Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Pan Wołodyjowski” as Want to Read:
Pan Wołodyjowski
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Pan Wołodyjowski (The Trilogy #3)

3.92  ·  Rating Details ·  1,577 Ratings  ·  29 Reviews
Pan Wołodyjowski jest powieścią stanowiącą zwieńczenie Trylogii. Jej bohater pojawił się we wcześniejszych częściach cyklu, zyskując coraz bardziej na znaczeniu: w Ogniem i mieczem był przyjacielem Skrzetuskiego, w Potopie - już postacią niemal pierwszoplanową. Bez wątpienia Sienkiewicz dostrzegł w Michale Wołodyjowskim olbrzymi potencjał. Kreując jego postać, wzorował sie ...more
352 pages
Published 2007 by Zielona Sowa (first published 1888)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Pan Wołodyjowski, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Pan Wołodyjowski

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Stephen
Feb 22, 2011 Stephen rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wonderful literature. The poles should be re-named The People of Job as they have suffered unawares for centuries while at the same time have defended western civilization with truly uncommon valor and integrity. The west owes a debt of thanks to these honorable people. It is crazy that they languished under the yoke communism after WWII and that we "blessed" it.
Lou
May 01, 2013 Lou rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
One important note... if you read the trilogy in English, be sure to read the translation by Kuniczak. I started reading one by a different translator and the difference was night and day. It was like reading a wooden story by an author of adventure books for young adults instead of a well written story by a great author. If you read a poor review I wonder if the reviewer didn't read the other translation.

The books in the trilogy read like a mix of "War and Peace" and "The Three Musketeers". Thi
...more
Ritiel
Apr 25, 2011 Ritiel rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Before read this book I had committed a mistake, to read in somewhere (and I do not remember where) that the best part of Sienkiewicz's Trilogy is the second. To get things worst, the initial chapters of Pan Wolodyjowski were boring, and not by the romantic plot, but for the choices Michal had made. And then, some years have gone, some things changes and the story turnabout. Thankfully for the best.

With border skirmishes and battles, the old pan Michal returns and the war with the turks takes fo
...more
Adina
Dec 15, 2013 Adina rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
2 stars ...because I cried my eyes out... Yes, I'm selfish.
Czarny Pies
Jul 18, 2015 Czarny Pies rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Those seriously committed to understanding the Polish soule.
Shelves: polish-lit
Since you have read the first two volumes of Sienkiewicz's Trilogy, (that is to say the 1200 page "With Fire and Sword" and the 1700 page "Deluge"), you might as well finish the job by reading the final instalment, "Fire in the Steppe" which is a mere 700 pages in length. Its relative brevity comes as quite a relief. By finishing it you will have the satisfaction of knowing that you did not leave the job undone.
As a whole, the Trilogy has great value for its portrayal of Polish history during it
...more
Annabeth
Feb 18, 2017 Annabeth rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Rozważałam dać dwie gwiazdki z litości dla naszego ukochanego Noblisty, ale wtedy zauważyłam, że tyle dałam Potopowi, a "Pan Wołodyjwski" okazał się nieporównywalnie gorszy. Zdecydowanie najnudniejsza część trylogii! Nic tylko bitwy, bitwy i bitwy. Jedynym w miarę interesującym wątkiem było to "porwanie", ale jeden na 600 stronach to jednak dość mało. Poza tym tylko bitwy, okrucieństwa i oblężenia. To mi się nudziło już w "Ogniem i mieczem", a po przeczytaniu całej trylogii mam już zdecydowanie ...more
Tori
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Marzena
Jan 17, 2015 Marzena rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ebook
Pan Wołodyjowski, będący ostatnią częścią Sienkiewiczowskiej trylogii okazał się być równocześnie jej najokrutniejszą ale i najsłabszą częścią. Czytelnik może czuć ukontentowanie chyba jedynie zakładając z góry, że tytuł powieści nijak ma się do jej zawartości. Dość paradoksalnie pan Wołodyjowski jawi się na kartach tomu jako wątek ściśle poboczny, służący do wtłoczenia między wiersze dużej dawki historii. Gdybym miała być złośliwa (a przecież nie jestem ;)) doszukiwałabym się tu nieudanej próby ...more
Al
Oct 30, 2015 Al rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Anyone who thinks history is old news.
Shelves: in-my-library
Interesting finale to the entire Trilogy. The last volume seemed to get away from making the history of the period the main focus. The characters and their beliefs were more focused. While saying that, the story shows how deeply people can feel about issues, such as religion, honor, patriotic pride and self serving selfishness.

The trilogy is a microcosm of the world we live in today. Sadly, the human race has not found a way to live with each others beliefs and ideals. Rather amazing when you th
...more
Anna
Jul 18, 2007 Anna rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: polish
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Piet Michael
May 28, 2013 Piet Michael rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: polish
"Pan Wolodyjowski", trzecia czesc slynnej "Trylogii" H. Sienkiewicza. Wielka ta powiesc nie mialem dotad ochoty i odwagi czytac, podobnie jak "Krzyzakow", przekonany, ze sprobuje wchlonac mnie swiat pelen szowinistycznych stereotypow oraz nacjonalizmu. Ale jakze! Jest to wspaniala opowiesc historyczna nasycona akcja, przygodami, sporkami milosnymy, zdrada, miloscia i zazdroscia, walkami i pojedynkami ze staroswieckich powodow, i czym jeszcze potrzebnym rozrywkowym ksiazek lub filmom. Jest to wie ...more
Lucrecia
May 30, 2013 Lucrecia rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Después de mucho buscar este libro, finalmente llegó a mis manos. Sin duda continua en la linea de su predecesor, pero en mi opinión, no llega a superarlo. Miguel Volodiovski es un gran soldado (aunque no tan memorable como Andrés Kmita) que se entrega por completo a la lucha por la libertad de Polonia. La escritura de Sienkiewicz es impecable y para quienes gustan de la novela histórica, recomiendo mucho este libro.
Allen
Nov 10, 2011 Allen rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Outstanding tale of faith, loyality, and courage in the face of adversity. This translation by W. S. Kuniczak is extremely readable; I highly recommend it. In his last book of "The Trilogy", Henryk Sienkiewicz once agian provides characterers that I will long remember, including the heroine, Basia. Although I could go on about Fire in the Steppe, I think I will sit down to enjoy some warm mead and listen to the tales of Pan Zagloba.
Amanda
Jun 19, 2012 Amanda rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
In the tradition of Jane Eyre and Sense and Sensibility, this novel should have been made into a movie long ago. It has all the elements of those English classics, but the the setting is Eastern Europe.
Szymon
Oct 08, 2013 Szymon rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
It started quite slow but got more interesting towards the end. I still think the first book in the trilogy is my favorite.

I listened to the audiobook version read by Janusz Gajos and he did a wonderful job.
Chrissie
Oct 10, 2012 Chrissie marked it as own-unread  ·  review of another edition
Third Second in the series.

Currently available free at Amazon Kindle:
http://www.amazon.com/Michael-Histori...
Lee
Jan 15, 2009 Lee rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I can't remember how I found this, but Polish history has been a soft spot for me for decades. I really liked reading it, especially the "supporting" characters.
Craig
Aug 03, 2011 Craig rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Final volume in The Trilogy but also the weakest. Good story but very short and not as detailed and interesting as the others.
Elizabeth
I really wanted to love this book, but ultimately found it boring enough to not carry me through the whole thing. I don't say that about very many books.
Coşkun
Sep 01, 2010 Coşkun rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
it was one of my favorite books when I was teenage. great book, romantic and epic telling of history
Natalia
Natalia rated it really liked it
Feb 10, 2014
Drea
Drea rated it really liked it
Jan 21, 2012
Phatbastardiulian
Phatbastardiulian rated it liked it
Mar 06, 2010
Mike Wittie
Mike Wittie rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2008
Oleg
Oleg rated it really liked it
Nov 09, 2011
Natalia
Natalia rated it really liked it
May 29, 2014
Szymon Zet
Szymon Zet rated it really liked it
Mar 07, 2016
Sebastian Pypłacz
Sebastian Pypłacz rated it liked it
Jul 27, 2011
Ania Klupś
Ania Klupś rated it really liked it
May 10, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Śluby panieńskie
  • Kwiat kalafiora (Jeżycjada, #3)
  • Stara baśń
  • Sposób na Alcybiadesa
  • Mitologia: wierzenia i podania Greków i Rzymian
  • Pan Tadeusz
  • Panna z mokrą głową
  • Chłopi
  • Medaliony
  • Kamienie na szaniec
  • Wedding
  • On the Niemen
25619
Henryk Adam Aleksander Pius Sienkiewicz (also known as "Litwos"; May 5, 1846–November 15, 1916) was a Polish journalist and Nobel Prize-winning novelist. He was one of the most popular Polish writers at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries, and received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1905 for his "outstanding merits as an epic writer."

Born into an impoverished gentry family in the Podlasie vi
...more
More about Henryk Sienkiewicz...

Other Books in the Series

The Trilogy (6 books)
  • Ogniem i mieczem tom 1 (Trylogia, z obrazkami)
  • Ogniem i mieczem tom 2 (Trylogia, z obrazkami)
  • Potop
  • Potop. Tom II
  • Potop 3 (Trylogia, z obrazkami)

Share This Book



“ — Dla Boga, panie Wołodyjowski! Larum grają! wojna! nieprzyjaciel w granicach! a ty się nie zrywasz? szabli nie chwytasz? na koń nie siadasz? Co się stało z tobą, żołnierzu? Zaliś swej dawnej przepomniał cnoty, że nas samych w żalu jeno i trwodze zostawiasz?” 0 likes
More quotes…