Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Honey and the Hired Hand” as Want to Read:
Honey and the Hired Hand
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Honey and the Hired Hand (Hawk's Way #1)

by
3.9 of 5 stars 3.90  ·  rating details  ·  290 ratings  ·  8 reviews
A taste of honey...
When a mysterious drifter appeared at Honey Farrell's ranch, willing to work for room and board, the wary widow had to hire him. Tall, dark and grouchy, Jesse Whitelaw could scare away the lurking cattle rustlers with one growl. And Honey's sons could sure use a man around. Still, there was something mighty suspicious about the cowboy....

Jesse hated lyin
...more
ebook, 384 pages
Published October 1st 2012 by Harlequin (first published November 1992)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Honey and the Hired Hand, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Honey and the Hired Hand

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 498)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Julianna
Nov 17, 2011 Julianna rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Contemporary Western Romance, Sexy Alpha Cowboys
Reviewed for THC Reviews
"4.5 stars" For a short novel, Honey and the Hired Hand was a surprisingly enjoyable read that kept me very emotionally engaged. Joan Johnston seems to have a talent for expressing a great deal using an economy of words. The pace moves along very quickly yet the story never felt rushed. Even though it takes place over the course of only a few weeks, there is an intimacy to Jesse and Honey's relationship that makes it seem like they've known each other forever. The sexual
...more
Kay
After reading A Little Time in Texas, I just had to read Honey and the Hired Hand to see if Honey ends up with Adam. What a surprise when a drifter comes to help her with her ranch, and it's not Adam that Honey's heart beats faster for. Jessie isn't the man he appears to be, which is a good thing for Honey because she and her ranch are targets and she needs his help with more than mending fences. I'm looking forward to reading more about the Whitelaw's.
Linda
This was an good book, just not as good as Joan Johnston's books usually are. Maybe she tried to shorten the book, because usually hers are much longer. Honey is a widowed mother, that lives on and runs a ranch, with her 2 sons, one who's a young teenager, and the other is around 5 or 6. I will wrote more later...
Kimberly Woodlief
I liked this series so much that I had to start searching Amazon for the books to read in order due to the library not having them all. If you are looking these books check for them on Amazon. I actually got some books for a .01.
Karen  Boruff
It was an enjoyable and easy read. I would recommend it to anyone who likes westerns.
Mary Lauer
Author doesn't get to pick the titles for category ... and it shows.
Marilyn
Honey Farrell, widow, and Jesse Whitelaw. Pub 1992.
Cam
4stars. POV of both. No epilogue.
Amanda
Amanda marked it as to-read
May 22, 2015
Debbie Swanson
Debbie Swanson marked it as to-read
May 20, 2015
Kelsey
Kelsey added it
May 14, 2015
Misty
Misty marked it as to-read
May 09, 2015
Yaniris Shah
Yaniris Shah marked it as to-read
May 07, 2015
mike humphries
mike humphries marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2015
Ashley
Ashley marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2015
Dana
Dana marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2015
Susan
Susan marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2015
Linda
Linda added it
Mar 03, 2015
Dottie
Dottie marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 16 17 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Cowboy in My Pocket
  • The Rustler (Stone Creek, #3)
  • The Best Bride (Hometown Heartbreakers, #1)
  • Lone Star Christmas (includes: Hawk's Way, #11 & Long, Tall Texans, #18))
  • Twilight in Texas (The McLain Series 4)
  • Forever After
  • Ride a Dark Horse
  • The Cowboy Next Door (Cash Brothers, #1)
  • One Fine Cowboy
  • My Funny Valentine
  • Second Chances
  • Luck Be a Lady (West Investigations, #2)
47784
Joan Johnston (born Little Rock, Arkansas) is a best-selling American author of over forty contemporary and historical romance novels.

Johnston was the third of seven children born to an Air Force sergeant and his music-teacher wife. She received a B.A. in theatre arts from Jacksonville University in 1970, then earning an M.A. in theatre from the University of Illinois, Urbana in 1971. She received
...more
More about Joan Johnston...

Other Books in the Series

Hawk's Way (1 - 10 of 14 books)
  • Little Time in Texas
  • The Rancher and the Runaway Bride
  • Cowboy And The Princess
  • The Wrangler and the Rich Girl
  • The Cowboy Takes a Wife
  • The Unforgiving Bride
  • The Headstrong Bride
  • The Disobedient Bride
  • The Temporary Groom
  • The Virgin Groom
The Cowboy (Bitter Creek #1) The Texan (Bitter Creek, #2) Texas Bride (Mail-Order Brides #1) (Bitter Creek #9) The Loner (Bitter Creek, #3) Frontier Woman (Sisters of the Lone Star, #1)

Share This Book