Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150: An Introduction” as Want to Read:
Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150: An Introduction
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150: An Introduction

3.67 of 5 stars 3.67  ·  rating details  ·  6 ratings  ·  1 review
Compact but singularly well thought out material of a theological, logical, poetic as well as philosophical nature.
Paperback
Published May 5th 1988 by Routledge (first published January 1st 1983)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150

The City Of Light by Jacob D'AnconaThe Pale Abyssinian by Miles BredinCadfael Country by Robin WhitemanScott and Scotland by Edwin MuirGerman Epic Poetry by Various
Ridiculously Underrated Books (Fewer than 20 Ratings)
32nd out of 1,672 books — 221 voters
The Republic by PlatoThus Spoke Zarathustra by Friedrich NietzscheCritique of Pure Reason by Immanuel KantMeditations by Marcus AureliusBeing and Time by Martin Heidegger
Best Philosophy Book
426th out of 565 books — 688 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 48)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Tyler
Feb 20, 2011 Tyler rated it 3 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of Philosophy or Religious Studies
Shelves: philosophy
I read this book to understand how philosophy fared during the Dark Ages. The interesting angle Marenbon explores is that scholars of Late Antiquity (the Dark Ages) had a few ancient texts to work with but not all of them. For example, they had Plato's Timaeus but nothing else by him. As a result, Plato's overall philosophy could not be understood. With only a handful of ancient texts at their disposal it was difficult to distinguish Platonism from neo-Platonism, and to separate philosophy from ...more
Scholar
Scholar marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2015
Emily
Emily marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2015
Mulugeta
Mulugeta marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2014
Joshua
Joshua marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2014
Diego Ospina
Diego Ospina marked it as to-read
May 31, 2014
Andreia
Andreia marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2014
Steve Miller
Steve Miller marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2013
Michael Knight
Michael Knight marked it as to-read
Aug 06, 2013
Matthew
Matthew marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2013
Brooke Evans
Brooke Evans marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2013
Robert Wallace
Robert Wallace marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2013
Tiago
Tiago added it
Feb 24, 2013
Arhontoula
Arhontoula marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2012
Austin Hilton
Austin Hilton marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2012
Tiago
Tiago added it
Dec 03, 2012
르크 잔다
르크 잔다 marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2012
Sem
Sem added it
Nov 07, 2012
Sara
Sara marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Tyler Lambright
Tyler Lambright marked it as to-read
Oct 26, 2012
George
George marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2012
Pavel
Pavel marked it as to-read
Sep 23, 2012
Njomza
Njomza marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2012
Dan
Dan marked it as to-read
Mar 14, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Medieval Philosophy: An Historical and Philosophical Introduction The Philosophy of Peter Abelard Routledge History of Philosophy, Volume 3: Medieval Philosophy Boethius Later Medieval Philosophy: (1150-1350) An Introduction

Share This Book