Lark
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Lark

4.31 of 5 stars 4.31  ·  rating details  ·  84 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Set in seventeenth-century England under Cromwell, Sally Watson's LARK combines historical intrigue with romantic adventure in the high-spirited tale of a young girl who escapes from her uncle's stolid Puritan family.

The daughter of Royalists exiled to France, thirteen-year-old Lark finds the prospect of marrying her cousin Will-of-God so distasteful that she decides to fl...more
hardcover, 223 pages
Published 1966 by Holt, Rinehart & Winston (first published 1964)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Lark, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Lark

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 139)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Maddy Barone
Sally Watson has a deft hand with dialogue, description and character building. It's hard to pick a single title of Sally Watson's as my most favorite. But Lark is right up there. There are scenes that I adore to re-read. I love the character of Lark and James is a hoot. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Jack Baillot
To sum up Lark I shall use the following description....JAMES!!!!!!!!!!!
I love James, and Lark is a really fun character. She came close to driving me crazy sometimes, but I liked her too much to be annoyed with her. But James.....he was by far my favourite. Even if he drove me crazy sometimes too.
Sps
For fans of Louisa May Alcott, Karen Cushman, L.M. Montgomery, or other writers of spirited girls from the Anglo-Saxon past. If a kid has outgrown the American Girls and likes a drop of romance, offer this.





Laura
I have been re-reading this series (my favorite from probably 6th grade?) with my daughter. Some of the best historical fiction ever and fabulous girl role models.
Lindsey
Nov 21, 2007 Lindsey rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Rose
Shelves: fiction
Wonderfully sweet, candid tale of a young Catholic girl whose bravery and common sense shine forth - very inspiring! :)
Nathalie
I read this like 456789 years ago in grade school and I could NEVER FIND IT EVER AGAIN. THE MYSTERY IS OVER
Georgia
Georgia marked it as to-read
Aug 19, 2014
Taylor
Taylor marked it as to-read
Aug 06, 2014
Kara
Kara marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2014
Erin
Erin added it
Aug 23, 2014
Emma
Emma added it
Jul 26, 2014
Kawalker
Kawalker marked it as to-read
Jul 08, 2014
Lindenizen
Lindenizen marked it as to-read
Jun 18, 2014
Bunnyjadwiga
Bunnyjadwiga marked it as to-read
Jun 04, 2014
Nahila
Nahila marked it as to-read
May 10, 2014
Micki Levin
Micki Levin marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2014
Christina Browne
Christina Browne marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2014
Christina Dawn
Christina Dawn marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Watson is a YA historical fiction writer, mostly about the British royals. She moved to England in 1964 and lived there for 24 years. Her most well-known works are parts of her English Family Tree series. Most of her books went out of print in the 1970s, many eventually reprinted by Image Cascade. She has also written YA novels set in ancient Egypt.

Her most recent book is The Angry Earth, an adul...more
More about Sally Watson...
Witch of the Glens Jade Linnet The Hornet's Nest Mistress Malapert

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »