Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Beautiful and the Cursed: Marco's Story (The Dispossessed, #1.5)” as Want to Read:
The Beautiful and the Cursed: Marco's Story (The Dispossessed, #1.5)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Beautiful and the Cursed: Marco's Story (The Dispossessed #1.5)

by
3.91 of 5 stars 3.91  ·  rating details  ·  88 ratings  ·  15 reviews
For readers of Lauren Kate's Fallen series comes a digital original short story set in the world of The Beautiful and the Cursed that follows Ingrid and Gabby Waverly and the terrifying forces determined to take their lives. Read it before the sequel, The Lovely and the Lost, is available in 2014 from Delacorte Press.

Praise for The Beautiful and the Cursed:

“A deliciously s
...more
ebook, 35 pages
Published July 16th 2013 by Delacorte Press (first published January 1st 2013)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Beautiful and the Cursed, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Beautiful and the Cursed

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 599)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Frannie Panglossa
Wait, WHAT?!
THAT IS THE ENDING? ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?

Okay, so. Is this set after The beautiful and the cursed or before? Because it could be both ways. I don't remember Marco saying anything in the first book about not having humans to protect. In fact, I think he did, so probably this happened after the events of the first book.

It was an incredibly short novella (so yeah, maybe 1.99 was not a quite fair price to be honest), though it was just as enticing and interesting as the previous wh
...more
Lucia
Casi paso de largo esta historia corta porque el personaje de Marco no me gustaba mucho en el primer libro, pero al final estuvo bien. Ahora Marco me cae un poquito mejor xD
Spoon
Mar 22, 2015 Spoon rated it 3 of 5 stars
Shelves: 2015
It did what it was supposed to. Give more insight into Marco... Kind of. His rigidity with the other gargoyles, it's not reserved for them, it's what he breathes, how he lives.

Is a character that shall not be named going to show up in future...? Huh? Huh??? And like others, I'm a little confused about the time frame. Before or after the first book...? It's 1.5, but it feels like it's before...

Also, I was disappointed when I got to the end because it was so short. I was only at 45% when it ended.
...more
Rebecca
Jun 23, 2014 Rebecca marked it as hmm-maybe
I find it interesting that the author decided to write a short story about Marco, one of the more unlikable characters from The Beautiful and the Cursed. (view spoiler) I'm kind of torn about whether I want to read this or not - on the one hand, I really liked the first book. On the other hand, I really didn't like the second. I think I may see if it's available from th ...more
Holly
So, I'm conflicted.

I was stoked about this novella because I wanted to know what makes Marco tick-- wanted to know his backstory, what happened in his human life that brought about his becoming Dispossessed. I wanted to see more of his character, see something that humanized him a little bit, made him likeable as a character. I mean, I wanted to find a way to like him. But I didn't get that.

I mean, Page Morgan could have done that on purpose, I supposed, to show that there ISN'T anything human l
...more
YA Reads Book Reviews
Originally posted on www.yareads.com, reviewed by Nichole.

I fell in love with The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan this year…head over heels, gasping for more, crying on the inside because I had about another year to wait for the second book…that kind of love. I actually didn’t know that this short story about Marco was being released. I ended up finding out about it through Twitter, and you can bet your ass that I went and bought it ASAP. This is a really short ebook. It’s only 35 pages,
...more
Stephanie
We were briefly introduced to Marco in The Beautiful and the Cursed and I'll be honest, I didn't like him all that much. But I bought this novella because it would take me back into the world Miss Morgan has created. How could I pass up an opportunity like that? I got caught up in reading other things though and it wasn't until I read my ARC of The Lovely and the Lost that I knew I absolutely had to read this.

This brief look into Marco's world and perspective felt completely true to his charact
...more
Cathie
story from The Beautiful and the Cursed
Marco's POV
An episode of when he protects his humans. Set current or just before the arrival of Lady Brickton and family from London. Vander Burke makes an appearance.
Regina
Here's my review:

http://mereadalot.com/2013/07/17/the-...

I wasn't sure if I should like or if I could trust Marco in the Beautiful and the Cursed, but after this novella I am a dedicated Marco fan! Official review to be posted on my blog soon! mereadalot.com
Megan
A must-read for anyone who enjoyed TB&TC. I loved the opportunity to get inside Marco’s head because he is just such a fun character. And guess what?! There is also preview of “The Lovely and the Lost” at the end of this novella! Eek! Now the waiting for Book 2 begins…
Renee
poor Marco. that's all I have to say about that.

this did help tide me over while waiting for book 2. Sooo tempted to read the sneek peek of it at the end, but I wont.
Aydrea
Loved getting background on Marco and see some more of Vander :)
Patricia
I loved going back to this world...my only complaint...that it was way too short!!
Waecat
Waecat marked it as to-read
May 03, 2015
Lynsey Letterman
Lynsey Letterman marked it as to-read
May 02, 2015
Teritj
Teritj marked it as to-read
May 01, 2015
Vicky
Vicky marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2015
Krenar Gjomemo
Krenar Gjomemo marked it as to-read
Apr 28, 2015
Adrianna
Adrianna marked it as to-read
Apr 28, 2015
Brooke Tyler
Brooke Tyler marked it as to-read
Apr 27, 2015
Crista
Crista added it
Apr 27, 2015
Jessica
Jessica marked it as to-read
Apr 25, 2015
Sarah Black
Sarah Black marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2015
Telisha
Telisha is currently reading it
May 01, 2015
Ylenia
Ylenia marked it as to-read
Apr 23, 2015
Brooke
Brooke marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 19 20 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Our Souls to Keep (Our Souls to Keep, #1)
  • The Double Life of Incorporate Things (Magic Most Foul, #3)
  • Pazuzu's Girl
  • The First Star to Fall (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1.5)
  • Ward Against Darkness (Chronicles of a Reluctant Necromancer #2)
  • Harmonic (Dissonance, #1.5)
  • The HP Mallory Set, Jolie Wilkins Books 1 & 2, Dulcie O'Neil Books 1 & 2
  • Inception (The Reaping Chronicles, #1)
  • Earth 2788 - The Earth Girl Short Stories (Earth Girl, #0.5)
  • The Hidden Prince (The Orphan Queen, #0.1)
  • Strikeforce (Skyship Academy, #3)
  • The Shadow Revolution (Crown & Key, #1)
  • A Dawn Most Wicked (Something Strange and Deadly, #0.5)
  • Atlantis Rising
  • The Witch's Betrayal (The Assassin's Curse, 0.5)
  • The Heir Apparent (Internment Chronicles, #2.5)
  • The Little Stormdancer (The Lotus War, #1.5)
  • Portrait of a Donor (Starters, #1.75)
739875
I'm the author of the YA Gothic thriller THE BEAUTIFUL & THE CURSED, its sequel THE LOVELY & THE LOST, and the upcoming THE WONDROUS & THE WICKED. I've been intrigued by les grotesques ever since I came across an old, black-and-white photograph of a Notre Dame gargoyle keeping watch over the city of Paris. I wanted to tell that gargoyle's story. Soon, the idea for The Dispossessed seri ...more
More about Page Morgan...

Other Books in the Series

The Dispossessed (3 books)
  • The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed, #1)
  • The Lovely and the Lost (The Dispossessed, #2)
  • The Wondrous and the Wicked (The Dispossessed, #3)
The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed, #1) The Lovely and the Lost (The Dispossessed, #2) The Wondrous and the Wicked (The Dispossessed, #3)

Share This Book