Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150: An Introduction” as Want to Read:
Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150: An Introduction
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150: An Introduction

3.60  ·  Rating Details  ·  10 Ratings  ·  2 Reviews
Compact but singularly well thought out material of a theological, logical, poetic as well as philosophical nature.
Paperback
Published May 5th 1988 by Routledge (first published January 1st 1983)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 61)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Tyler
Feb 20, 2011 Tyler rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Philosophy or Religious Studies
Shelves: philosophy
I read this book to understand how philosophy fared during the Dark Ages. The interesting angle Marenbon explores is that scholars of Late Antiquity (the Dark Ages) had a few ancient texts to work with but not all of them. For example, they had Plato's Timaeus but nothing else by him. As a result, Plato's overall philosophy could not be understood. With only a handful of ancient texts at their disposal it was difficult to distinguish Platonism from neo-Platonism, and to separate philosophy from ...more
Elizabeth
Feb 13, 2015 Elizabeth rated it liked it
Pretty good for figuring out what texts were available when and who was talking/corresponding with whom. A little hard to read, but then my main interest is not philosophy. Works well when paired with a broader overview like Colish's Medieval Foundations of the Western Intellectual Tradition, which is how I read it.
Deborah Maroulis
Deborah Maroulis rated it it was amazing
Feb 04, 2016
Martha King
Martha King marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2016
Wordsl Dreamsl
Wordsl Dreamsl marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2015
Ella
Ella added it
Sep 02, 2015
Alex
Alex rated it really liked it
Aug 28, 2015
Farouk Adil
Farouk Adil marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2015
Ohad Adi
Ohad Adi marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2015
John
John marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2015
Amogh Sahu
Amogh Sahu marked it as to-read
Jun 23, 2015
Eli Mackenzie
Eli Mackenzie marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2015
Reza
Reza marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2015
Emily
Emily marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2015
Mulugeta
Mulugeta marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2014
Joshua
Joshua marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2014
Diego Ospina
Diego Ospina marked it as to-read
May 31, 2014
Andreia
Andreia marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2016
Brent L.
Brent L. rated it liked it
Mar 25, 2015
Steve Miller
Steve Miller marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2013
Michael Knight
Michael Knight marked it as to-read
Aug 06, 2013
Matthew
Matthew marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2013
Brooke Evans
Brooke Evans marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2013
John
John rated it really liked it
Jan 11, 2016
Robert Wallace
Robert Wallace marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2013
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book