Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Heart-Shaped” as Want to Read:
Heart-Shaped
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Heart-Shaped

3.27 of 5 stars 3.27  ·  rating details  ·  44 ratings  ·  11 reviews
Written with sensitivity, humour and a lightness of touch, HEART-SHAPED is a companion to Siobhan Parkinson's highly-acclaimed novel, BRUISED - for fans of Meg Rosoff, Aidan Chambers and David Levithan. Annie makes a startling discovery one day - and everything changes. She fears for the safety of her boyfriend Jonno, who has vanished, knowing he is in desperate trouble. F ...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published August 1st 2013 by Hodder Children's Books
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Heart-Shaped, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Heart-Shaped

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 82)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Shannon
Link To My Blog Here!




REVIEW: Heart Shaped is Parkinson's companion novel which takes place in the same time frame as Bruised. Although the books are linked, you do not have to have read Bruised before reading this which is good as it has been many many years since I last read Bruised and I still enjoyed this novel.

This novel centres around Annie, an Irish teenager whose life is a little up and down lately. Firstly she has to deal with the troubles of secondary school, secondly she is dealing w
...more
Shaz Goodwin
I haven’t read Bruised but that hasn’t affected my reading experience of Heart Shaped.

Narrated by 14 year old Annie, we get to experience the hell that her life becomes after stumbling on something that traumatises her and brings up unhealed emotional wounds from her own childhood.

The people in her life – best friend Emma, her father, her brother Jaimie, the psychiatrist and teacher Mr O’Connell all have a part to play in supporting her. The anguish she feels over Jono’s disappearance feels very
...more
Arjun Thakrar (Excellent Reads)

Heart Shaped. The title instantly reminded me of Heart Shaped Bruise so naturally I was on the look out for any similarities between the books and whilst there were many difference I did seem to find one major; whether I was looking to hard or not, a lot of this book is Annie telling her head doctor her story... which is nearly identical to what happened in Heart Shaped Bruise. However that's beside the point. Overall it was a good story, well written and evoking a lot of emotion, but it just wa
...more
Kirsty Vizard
Heart Shaped is an emotional and passionate insight into a fourteen year old girl's mind as she tries to negotiate love, death, school, her relationship with her father and her friends. Annie is the book's narrator and the prose could be said to be erratic, but I like the style which is authentic to her thoughts which are constantly changing.
Despite the trauma Annie has experienced the reader still witnesses a side of Annie which is witty and unselfish. She is like a butterfly who the reader see
...more
Sarah
Pretty depressing to start with, very confusing halfway through, rather sweet at the end. I found that this book could've had a great, moving, meaningful message to it, but it was all so rushed.
A quick read, though I won't say easy because of the confusing bits.
Njabulo
It was a really great story , I would read it 500 times if I had time
Juanita Molina
interesting. I look forward to reading the other side of the story.....
Tania
I had to remind me myself that the.main character is a teen... And that are complex beings!
Charlie
Loved the cover but unfortunately this just wasn't for me! I didn't particularly like Annie as a protagonist and I just found the disjointed storyline confusing more than anything.
Parkinson is clearly a talented author though, so others may still enjoy it. Just not my thing!
Dearbhla
'Love is very powerful, Annie. But it can't cure cancer or stop a train. It doesn't work like that. '
Arianne
Actual rating: 3.5 - very good but there were a few niggling issues here and there.
Imani
Imani is currently reading it
Aug 31, 2015
Sidrah
Sidrah marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2015
Caoimhe
Caoimhe marked it as to-read
May 18, 2015
Vanessa Ye
Vanessa Ye marked it as to-read
May 17, 2015
Lisa
Lisa added it
Jan 09, 2015
Amy Herdman
Amy Herdman is currently reading it
Nov 18, 2014
Gabriela Pop
Gabriela Pop marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2014
Nympa
Nympa marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2014
Marja-liisa
Marja-liisa marked it as to-read
Oct 25, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
571193
Siobhán Parkinson is an Irish writer for both children and adults. Siobhán grew up in Galway and Donegal. Her books have won numerous awards and have been translated into several languages. She is currently a co-editor of Bookbird, the magazine of international children's literature organsation IBBY. She resides in The Republic of Ireland with her husband Roger Bennett and son Matthew.
More about Siobhán Parkinson...
Kathleen: The Celtic Knot Long Story Short Something Invisible Blue Like Friday Sisters...No Way!: Cindy's Diary, Ashling's Diary

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »