Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Call: Discovering Why You Are Here” as Want to Read:
The Call: Discovering Why You Are Here
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Call: Discovering Why You Are Here

4.08 of 5 stars 4.08  ·  rating details  ·  272 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Following in the tradition of The Invitation and The Dance, The Call is based on an inspirational poem, exploring how to live well, and continue to live a life full of integrity, commitment, happiness and passion. The Call continues the inspiring work create by Oriah Mountain Dreamer in her previous best selling books The Invitation and The Dance. In The Call she takes her ...more
Unknown Binding
Published May 7th 2010 by Not Avail (first published January 1st 2003)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Call, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Call

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 559)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Lucinda
‘The call’ is the moving and stunning conclusion to an epic trilogy that began with ‘the invitation’ and continued with ‘the dance’. This is a book that opens a window into your heart and which delves down into the very depths of ones soul, exploring what we know of ourselves through the eyes of other people thus handing us a mirror to look into. It helps the reader to explore who they are as an individual by understanding ultimately what it means to be human, by what makes us unique, distinctiv ...more
Lisa P.
I loved this book. Lots of little truths jumped out at me and the synchronicities I saw between Oriah's life and my own were uncanny.
Crystal
Inspirational, quality self-introspection with suggested meditations. Love everything by this author.
Anna-maria
I highly recommend this small but powerful book. Oriah models openness and dares to go beyond what we all think are our limitations. She takes us on her personal journey and shows us that commitment to self is critical to leading a healthy and happy life. One line in particular jumped off the page. It went something like this. Are you willing to break a promise to someone else in order to be true to yourself? Oriah is very real and honest with her humanity and teaches us how important it is to b ...more
Angie Millgate
Dec 31, 2007 Angie Millgate rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: everyone
Another one that I read over and over.
Tiffany
I am not sure what kept me to the end of the book. I have not walked away with any piece of vital information, but rather, a giant shrug with my hands up looking at the expansive sky. She is an interesting person to listen to, but not edifying other than by trying very hard, herself, to do life differently and see things differently with God leading the way, so inspiring at least.
Devika Koppikar
I was not that impressed with this book. The first two chapters seemed to be about the author going on a retreat and putting herself at the brink of starvation and exhaustion. I read this during an overseas trip, and this really wasn’t what I wanted to read about it. I did not finish it.
pianogal
This was a thought provoking book. I liked some of the questions she ponders. I don't agree with all her mythology/theology, but she's still a fairly grounded, realistic person.

I do wish I'd read the trilogy in order tho. I think this is the third but I read it first. Oh well...
Marianna
I should remember that I'm not really fond of new age books. The chapter on Your Word was the only one that I actually read...
Laura
Many interesting points to ponder, especially what is my word- listen.
k8beeZ
Oriah's stuff is just amazing. I liked this one a great deal!
Sharon
Apr 13, 2008 Sharon added it
interesting, not what I was looking for.
kristina York
kristina York marked it as to-read
Dec 26, 2014
Deb
Deb marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2014
Kelley Taylor
Kelley Taylor marked it as to-read
Dec 15, 2014
Seraphina
Seraphina marked it as to-read
Dec 14, 2014
Sharon Jones
Sharon Jones marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2014
Carlos Rodriquez
Carlos Rodriquez marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2014
Carole
Carole marked it as to-read
Dec 03, 2014
Jo
Jo marked it as to-read
Dec 01, 2014
Cheryl
Cheryl marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2014
Anca
Anca marked it as to-read
Nov 28, 2014
Jennifer
Jennifer marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2014
David D.
David D. marked it as to-read
Nov 15, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 18 19 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Path of Empowerment: New Pleiadian Wisdom for a World in Chaos
  • The Inner Sky: How to Make Wiser Choices for a More Fulfilling Life
  • The End of Your World: Uncensored Straight Talk on the Nature of Enlightenment
  • The Spiritual Emerson: Essential Writings by Ralph Waldo Emerson
  • Love Without Conditions
  • Personal Power through Awareness: A Guidebook for Sensitive People
  • Shamran - den som kommer
  • Infinite Self: 33 Steps to Reclaiming Your Inner Power
  • The Gift of Change: Spiritual Guidance for Living Your Best Life
  • The Circle
  • Spirit Song: The Introduction of No-Eyes
  • Breathe: Creating Space for God in a Hectic Life
  • The Complete Conversations with God
  • Living a Life That Matters: Resolving the Conflict Between Conscience and Success
  • Biological Psychology
  • No Matter How Loud I Shout: A Year in the Life of Juvenile Court
  • Medicine Cards: The Discovery of Power Through the Ways of Animals
  • How to Heal Toxic Thoughts: Simple Tools for Personal Transformation
The Invitation The Dance: Moving To the Rhythms of Your True Self What We Ache For: Creativity and the Unfolding of Your Soul Opening The Invitation: The Poem That Has Touched Lives Around the World Your Heart's Prayer: Following the Thread of Desire Into a Deeper Life

Share This Book