Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “From the Jaws of Victory: The Triumph and Tragedy of Cesar Chavez and the Farm Worker Movement” as Want to Read:
From the Jaws of Victory: The Triumph and Tragedy of Cesar Chavez and the Farm Worker Movement
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

From the Jaws of Victory: The Triumph and Tragedy of Cesar Chavez and the Farm Worker Movement

4.06 of 5 stars 4.06  ·  rating details  ·  17 ratings  ·  2 reviews
"From the Jaws of Victory: The Triumph and Tragedy of Cesar Chavez and the Farm Worker Movement" is the most comprehensive history ever written on the meteoric rise and precipitous decline of the United Farm Workers, the most successful farm labor union in United States history. Based on little-known sources and one-of-a-kind oral histories with many veterans of the farm w ...more
ebook, 368 pages
Published September 28th 2012 by University of California Press (first published August 29th 2012)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about From the Jaws of Victory, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about From the Jaws of Victory

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 58)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
David Leonard
In the tradition of Charles Payne, Barbara Ransby, and Chana Kai Lee, Matt Garcia chronicles the history of the United Farm Workers (UFW) from an organizing perspective. Quoting Jerry Brown, Garcia highlights the importance, the principles, and the requisite grind the includes organizing: Fred “Ross never lectured about organizing. He believed that one could only learn to organize by doing. He would point out there was nothing romantic organizing, and this it required mainly common sense, meticu ...more
Christian Bowe
Christian Bowe marked it as to-read
Jun 23, 2015
Jason
Jason marked it as to-read
Aug 18, 2015
Erika
Erika marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2015
Stephanie
Stephanie marked it as to-read
Mar 29, 2015
Ioana
Ioana marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2015
Sandra  Petterson
Sandra Petterson is currently reading it
Apr 05, 2015
Pensa
Pensa added it
Dec 01, 2014
Tashina
Tashina marked it as to-read
Oct 11, 2014
m.c.
m.c. marked it as to-read
Aug 19, 2014
Steven Chang
Steven Chang marked it as to-read
Jul 31, 2014
M. L.
M. L. marked it as to-read
Jul 31, 2014
Norma Villa
Norma Villa is currently reading it
Jul 24, 2014
Mike
Mike marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2014
Zoe
Zoe added it
May 20, 2014
Kate
Kate marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2014
Swickening
Swickening marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2014
Michael
Michael marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2014
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
From the Jaws of Victory Gaia: Shadow & Breath Swimming Pools - Before, During, & After

Share This Book