Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Somebody Up There Hates You” as Want to Read:
Somebody Up There Hates You
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Somebody Up There Hates You

by
3.50  ·  Rating Details  ·  1,994 Ratings  ·  397 Reviews
Chemo, radiation, a zillion surgeries, watching my mom age twenty years in twenty months: if that’s part of the Big Dude’s plan, then it’s pretty obvious, isn’t it? Somebody Up There Hates You.

SUTHY has landed me here in this hospice, where we—that’s me and Sylvie—are the only people under 30 in the whole place, sweartogod. But I’m not dead yet. I still need to keep things
...more
Paperback, 239 pages
Published September 3rd 2013 by Algonquin Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
Ethereal Fury by Jessica O'GorekAll Our Yesterdays by Cristin TerrillThe Earth Dwellers by David EstesAntigoddess by Kendare BlakeThe Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
New YA September 2013
55th out of 102 books — 74 voters
Because You'll Never Meet Me by Leah ThomasSomebody Up There Hates You by Hollis SeamonNever Eighteen by Megan BosticA Disconnected Life by Virginia AirdSay What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Chronically Corageous
2nd out of 16 books — 6 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Amy
Dec 04, 2013 Amy rated it did not like it
Shelves: 2013
For people who liked The Fault in our Stars, but wished it was terrible.
Dan Hajducky
Jul 14, 2014 Dan Hajducky rated it really liked it
Okay, first and foremost, I GET the comparisons to The Fault in Our Stars. Two kids, both dying of cancer. Yadda, yadda, yadda. If you've read both books, you'll see that that's where the comparisons should end. In The Fault in Our Stars, most of the story takes place in the real world. In Somebody Up There Hates You, the majority takes place in hospice care. If you know anything about serious illness, you'll know that there is a severe difference between hospice care (one month to live, evidenc ...more
Barbara
Jul 10, 2013 Barbara rated it did not like it
If only this book had been about more than just two teens dying to end the curse of virginity. Literally.

Unfortunately, the book only has one the one driver, and wondering when and how the two dying kids would meet under the sheets was not enough.

17 year old Ritchie is in hospice. So is 14 year old Sylvie. And like the mythical last man and woman on Earth they want to have sex. The hospital personnel think their budding romance is "cute."

(view spoiler)
...more
Kyoko SWords
May 26, 2015 Kyoko SWords rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Reseña completa: http://sabiouswords.blogspot.com/2014...
Es inevitable comparar este libro con 'Bajo la misma estrella' pero resultó que gracias a él descubrí porque el libro de John Green no me gustó tanto. AAATO tiene algo que BLME no, y es la crudeza real que una enfermedad terminal implica. Acá no se trata del amor entre dos enfermos de tragedia divina porque la naturaleza no los deja vivir (aunque si hay romance) se trata de sobrevivir y de lucha, de que en verdad es un milagro que los prot
...more
Aarón Asmat Aranda
Oct 26, 2014 Aarón Asmat Aranda rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Penny
Cancer books. Man, they are all over the place these days, aren't they. It seems as though you can't peruse any shelf of any book store without finding at bunch of cancer books. YA is littered with cancer books. Now don't get me wrong, I don't necessarily mind, it's just that a lot of these books are about the exact same thing: dying kid dealing with Feelings. There are few variations in these stories.

Okay, I'm coming across as insensitive. I'm not trying to, it's just that when you read as muc
...more
Claire
Oct 05, 2015 Claire rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
Un livre fort, où le sarcasme est la politesse du désespoir ! Pour ma part, j’ai beaucoup aimé !
Michelle Arrow
*0.5 star rating*

DNF @ 80 pages.

This was probably one of the worst books I've ever read. No doubt about it.




I hated it. "The new The Fault in Our Stars?" Haha, yeah right. This is a childish book with no sense of anything that makes you want to bawl because it was so bad. That's what the book really was fully.

I saw this book as fantasy, especially because of the writing. I understand that it wasn't, but the writing was so bad that it made everything seem like a joke and a dream. This was
...more
Clairem
3,5/5
Ce n'est pas un coup de cœur mais j'ai trouvé les personnages singuliers, uniques et tous extraordinaires dans leur genre.
Ce livre n'a absolument rien à voir avec Nos Etoiles Contraires malgré un contexte légèrement similaire.
Vladimir
Recuerdas cuando en "Bajo la misma estrella" Hazel dice: Este no es un libro sobre cáncer, porque los libros sobre Cáncer son una mierda.
Pues precisamente son deprimentes, difíciles y no sabes como sentirte mientras lees. Este libro no tiene NADA que que ver con TFIOS, es una historia completamente distinta, lo único es que este chico tiene Cáncer. La historia transcurre en un piso para enfermos terminales, ahi esta Richard, que conoce cada detalle de ahí, por todo el tiempo que lleva. Nunca sup
...more
Juliana Zapata
Oct 31, 2014 Juliana Zapata rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2014
Una mirada mas cruda del cancer que narra las experiencias en la etapa terminal de la enfermedad, como era de esperarse, me rompió el corazón

Reseña Completa: http://bastvilard.blogspot.com/2014/0...
Video-Reseña: http://youtu.be/v2sa6rHuV_g
Juanpa
Reseña completa: Alguien Allá Arriba te Odia

AAATO nos da una visión muy cruda y real de lo que significa vivir con cáncer para un adolescente. A este libro se le compara constantemente con Bajo la Misma Estrella, pero creo que el único punto de relación entre estos libros es que los protagonistas son dos adolescentes con cáncer. Hasta ahí. Siento que en este libro nos adentramos mucho más en el mundo de los pacientes que padecen cáncer, ya que logramos conocer la mecánica de una sala para pacien
...more
Rosy Trujillo
**Spoiler**


No me gusta leer libros sobre chicos con cancer cuya unica meta en la vida es quitarse la virginidad y ya -.- ¿Es neta?

En serio eso es lo unico que piensan los chicos de esa edad? Sin importar que tengan cancer o no?

Se que en "Bajo la misma estrella" llega a pasar algo similar pero no confundan, en TFiOS no se trata solo de eso.

Este libro se desarrolla en el area terminal de un hospital, no solo para chicos con cancer, tenemos otros personajes que tmb ya están en estado terminal pero
...more
IzamaRi H. Fabela
Mar 05, 2014 IzamaRi H. Fabela rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Al igual que todo el mundo, apenas leí la sinopsis de este libro se me vino a la mente “Bajo la misma estrella”, pero además de los adolescentes con cáncer, NO TIENEN NADA QUE VER el uno con el otro.



En este libro nuestro narrador es Richard, un adolescente que esta resentido con el gran jefe de arriba por tenerlo atado al hospital y a una silla de ruedas.

Y como todo adolescente, el Rey Ricardo tiene muy presente una cosa, el sexo. Puede que el chico se esté muriendo pero su libido aun esta vivit
...more
Abbe Hinder
good

I think I knew I was going to dislike Richard from the beginning because he always repeats himself by saying, "see" or, "okay?" or "right". It took all my strength not to jump into the book and punch him in the face. Hollis Seamon could have made this a killer book with such a sad and serious topic but instead she failed to do so. I was left underwhelmed and very upset with all the characters. And not in a good way.

Writing a realistic contemporary novel there has to be a realistic relationship
...more
Kelly (and the Book Boar)
Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/

NetGalley ARC – Thank you NetGalley : )

When you’re a teenager spending what is assumed to be your final month of life in a hospice ward, it’s just a given that you must be a member of the SUTHY Club. What other explanation can there be for 17-year old Richie and 15-year old Sylvie to be dying? Somebody up there must hate them, right? Just because they’re supposed to be dying, doesn’t mean that can’t live a little until their time is up
...more
Melissapalmer404
Apr 26, 2014 Melissapalmer404 rated it really liked it
Book #40 Read in 2014
Somebody Up There Hates You by Hollis Seamon (YA)

This is so much more than a cancer book. Richard (main character) is written in such a way that his voice is so true to life. Richard is in hospice and so is Sylvie....and both are teenagers. They try to retain some sort of normalcy with their budding romance but that creates more problems for both them and their families. The secondary characters (the harpy, Edward, Richard's mother, uncle and grandmother) are interesting and
...more
Sarah
Mar 24, 2016 Sarah rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
I was taken aback by how much this book affected me. I didn't expect it to have such a strong hold on me, but truthfully I was drawn in from the very beginning. Richard is sarcastic and witty, which makes the book hold an amusing tone for the most part. However, Seamon has no problem reeling you in with laughter, and making sure you're attached and dedicated to these characters, only to make them absolutely break your heart. When it comes down to it, these are young adults who are facing horrify ...more
Esteban Parra
Oct 04, 2015 Esteban Parra rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
La fuerza de la voz de Richard es increíble; una voz que representa a esa juventud desesperada, llena de vida, inquieta, rebelde, deseosa de experimentar, expectante ante el futuro, esa juventud impredecible de la que todos hemos hecho parte. No soy de este tipo de novelas, pero no puedo decir algo diferente: ME ENCANTÓ.
Yi Ly
Sep 28, 2014 Yi Ly rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Un libro peculiar. Me ha sorprendido durante toda la lectura, nunca sabía que encontraría en la página siguiente y es que el protagonista es muy especial, sarcástico como ninguno y sin pelos en la lengua. ¡Larga vida al rey Ricardo!
Heather Panella
May 27, 2014 Heather Panella rated it really liked it
Shelves: listened-to
This book is showing up a lot of places as a read-alike for John Green's Fault in Our Stars, and while there are strong similarities, the two books are different enough to justify each of them in their own right. Whereas I would say that TFIOS is a love story touched by cancer, I think that Somebody Up There Hates You is more of a cancer story touched by love. Richie is not the suave, gentle, too-good-to-be-true Augustus Waters. No, Richie is a real-life teenage boy with a brashness, dry wit, un ...more
Mikaela
It only took me a day to read this book - so it must've been good. It took me a while to get into the story, however I did like it. The characters were interesting, Sylvie and Richard's young love affair was intriguing. I've never read a book that has taken place in a hospice before, so it really gave me an insight as to what people are going through in a place like that. Richard and Sylvie portrayed themselves as strong people, when in reality, sadly they're not strong. They're crippling. Just ...more
Shawna
Aug 12, 2015 Shawna rated it it was amazing
I usually don’t pay much attention to reviews. A contradiction, I know, coming from someone who shares my love of great stories by writing reviews. But let me clarify. I don’t pay much attention to reviews unless they come from someone whose opinion I know and trust, someone who enjoys the same types of stories that I do. So I hope that’s how you view us here at the Muses, trusted friends who offer a little bit of something for everyone.

Having cancer sucks, even more so when you’re seventeen yea
...more
Dentro de un  Libro
3.5 estrellas
Los primeros comentarios que escuche cuando comencé a interesarme por este libro fueron las comparaciones con Bajo la misma estrella. Y después de haber leído los dos libros, puedo decir que si tienen una similitud, ambos cuentan con protagonista con cáncer, punto, hay terminan las semejanzas.

Alguien Allá Arriba Te Odia no es una historia de amor, pero por sobre todas las cosas no es una historia sobre una pareja. Es la historia de Richie, y su vida en la unidad de enfermos terminal
...more
MissSugarTown
Jul 01, 2014 MissSugarTown rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Coup de coeur infini...
Arelly
En cuanto lo vi me enamoré, si, fue amor a primera vista, me encantó la portada, y el título me llamo muchísimo la atención, cómo no iba a hacerlo, tremendo título pretencioso: Alguien Allá Arriba te Odia, en cuanto leí la sinopsis estaba convencida que el libro me gustaría, me puse a buscar y leer reseñas obviamente sin spoilers para ver que les había parecido el libro a otras personas, había algunos a quienes el libro había encantado y otros no tanto, luego me topé con videos de booktuber que ...more
Barb
What's up with all these dying teenager novels? I have no idea if a dying teen is like a magic ingredient for a great coming of age (or buying the farm) story but this one was just as wonderful as the last two dying teen novels I read. I really loved this protagonist's sharp irreverent wit and sarcasm. In fact I loved the whole cast of characters.

My thirteen year old picked this up at a book sale, read a little, then changed her mind, deciding it wasn't for her. I think she was right, it wasn't
...more
Ingrid
Apr 24, 2014 Ingrid rated it it was ok
Shelves: contemporary-ya, 2014
ESTOY TAN ENOJADA

HOLLIS, AUTORA, SEÑORA, ¡COMO QUIERA QUE LA LLAMEN! TENÍA UNA BUENA HISTORIA EN SUS MANOS. Y PODÍA DARLE UN GIRO, TANTO "BUENO" COMO "MALO". PERO, ¿USTED QUE HIZO? OH, ¡USTED QUÉ HIZO! AH, USTED LE DIO EL FINAL MÁS NOSÉCOMODEFINIRLOSINSONASCOMOUNALBAÑIL DE LA HISTORIA DE LOS LIBROS CON CÁNCER. ¡¿ES, ESTO, EN SERIO?!


UGHHHH!
NO, NO, NO.

ESTÁ MAL, MUY MAL.

Okay, sigo molesta. Pero bueno, hagamos esto.

"Alguien Allá Arriba Te Odia" nos cuenta la historia de Richard, un adolescente d
...more
Jill
Sep 05, 2013 Jill rated it liked it
Let’s acknowledge right away that there are some similarities to The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Two spunky teenagers dying of cancer are in love, and want to live out the rest of their days in a validation of their existences. But there are differences enough to justify reading this book as well as the wonderful book by John Green.

This story takes place in a hospice. As the 17-year old narrator Rich Casey explains, “you only get into hospice if your prognosis is under a month.” He continu
...more
Sarah (YA Love)
Review originally posted at YA Love

I was hesitant to read Somebody Up There Hates You because its main character, Richard, has terminal cancer. I don’t do well with “cancer books.” Hollis Seamon’s debut, however, was worth stepping out of my comfort zone.

This may not be the case for everyone, but Somebody Up There Hate You didn’t make me overly emotional while reading. Sure, a couple scenes made me teary, but I never actually cried. And I teared up over the most unexpected scenes. For instance,
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
  • Second Impact
  • Not Your Ordinary Wolf Girl
  • Chasing Shadows
  • The War within These Walls
  • Golden Boy
  • Living with Jackie Chan (Jumping Off Swings, #2)
  • Cherry Money Baby
  • Promise Me Something
  • Seeing Red
  • Dracula vs. Grampa at the Monster Truck Spectacular (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #1)
  • My Life with the Lincolns
  • Imperfect Spiral
  • Invisible Things
  • Hold Tight, Don't Let Go
  • House of Dance
  • Dime
  • Period 8
  • TMI
1075499
Hollis reads, writes, cooks, and gardens in Kinderhook NY. She teaches writing and literature at the College of Saint Rose in Albany NY and the MFA in Creative Writing Program of Fairfield University, Fairfield CT.

Her newest novel, SOMEBODY UP THERE HATES YOU, is one of the inaugural YA books to be published in Fall 2013 by Algonquin Young Readers. Her collection of short stories, Corporeality, wa
...more
More about Hollis Seamon...

Share This Book



“Sometimes, you know, human kindness just knocks you off your feet.” 2 likes
“Every¬body dies, dudes and dudettes. That’s the name of the game” 2 likes
More quotes…