Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini - Expert Book Review & Analysis” as Want to Read:
And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini - Expert Book Review & Analysis
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini - Expert Book Review & Analysis

3.79  ·  Rating Details ·  72 Ratings  ·  8 Reviews
Expert Book Reviews presents a comprehensive review, analysis and plot summary of Khaled Hosseini's novel And the Mountains Echoed.

This is an epic tale set in the mold of Doctor Zhivago, in which the lives of the characters are determined, often tragically, by great historical circumstances and events that they are powerless to control. Khaled Hosseini’s story tells of a l
...more
Kindle Edition
Published August 12th 2013 by Expert Book Reviews
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Be the first to ask a question about And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini - Expert Book Review & Analysis

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Lesley Fletcher
Jan 05, 2014 Lesley Fletcher rated it it was ok
I need not tell the story as so many reviewers have done so already. Abdullah and Pari and their Uncle and Father made for wonderful characters right from the start of the book and so as I turned each page I found myself attaching to them. (I was a bit disappointed early on that Hosseini resorted to a letter being written from the Uncle rather than finding another way to tell the story the Uncle told.) Then, the attachment faded as quickly as they all disappeared from the story. It was all ...more
Robert
Sep 24, 2013 Robert rated it it was amazing
Compelling stories about families living in an unpredictable world affected by events beyond their control. This is a masterful book that brings to mind other tales of families living with the consequences of large historical events.
Sandy Edidin
Sep 21, 2013 Sandy Edidin rated it really liked it
I love his books. The culture gives us a perspective that is similar but different. I always look forward to his books.
Barnana Sarkar
Aug 25, 2013 Barnana Sarkar rated it it was amazing
Just like the previous two books, this too successfully compelled me to sit back for hours digging my nose in it and forgetting the regular chores of the mortal world. Listening to Abdullah's father's tale I did feel my heart trying to break open the rib cage as it sensed the up coming doom that would fall upon the innocent relationship of the sibblings. Very easy to relate, this novel is a must read.
Psikowitz
Sep 03, 2013 Psikowitz rated it really liked it
I read Hosseini's three books and found this one to be somewhat predictable. The story was touching and he wove the stories of individuals together into a touching finale. I enjoyed Thousand Suns much more than his other two books. However, I would definitely recommend this book to individuals interested in learning more about the culture of Afghanistan.
Layla Gummel
Well written, great character development, but for me the plot was lacking. The beginning held promise, and I liked how it ended but too much fluff in the middle. I kept waiting for some exciting twist or turn that I never felt happened. Did not come close to measuring up to Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns
Lee
Sep 10, 2013 Lee rated it liked it
Good story, but predictable ending. I'm not a fan of 'skipping' from one character to another and one time period to another and the author used it to extremes. Very well written.
Judith Hughes
Judith Hughes rated it really liked it
May 23, 2016
Meaghan Callahan
Meaghan Callahan rated it really liked it
Jun 28, 2015
Vishakha
Vishakha rated it really liked it
Jan 07, 2014
Monique
Monique rated it liked it
Oct 02, 2013
Maggie O'leary
Maggie O'leary rated it it was ok
Sep 21, 2013
Marty Roberts
Marty Roberts rated it liked it
Nov 30, 2013
Nancy
Nancy rated it really liked it
Dec 18, 2014
Sandra
Sandra rated it really liked it
Jan 06, 2015
Bonnie
Bonnie rated it really liked it
Nov 17, 2013
Anne Ryan
Anne Ryan rated it it was ok
Oct 23, 2013
Kylie
Kylie rated it really liked it
Feb 10, 2014
Nancy
Nancy rated it it was amazing
Oct 05, 2015
Cathryne Whitten
Cathryne Whitten rated it it was amazing
May 07, 2014
Milica Krivokuca
Milica Krivokuca rated it really liked it
Nov 21, 2013
Nadia Iqbal
Nadia Iqbal rated it it was amazing
Oct 14, 2013
Gaynor Dowman
Gaynor Dowman rated it really liked it
Nov 05, 2013
Bridget Griffith
Bridget Griffith rated it really liked it
Mar 02, 2016
Monali
Monali rated it liked it
Dec 03, 2013
Jennifer French
Jennifer French rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2015
Patricia Uribe
Patricia Uribe rated it really liked it
Jun 04, 2016
vivian krensel
vivian krensel rated it it was amazing
Feb 04, 2014
Expert Book Reviews
Expert Book Reviews rated it it was amazing
Nov 15, 2013
Kimberlyconway
Kimberlyconway rated it it was amazing
Feb 06, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book