 2004)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Building Jerusalem, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Building Jerusalem

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Lizixer
Dec 15, 2014 Lizixer rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Reading this book I wonder why Labour have Tristram Hunt as Shadow education and not fronting down Pickles and his crew so intent on destroying local government.

A readable walk through of the ideas and people who shaped ideas of municipal government in our big cities in the 19thC, full of men in monocles building civic pride and tireless campaigners against laissez-faire management and the Shopocracy ( my new favourite history word), all of whom wanted the cities to reflect the best values of Vi
...more
Alex Csicsek
May 18, 2012 Alex Csicsek rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Tristram Hunt, better known as Labour MP and sometimes-Guardian columnist, offers a survey of conceptions of the city as it underwent rapid and seismic change in the Victorian era. This isn't a timeline history of industrialisation and urbanisation, but an exploration of how both the elite and popular society understood the new urban bohemoths springing up across Britain.

The space of a generation saw the greatest shift ever in the way the British lived. The new cities and their industries revolu
...more
Marri
Jan 20, 2011 Marri rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Considering its rave reviews, I found this book rather disappointing. Only those who enjoy reading history as a list of white businessmen-politicians and the buildings they erected will find something for them in Building Jerusalem. The tidbits of biography and historical detail nipped from primary sources are unfortunately too far between, and the meandering structure demands much of the reader to get from oasis to oasis. For the casual reader, it's a bit lengthy and its message of the necessit ...more
Harald
Feb 18, 2016 Harald rated it really liked it
Shelves: 19th-century, cities
This marvelous history takes us through the low and high points of the development of the British cities of the 19th century. The Industrial Revolution greatly expanded the urban population, but also brought with it poverty and dismal living conditions among the new underclass. Hunt shows how individuals with a Catholic or Non-Conformist background initiated urban reform on a broad scale that included public buildings, city planning, culture and social services. It is a fascinating story told wi ...more
Leslie
Feb 18, 2011 Leslie rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 19th-century, history
This isn't about the lived reality of Victorian cities but about the ideas informing the shape of the city and how people, especially people of influence, envisioned the city and what it meant to live in one. Victorians really believed in the possibilities of urban life and the importance of maintaining, or creating, vibrant city spaces. They didn't always succeed (to put it mildly), but they thought of cities as exciting places where great things could happen, places that fostered civic involve ...more
Mary
Nov 12, 2007 Mary rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: people already hooked on English cities & their history
I think the title is a mistake--a grabber for fans of William Blake and Monty Python, but maybe a turn-off for other prospective readers. Which is too bad, because the book is unusually lively for a 500-page history of English cities and how they grew. Lots more foreign influences than I suspected--on the architecture, most intriguingly to me. The political ups and downs of Gothic, for instance. You have to be ready to skip chunks about things you already know about or don't care about, and ling ...more
Martin Petchey
Jun 04, 2008 Martin Petchey rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Stimulating and enjoyable; a great help in understanding the development of our major cities. Issues: concentrates too much on a few cities - Manchester, Birmingham - to the exclusion of other provincial towns and cities, and does not spend enough time on London; far too hard on suburbs and new towns, which is where most people live, and more significantly, where they want to live.
Pascal Ouellet
Pascal Ouellet rated it really liked it
Sep 05, 2010
Daryl
Daryl rated it really liked it
Jul 24, 2011
Tristan Chatfield
Tristan Chatfield rated it really liked it
Jul 23, 2012
Andrew
Andrew rated it liked it
Mar 28, 2009
Declan Ryan
Declan Ryan rated it it was amazing
Feb 25, 2013
Joan
Joan rated it really liked it
Oct 24, 2013
Mike
Mike rated it really liked it
Sep 06, 2014
Stijn Stragier
Stijn Stragier rated it liked it
May 09, 2013
Roger T.
Roger T. rated it really liked it
Nov 26, 2013
Tomos Roberts
Tomos Roberts rated it it was ok
May 02, 2016
Steve
Steve rated it it was amazing
Oct 25, 2016
David Cowhig
Mar 17, 2014 David Cowhig rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Nice blending of social history of 19th century England and the cities it produced.
Peter Trumper
Peter Trumper rated it really liked it
Dec 21, 2015
David
David rated it it was amazing
Dec 12, 2016
Andrej Kurillo
Andrej Kurillo rated it it was amazing
Aug 22, 2016
Peter Jasperse
Peter Jasperse rated it liked it
Sep 14, 2013
Adam Ploetz
Adam Ploetz rated it really liked it
Jul 02, 2013
Louise
Louise rated it liked it
Mar 08, 2012
Lucy
Lucy rated it it was amazing
Jul 26, 2012
Shawn Stephens
Shawn Stephens rated it really liked it
Sep 26, 2013
Connaire Demain
Connaire Demain rated it really liked it
Jul 04, 2014
Markham Pyle
Markham Pyle rated it really liked it
Jul 11, 2012
Anders Hanson
Anders Hanson rated it really liked it
Mar 30, 2013
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Cover image quality 1 17 May 01, 2016 11:35AM  
470502
Tristram Hunt is the author of Marx’s General: The Revolutionary Life of Friedrich Engels and Building Jerusalem: The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City. One of Britain’s leading young historians, he writes regularly for The Guardian, The Observer, and The Times, and has broadcast numerous series for the BBC. A lecturer in history at the University of London, Hunt represents Stoke-on-Trent in the ...more
More about Tristram Hunt...

Share This Book