Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Empress of Australia: A Post-War Memoir” as Want to Read:
The Empress of Australia: A Post-War Memoir
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Empress of Australia: A Post-War Memoir

by
4.27 of 5 stars 4.27  ·  rating details  ·  15 ratings  ·  10 reviews
In the winter of 1948, a post-war darkness felled Britain and happiness, like sweets, was tightly rationed. So begins Harry Leslie Smith’s bitter-sweet memoir: The Empress of Australia which depicts life in post-war Yorkshire. Recently demobbed from the RAF, Smith and his German war bride must try to adjust to a civilian society that is scarred from not only the war but th ...more
ebook, First, 193 pages
Published March 2013 by Barley Hole (first published December 10th 2012)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Empress of Australia, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Empress of Australia

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 484)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Jeff Dawson
Jolly old England? If your part of the upper-crust, yes! If not, the future is not bright.

Mr. Smith has done it again. In the vein of Dickens, Mr. Smith paints a realistic picture of post war Great Britain. I have studied the topic for over thirty years, but something was missing in the accolades that were lavished on the Allies total victory over the Axis powers. Russia revealed in their new territorial acquisitions. The US flexed its power as a new Super power. But what of England? She too was
...more
Hannah Tantillo
This is the third in a series of memoirs.

The books weave together Harry's personal experience with history as we know it today. He was born in 1923 in England and lived in complete poverty growing up. His family situation was incredibly difficult his whole childhood. He joined the Royal Air Force during World War II and was stationed in Hamburg, Germany after the war. It was fascinating to see how people lived in Germany after the war--this was something I had absolutely never thought of. He als
...more
Terry Tyler
I was lucky enough to get this when it was on Amazon for free, but I would have bought it anyway, having read the two other books in the series, 1923: A Memoir and Hamburg 1947.

Harry Smith is back from the second world war, and brings his German bride over to live in darkest working class Halifax - a bit of a shock for her! The book documents not only the ups and downs of Harry and Friede's relationship, but also tells much about how people felt after the war, in both Germany and England, about
...more
Lucinda
Beautifully atmospheric, stunning and heart-wrenchingly candid this melancholic portrait, is a nostalgic tale of time past.

Poignant and indisputably compelling, this realistic account of life during post-war 1940’s Britain is truly insightful. War-related literature seems to hold sway during the events of World War one or the Second World War, but rarely one is able to glimpse what it was like after this catastrophically consequential moment within history. Peace may have been sought, but livin
...more
Elaine
When I heard that I had won this book as a Goodreads giveaway, I was eager to start reading it. It is an honest and open account of Harry's life after the end of the war. So many countries struggled to recover after WWII which caused many families to emigrate to Canada, U.S. or Australia. Harry had a tough upbringing, joined the RAF in WWII, and after the war, married a German woman he met in Hamburg. The first few years of their marriage was hard, from trying to make ends meet, looking for work ...more
Judie
The Empress of Australia, the third installment of Harry Smith's superb social commentary, is as honestly written and brilliantly conceived as the other two books. Harry, thank you for sharing your youth with us - it was such an inspiring journey and I admire your tenacity. It was a pleasure getting to know you.
Tina Wright
I loved the book..I couldn't stop reading once I started. It is third in a series and I have yet to read the 2nd book. I look forward to that one..Harry's honesty and dry wit are refreshing considering what he went through in his life..
Cynthia L'Hirondelle
Like all of Harry Leslie Smiths books, I could not put it down, very eloquently written and important social history.
Nikki Bywater
It is now 1948 and Harry is beginning a new life out of the RAF and with new wife Friede, they move back to Halifax, and begin their married life back living with Harry’s mother. Britain is left broken after the war; the future is looking dull and dark for the couple, with not many prospects on the horizon in Yorkshire, poverty and hardship is all that await them. Can Harry and Friede who survived a war, now survive the harsh and coldness of a life with nothing on the horizon?

This is the third i
...more
Meg
Not my favorite of his books, but nice to conclude the story.
Rosebud102097att.Net
Rosebud102097att.Net marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2015
Nicole Donze
Nicole Donze marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2015
Kate
Kate marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2015
Almost_18
Almost_18 marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2014
Kristi Ugland
Kristi Ugland marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2014
Michelle Gershon
Michelle Gershon marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2014
Belle1228
Belle1228 marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2014
Madeline
Madeline marked it as to-read
Sep 26, 2014
Jody
Jody marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2014
Angels
Angels marked it as to-read
Aug 31, 2014
Amanda Kruckenberg
Amanda Kruckenberg marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2014
Sara
Sara marked it as to-read
Aug 21, 2014
Unloquacious
Unloquacious marked it as to-read
Aug 19, 2014
Hannah Adelaide
Hannah Adelaide marked it as to-read
Aug 19, 2014
Leah
Leah marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2014
Debbie
Debbie marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2014
James
James marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
C.S. Woolley
C.S. Woolley marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 16 17 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Unfaithful Mind
  • I Think I'll Make It
  • Sailors of Stonehenge (Revised Edition)
  • Free Spirit : growing up on the road and off the grid
  • Bombing Nazi Germany: The Graphic History of the Allied Air Campaign That Defeated Hitler in World War II
  • Bonhoeffer the Assassin?: Challenging the Myth, Recovering His Call to Peacemaking
  • Passport to Nowhere
  • Saladin: Noble Prince of Islam
  • Dirty Old Man (A True Story)
  • R.A.E.C.E. Genesis
  • Dead Dreams (A Dakota Mystery #2)
  • Doomsday Diaries
  • Starlings' Yard
  • Virginia is for Zombies
  • Thomas Hardy: The World of his Novels
  • Exit Stage Left
  • The Sword And The Passion
  • Drummer Boy of Company C: Coming of Age in the Civil War
4491297


Harry Leslie Smith is a survivor of the Great Depression, a second world war RAF veteran and, at 90, an activist for the poor and for the preservation of social democracy. His Guardian articles have been shared over 60,000 times on Facebook and have attracted huge comment and debate. He has authored numerous books about Britain during the Great Depression, the second world war and postwar austerit
...more
More about Harry Leslie Smith...
Harry's Last Stand: How the World My Generation Built is Falling Down, and What We Can Do to Save It 1923: A Memoir: Lies and Testaments Hamburg 1947: A Place for the Heart to Kip The Barley Hole Chronicles: From Hell to Hamburg Love Among the Ruins

Share This Book