Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “All Aboard!” as Want to Read:
All Aboard!
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

All Aboard!

3.57  ·  Rating Details ·  83 Ratings  ·  18 Reviews
From the creators of What Can a Crane Pick Up? comes a train-ride adventure—perfect for fans of Thomas the Tank Engine and Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site.

In this inviting, rhyming read-aloud, two kids become travel buddies as they watch cities and landscapes and other hard-working trains rush by, and also observe the conductor and funny goings-on inside the train
...more
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published September 23rd 2014 by Knopf Books for Young Readers (first published September 1st 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about All Aboard!, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about All Aboard!

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Dayna Derichs
Jun 10, 2016 Dayna Derichs rated it liked it
Rationale for choosing this book:

This book is in the collection of books written by Rebecca Kai Dotlich. As the adventures take off in this story, you could use it to review a variety of grammar skills. If you have read other books by this author, students will be engaged by the vibrant pictures and simple story, so adding a grammar lesson to this read aloud would work nicely.

Opening Moves:

Alerting the students to the various grammar and figurative language structures used in this book will help
...more
Russell
Jul 05, 2015 Russell rated it really liked it
The dream of an alternate timeline, where America has a robust and effective passenger rail system. One that can effectively transport people to where they need to go in a timely manner. Sure, the book touches upon the freight which dominates the rail system in reality, but only briefly.

The ghost town is an interesting landmark for the train to pass. Are we to believe that the railroad brought economic ruin to the town and it no longer stops there, or did the railroad never stop at that now deso
...more
Amy
Jan 29, 2015 Amy added it
Shelves: j-picture-books
Rhyming text with a pleasant, lilting cadence and impossibly adorable pictures (even the thunder clouds are smiling!). The winning illustrations plus the perennially popular subject matter (trains will never go out of style with the under-5 set, even if they're an outmoded form of transportation) pretty much guarantee that this one will never be on the shelf. :) (Had to add a smiley face cause that's just what Mike Lowery's illustrations do to me.)
Sara Grochowski
This rhyme-filled train adventure will keep readers engaged from beginning to end as they pass through ghost towns, explore the various things I train can carry, and experience a visit from a friendly mechanic. Accessible illustrations and plenty of fun sound effects are sure to win over even the littlest listeners.
Read  Ribbet
Oct 05, 2014 Read Ribbet rated it liked it
With distinctive illustrations from Mike Lowery (Ribbit, Rabbit), All Aboard celebrates a train ride as we see humans on the train and learn what else is transported by trains as it passes through many locations. Fun book for a transportation unit.
Jschofi4
A pleasant cadence and informative text appropriate for preschool and early elementary readalouds, this is a good addition to any train or vehicle story time. Some of the spreads were too busy for my taste, and the handwritten lettering felt sloppy, but the cadence of the text made up for it.
Laura Salas
Jan 28, 2015 Laura Salas rated it it was amazing
I loved this one even MORE than WHAT CAN A CRANE PICK UP! Both will appeal to the same audience--kids who love fun words and rhyme, and especially kids fascinated with transportation. The text is fun but also quite beautiful, and the sound effects are great!
Vanessa
May 07, 2015 Vanessa rated it really liked it
With really adorable pictures and catchy phrases, children are whisked away on a train adventure. The colors are lovely and I love that the little speech bubbles rhyme with the text.
Recommended for ages 4+
Mary
This is a great book for young children who like trains- there is a lot of interaction in the story and fun pictures and word bubbles to keep children interested. Great for ECE ages!
Kimberly
Nov 24, 2014 Kimberly rated it really liked it
It's possible that I liked this one so much because I love trains. But the illustrations are fun too, and so is the rhyme.
Lizzie
Dec 27, 2014 Lizzie rated it really liked it
I like that the speech bubbles are part of the main rhyming text. It helps with the flow of reading. I'm going to try it out at Storytime.
Anthony
Train travel across the open plains leads to friendship and adventure for two travelers. Sights, and sounds makes for a pleasurable ride from beginning to end.
Paula
"Illustrations and rhyming text show two boys who meet on a train ride--as they pass through various landscapes and by other hard-working trains--on their way to camp"-- Provided by publisher.
Grillables
Grillables rated it liked it
Nov 13, 2016
Sharon
Sharon rated it it was amazing
Dec 15, 2015
Katie Newton
Katie Newton rated it it was amazing
Jun 29, 2015
Hilary
Hilary rated it really liked it
Nov 03, 2014
Lindsay Fouts
Lindsay Fouts rated it it was amazing
Jul 14, 2016
Theresa
Theresa rated it liked it
Dec 27, 2014
Beverly
Beverly rated it liked it
Oct 20, 2015
Rachel
Rachel rated it liked it
Oct 24, 2014
Ashley Sturgill
Ashley Sturgill rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2015
Katy
Katy rated it really liked it
Oct 20, 2014
Jj
Jj rated it really liked it
Mar 07, 2015
Micah B
Micah B rated it it was amazing
Jan 29, 2016
Liz
Liz rated it liked it
Jan 28, 2015
Jennifer
Jennifer rated it really liked it
Dec 05, 2015
Sylvester
Apr 16, 2015 Sylvester rated it liked it
2* art
3* story/rhyme
Katherine
Katherine rated it really liked it
Aug 09, 2016
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
559903

Rebecca is a poet and picture book author of such titles as What is Science? (a 2006 Subaru SB&F prize finalist), and Lemonade Sun (an American Booksellers "Pick of the Lists"). Her work is featured widely in poetry anthologies and textbooks. Rebecca promotes children's poetry, giving presentations and workshops to students, teachers, librarians and writers. She lives in Indiana.
More about Rebecca Kai Dotlich...

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »