Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “As If by Magic” as Want to Read:
As If by Magic
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

As If by Magic (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery #3)

3.61 of 5 stars 3.61  ·  rating details  ·  84 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Destitute and desperate, George Lassiter breaks into the kitchen of a stranger's house for food and shelter. There he witnesses the murder of a beautiful girl. But when the police search the house the next day, they find nothing. The corpse has vanished, as if by magic. Even George's friend and rescuer Jack Haldean believes it was nothing more than a nightmare. But the con ...more
ebook, 300 pages
Published September 1st 2012 by Severn House Digital (first published January 1st 2009)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about As If by Magic, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about As If by Magic

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 146)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Damaskcat
Jack Haldean is intrigued by one of his friend’s Bill Rackham’s cases as it involves someone Jack was in the RFC with during World War I. George Lassiter is convinced he saw a murder taking place when he broke into the kitchen and ate some sandwiches.

As George was suffering from flu and malaria at the time is was felt he could be imagining the murder – especially when there was no trace of the body. Jack offers George a place to stay and help with tracing a legacy due to him which seems to have
...more
Vipula
A post-war Jack Haldean story. The language is much more mature, the characters well developed and the mystery actually interesting. I loved the fact that there were multiple plots that tied in really well together at the end. The two detectives Jack Haeldean and his Scotland buddy were likeable and believable characters. Some of the platforms that the story is based on are post war England and growth in commercial aviation. Its fascinating to know that a non-stop journey from London to India wa ...more
Diane
This book shows the reach of the British empire, dysfunctional families, and sleight-of-hand mystery.
Val Sanford
Although I like a smart-thinking, smart dressing amateur sleuth, in this book, Jack Haldean is just a little too smart for his own good. Or for the story, for that matter. The story starts with one coincidence and builds from there; the saying, one is coincidence, twice is happenstance and three is, well, not an accident. The string of unlikely events crafted to build a story around the development of a plane designed to fly from London to India in 1922 just rings false. I get the need for the p ...more
Jessi
Author Jack Haldean is drawn into another mystery in the aftermath of WWI. The former soldier hears the name of a man from his squadron, George Lassiter. It seems the South African has returned to London, and in a fit of malaria, walked into the house of some people he doesn't know. In fact, the head of the Lassiter Aircraft Company lives there. Hmmmm... something's going on and Jack is drawn into the mystery of who claimed George's inheritance and what exactly is going on at the Aircraft Compan ...more
Janet
The more I get into this series, the better I like it.
Susan
Writer Jack Haldean finds an old Air Force buddy George Lassiter down on his luck and under the weather. As George recovers, he learns he is a member of an important aircraft manufacturing family. Then a man who invested with the Lassiters is murdered. Jack knows that George is honest through and through--so why does he seem to be telling lies to Jack? When Jack realizes what's happening, it's almost too late to prevent more deaths.
Elizabeth
In the post WWI years there was a great drive to expand the uses of aviation and there were plenty of men with the drive,the ambition and the vision to foresee a new era for the traveler. All of this takes money, and herein lies the crux of the problem. Frequently a way to raise funds is through murder and in this novel there is a lively tale of corr uptown, perversion and greed.
Gina
A good classic-style British mystery set in the early 1920s. The main character is Major Jack Haldean, a writer and amateur sleuth. He is looking into a case involving a long lost heir, a revolutionary new airplane, and a serial killer preying on fallen women.
Kathy Moberg
Dolores Gordon-Smith creates such interesting characters, and her depiction of post-WWI England is excellent. It's too bad her books aren't more readily available. Fans of Bess Crawford and Maisie Dobbs mysteries ought to give this series a try.
Mary G.
The story and characters seemed to come straight out of the golden age of mysteries. It still had a little adventure and the characters were fun. I am hoping her other books are just as good.
Polly
This is the best of Dolores Gordon-Smith's books that I've read so far; she really got the feel of twenties mysteries here, whereas I found the other two I've read a little forced at times.
LK
Her last one was much better. This one was goofy. The pacing was terrible, and the ending was just plain silly.
Anna
Jack helps a friend in need
Nicole Rivera
Nicole Rivera marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2015
Denise
Denise marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2015
I.
I. marked it as to-read
Aug 18, 2015
Mk
Mk is currently reading it
Jul 30, 2015
Rhonda
Rhonda marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2015
Marloes
Marloes marked it as to-read
Jul 05, 2015
Priscilla
Priscilla marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2015
Leci
Leci marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
450921
Dolores Gordon-Smith is the author of A Fete Worse than Death, the first in the Jack Haldean series. She graduated from the University of Surrey in 1981. She lives in Cheshire, United Kingdom.

Series:
* Jack Haldean Murder Mystery
More about Dolores Gordon-Smith...

Other Books in the Series

Jack Haldean Murder Mystery (8 books)
  • A Fete Worse Than Death (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery #1)
  • Mad About the Boy? (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery, #2)
  • A Hundred Thousand Dragons
  • Off the Record (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery, #5)
  • Trouble Brewing (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery, #6)
  • Blood From a Stone (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery, #7)
  • After the Exhibition (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery, #8)
A Fete Worse Than Death (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery #1) Mad About the Boy? (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery, #2) A Hundred Thousand Dragons Trouble Brewing (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery, #6) Off the Record (Jack Haldean Murder Mystery, #5)

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »