Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Reviewing Life (A Review Story, #2)” as Want to Read:
Reviewing Life (A Review Story, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Reviewing Life (A Review Story)

by
3.73  ·  Rating Details ·  22 Ratings  ·  9 Reviews
Description:
Sequel to Five Star Review
A Review Story

Recovering alcoholic Marshall Ellerbee still grieves the loss of his best friend and lover, Eric. After a year of sobriety, Marshall accepts a new job with the Wellness Center, something else to help him continue cleaning up his life. Things are finally improving when his sponsor has a heart attack. The counselor hired t
...more
ebook, 134 pages
Published November 20th 2013 by Dreamspinner Press (first published November 19th 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Reviewing Life, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Reviewing Life

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-52)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Dani Elle Maas
Dec 04, 2013 Dani Elle Maas rated it really liked it
First let me start with saying this was one of the stories I was really looking forward to coming out one day! The first book I read from this author had me absolutely captivated with her portrayal of Cade and Eric, the main characters of “Five Star Review”. So what a great thing to find out it was start of a series.

In this second part of the Review series, we meet Marshall and Kyle, both of whom we know from the first book. Kyle is Eric bests friend and and Marshall we know as Eric his nemesis.
...more
LiveYourLife BuyTheBook
Nov 21, 2013 LiveYourLife BuyTheBook rated it really liked it
4 Stars
A "Live Your Life, Buy The Book" Review

I am so glad the author wrote Marshall’s story. I love when authors redeem characters. Forgiving Marshall isn’t an easy thing to do after what we learned he did to Eric in Five Star Review, first book in this series, but I think I have. Eric forgiving him wasn’t surprising since he has such a beautiful soul. However, his best friend is another story. That’s who is playing Marshall’s love interest in this book. Drama and tension from the start, right?
...more
Tina Marie
Dec 17, 2013 Tina Marie rated it really liked it
After reading Five Star Review and meeting Marshall, it was clear that he was a tortured soul. All the horrible things he did to keep Cade and Eric apart were done out of his unhappiness and inner turmoil. I so wanted to see what had happened to Marshall and was thrilled to bits when Lara said he was getting his own book.

Marshall had lost Eric, who had been his long-time best friend and lover, due to his own actions. When we catch up with him, he is a recovering alcoholic with a year of sobriety
...more
Chris Einfach unverbesserlich
Marshall Ellerbee ist ein trockener Alkoholiker, der seinem Leben endlich einen neuen Sinn gegeben hat. Doch noch immer plagen ihn Schuldgefühle. Denn im Suff verursachte er einen folgenschweren Autounfall, der seinen Geliebten Eric in den Rollstuhl brachte. Inzwischen hat Eric sein Leben wieder in Griff und sogar einen neuen Lebensgefährten. Marshall hingegen ist allein und muss nun auch noch mit dem Tod eines engen Freundes und Mentors fertig werden. Ausgerechnet Kyle, der beste Freund von ...more
GayListBookReviews
Apr 08, 2014 GayListBookReviews rated it liked it
This story will make more sense if you read the first book, Five Star Review, before hand. This is Marshall and Kyle’s story, but so much of their past and issues involve Eric that it helps to know Eric’s version of events.

Marshall is trying to get his life back on track after years of devastating addiction to alcohol has left it in shambles. He has burned all of his bridges and spent so many years drunk that he has no friends and is relearning how to interact with his family. I felt for Marshal
...more
Joyfully Jay
Dec 27, 2013 Joyfully Jay rated it really liked it
Shelves: melanie
This review was originally written for Joyfully Jay Reviews.

4 stars


I thoroughly enjoyed Lara Brukz’s first story in the series, Five-Star Review. That novel featured Eric Carillo and Cade Montgomery’s story. But Marshall figured largely in that tale as the ex-lover who, driving drunk, put Eric in the wheelchair and the lifestyle that isolated him in his loft. His attempts to re-enter Eric’s life after the accident only caused more pain and heartache through a scheme hatched by a drunken Marshall
...more
The Novel Approach Reviews
Dec 22, 2013 The Novel Approach Reviews rated it really liked it
In Reviewing Life, Lara Brukz gave me what I had been hoping for since I realized just how much pain Marshall was truly in. She let us see the kind man hidden under the layer of protective anger and just plain meanness. She revealed a caring man capable of love who was desperately sorry for his past actions. Lara Brukz gave Marshall what so many characters don’t get; a chance at redemption. It was delightful to see the changes in him. This book stands alone or can be read after Five Star Review. ...more
Melanie
Feb 11, 2014 Melanie rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: everyone


Rating: 4 stars out of 5

For my full review, visit http://wp.me/p220KL-1TG

A Review Story series continues with the villain of the last book, Marshall Elllerbee trying to pull his life together after the events of the last story and his alcoholism have trashed his life. Brukz takes a damaged man and makes a monster not only worth of our compassion but someone we understand and start to root for as he gets his life together.

Highly recommended along with the first book in the series.


For all my revi
...more
Alina
Mar 02, 2014 Alina rated it it was amazing
I liked this one more, than it's prequel.
Less sappy and more to the point and I've been interested in Marshal's fate since the first book. Sure Kyle behaved like an ass when the main conflict happened, but still he apologized and did a little groveling, so I forgave him. Marshall's journey to redemption was flawless.

Now I'm waiting for the hot paramedic Dane's story!!! )))
Aðalsteinn Schmidt
Aðalsteinn Schmidt rated it did not like it
May 07, 2014
Leaundra
Leaundra rated it it was amazing
Dec 07, 2013
Sophie
Sophie rated it did not like it
Nov 21, 2013
Melamory
Melamory rated it it was amazing
Mar 02, 2014
Kelly Taylor
Kelly Taylor rated it liked it
Jul 22, 2014
Nik
Nik rated it really liked it
Jun 25, 2014
Alyse
Alyse rated it liked it
Dec 23, 2013
Buda
Buda rated it it was amazing
Nov 26, 2013
glorybox6
glorybox6 rated it liked it
Sep 21, 2014
whitney
whitney rated it really liked it
Nov 20, 2013
Amina
Amina rated it liked it
Jun 19, 2014
Ignis
Ignis rated it liked it
Dec 07, 2013
Shovelofjustice
Shovelofjustice rated it it was amazing
Mar 02, 2014
Dre
Dre added it
Aug 17, 2014
Kat
Kat marked it as to-read
Nov 14, 2013
Jen4607
Jen4607 marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2013
Nic
Nic marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
JustJen "Miss Conduct"
JustJen "Miss Conduct" marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2013
Neko
Neko marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2013
Tj
Tj marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2013
Sara
Sara marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2013
Riley Hart
Riley Hart marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2013
Methusellah
Methusellah marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2013
Andrew
Andrew marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2013
Melissa Murray
Melissa Murray marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2013
D-Dee
D-Dee marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2013
R.B.
R.B. added it
Nov 23, 2013
Jay
Jay added it
May 21, 2015
Suzy
Suzy marked it as to-read
Nov 24, 2013
Suhara
Suhara marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2013
Kathy
Kathy marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2013
KimberlyRose
KimberlyRose marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2013
Allie
Allie marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2013
Ann
Ann marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2013
Dena
Dena marked it as to-read
Dec 08, 2013
NancyM
NancyM added it
Dec 08, 2013
Lucia
Lucia marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2013
Mary H
Mary H marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2013
Michael Mandrake
Michael Mandrake marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2014
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other Books in the Series

A Review Story (2 books)
  • Five Star Review (A Review Story, #1)

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »