Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Another Day as Emily” as Want to Read:
Another Day as Emily
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Another Day as Emily

3.53 of 5 stars 3.53  ·  rating details  ·  138 ratings  ·  39 reviews
Eleven-year-old Suzy just can't win. Her brother is a local hero for calling 911 after seeing their elderly neighbor collapse, and only her best friend was able to win a role in the play they both auditioned for. Feeling cast aside from all angles, Suzy sees a kindred spirit in Emily Dickinson, the subject of her summer project. Suzy decides to escape from her disappointme...more
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published May 13th 2014 by Knopf Books for Young Readers (first published January 1st 2014)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Another Day as Emily, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Another Day as Emily

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 420)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Ms. Yingling
In this novel in verse, Suzy is miffed because her younger brother gets all the glory for calling 911 when Suzy's friend and neighbor, the elderly Mrs. Harden, collapses. Suzy stayed and held her hand, but no one cares about that. Suzy isn't getting along all that well with her friend Allison, and after Suzy is assigned Emily Dickinson for a summer project, she takes her research one step further and starts to try to be a recluse like Dickinson, not seeing anyone and trying to wear all white dre...more
Rebecca
This novel in verse starts out with Suzy's four year old brother calling 911 for the elderly neighbor, who has been taken ill. He's then lauded through the town as the "little hero," and Suzy is irritated and jealous. Then there's her best friend Alison, who seems less and less interested in what interests Suzy. The only bright spot in the summer is Gilbert, whom Suzy refuses to believe is a thief, and with whom she starts spending more time. But when she's rejected for a role in a local play, a...more
Penny McGill
This is the kind of book you just fall into - two or three pages in and you are best friends with Suzy and 100% on side with her. Everything seems to make sense and it is that kind of instant alliance with a character that makes a book like this the perfect thing to give to a kid. I know this book would have been a re-reading choice when I was young and as soon as I was finished it I passed it on to my daughter because there was so much to like in Suzy.

Now, it's not a warm and fuzzy read. Suzy i...more
Barbara
Tween Suzy Quinn becomes more than a little disconcerted by all the attention showered on her little brother Parker when he saves a neighbor's life. It's not that she's jealous of him--oh, maybe a little bit--but surely, she deserves some notice too. To add insult to injury, Suzy and her best friend Alison try out for parts in a play, and she doesn't make the cut. Her plans for her birthday celebration are spoiled too. While the book discussion group she is attending is focusing on the 1800s and...more
Erik This Kid Reviews Books
This was another great novel-in-verse from Eileen Spinelli. The verse is in a style that I think makes the story read like a diary or journal. I like how Mrs. Spinelli writes the story so you can really understand how Suzy/Emily feels about the stuff going on in her life. I think Suzy/Emily went a bit over-the-top in handling her problems, but at least it was inventive! ;) The problems Suzy is having is pretty much what a lot of middle school aged kids have and I think it makes the characters mo...more
Phoebe
When Suzy's 4-year-old brother, Parker, sees their neighbor have a "fit" he calls 911 and becomes a local hero. Her best friend Alison gets a part in the Ridgley Community Theater play, but Suzy doesn't. Then on her birthday, just as she and her dad are on their way to a Phillies game, her mother calls in a panic: Parker is nowhere to be found. Even though she wants Parker to be safe, Suzy resents that her little brother has a way of stealing the limelight no matter what. Meanwhile, at Tween Tim...more
Tami
Another Day as Emily is a new work in free verse by Eileen Spinelli. I fell in love with Spinelli's work when I read Where I Live and The Dancing Pancake and I was excited to see a new book by this author on the shelf at the library. I was not disappointed.

Another Day as Emily is told from Suzy's point of view. Suzy is 11 years old. Her younger brother makes a 911 call when he finds their next door neighbor collapsed on the floor and is proclaimed a local hero--complete with a homemade cape and...more
Deb Tyo
Read and reviewed for Teacher's Choice Book Awards.

Simple verse novel.

***Love "Mom's Book Addiction" poem on page 21...

...I won't be shocked
if one morning
I come down to breakfast
and find Mom
in one of her fogs,
eating a page of a book
with a dollop of strawberry jam.

***After reading "Mrs. Harden's Treasure Box" students could write about which objects would be in their own treasure boxes.

***Students could read a poem, decide on the central idea, and write it as the title of each poem. Compare their...more
Brenda
A novel written in verse that introduces the young reader to Emily Dickinson. The characters in the book are realistic and funny. Suzy and her little brother Parker are visiting an elderly neighbor who collapses. Suzy holds her hand and offers comfort while her little brother calls 911. Parker receives all the credit and becomes the "young hero" featured in the local newspaper and riding in the head car in the Fourth of July parade. He even puts on his "super hero cape" for the newspaper picture...more
Jen
Suzy, her younger brother Parker, and their parents have a normal life, until Parker becomes the "little hero" of the neighborhood. Suzy then feels like she is not noticed and becomes the black sheep of the family. She feels a lot like the famous poet Emily Dickinson who she is learning about in her book club, and she even begins to act like Emily. She won't come out of her room, she refuses to talk to her family and friends, she dresses in white everyday like Emily and changes her name to "Emil...more
Stephanie Croaning
This is a novel in verse about an 11-year-old girl, Suzy, who decides to try to live like Emily Dickinson -- wears only white dresses, doesn't leave the house, communicates only by letter. She is fed up with her life, because her brother has ruined her birthday celebration, she didn't get cast in the play, and she is feeling disconnected from her best friend. What she discovers is that it's hard to be a recluse and instead of working so hard to be Emily, she must figure out how to be Suzy.

I gave...more
Ann Williams
4th graders will like this story of Suzy Quinn and her connection to Emily Dickinson. I can see some great non fiction text sets developing from this story! I am heading BACK to the library to get Eileen Spinelli's other novels written in verse, Summerhouse Time and The Dancing Pancake. Check back for those reviews! :)
Wendy
Maybe I'm not fair to this book, because I'm irritated that the description and title don't (for me) match what this book really is, and my annoyance is out of proportion. There's nothing so very wrong with it. People are always saying that novels in verse are just books with weird line breaks, and most of the time I don't think that's valid (whether I like the book or not), but here I think it really IS. (I had a wait-a-moment feeling early on and thought "maybe this is written in Dickinson com...more
Oak Lawn Public Library - Youth Services
Lexile Level: 420L
Summary:
Suzy, her younger brother Parker, and their parents have a normal life, until Parker becomes the "little hero" of the neighborhood. Suzy then feels like she is not noticed and becomes the black sheep of the family. She feels a lot like the famous poet Emily Dickinson who she is learning about in her book club, and she even begins to act like Emily. She won't come out of her room, she refuses to talk to her family and friends, she dresses in white everyday like Emily and...more
Erin
Again, Goodreads, give me half stars! Because this is a 3.5 star book. Suzy's feeling left out when her little brother becomes a big hero in town, and a series of unfortunate events don't make things any better. Suzy's feelings boil over into taking on Emily Dickinson's persona--including dressing like her, doing activities that Emily would do (while cutting out the ones that she would never do), and becoming a recluse.

The book is in verse, which I think is hit or miss with kids. It has moments...more
Maggie Burgess
This was a sweet story. I wanted to read it before buying it for my classroom, and now I'm still undecided if my students would love it. It's a quick read with simple prose, but a nice message. If I ever found it for a great price, I'd probably pick it up, but I won't be rushing out to look. I can think of a few girls who might enjoy it.
Alexa
Lovely, authentic feeling story about a girl who is overshadowed by her little brtoher's 15 minutes of small-town fame but I wasn't sure what the verse structure of the novel added. As a librarian, I loved Tween Time at the library though it's not currently anything like what I do for tween time at the library.
Melanie
Written in poetry form, this book is about Suzy, a tween girl trying to find her place in the world. At the stage where she feels a little bit invisible when she wants to be noticed, and a little too noticeable when she wants to hide, Suzy is inspired by Emily Dickinson and lives a few days in her shoes.
Leigh
Similiar to "Becoming Teddy Roosevelt", a young girl decides to make herself over as Emily Dickinson. The book is funny and sweet. Not great literature but an amusing and pleasant read. Might work for reluctant readers or work as a Bluebonnet nominee.
Teresa Osgood
This was a change of pace. It's a simple tale, but one that rings true. I even cried real tears in one spot. I was surprised that the entire book was in verse, but I guess a Dickinson-themed story should be.
Bethe
bookaday #123. When her little brother gets all the attention for a heroic act, Suzy decides to become a recluse like Emily Dickinson. Satisfying story about some of the difficult stages of being a tweenager.
Deanna
This is a cute book, love the plot and characters. I will be recommending this to some of my students.
Heather
Cute enough. Good for a fourth grader who needs a realistic fiction title or a novel in verse
Jennifer
Cute verse novel about a young girl named Suzy who decides to "become" Emily Dickinson.
Sara
Recommended. Elementary grades.

Readalikes:
Ava and Pip / Weston
Miss Emily / Muten
Annie
Oct 16, 2014 Annie rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: 3-5
Shelves: childrens
I liked this much more than I thought I would. Sweet and funny.
Emily Hale
A delightful afternoon read.
ThePinkCarrot
Loved this darling story!
NaDell
I really enjoyed this book written from a 12 year old girl's point of view and how she changes to be like Emily Dickenson. I loved this book and the way it was written.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 13 14 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Words with Wings
  • Serafina's Promise
  • How I Discovered Poetry
  • The Junction of Sunshine and Lucky
  • Nightingale's Nest
  • Caminar
  • Boys of Blur
  • Nuts to You
  • The Crossover
  • The Blossoming Universe of Violet Diamond
  • Absolutely Almost
  • Circa Now
  • Ava and Pip
  • Gabriel Finley and the Raven's Riddle
  • The Mark of the Dragonfly
  • Rhyme Schemer
  • Seven Stories Up
  • Salt: A Story of Friendship in a Time of War
59282
Eileen Spinelli, wife of famed children's author Jerry Spinelli, is an award winning children's book author from southeastern Pennsylvania.
More about Eileen Spinelli...
Somebody Loves You, Mr. Hatch Where I Live The Dancing Pancake Sophie's Masterpiece: A Spider's Tale Silly Tilly

Share This Book