Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dark City Blue (Tom Bishop, #1)” as Want to Read:
Dark City Blue (Tom Bishop, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dark City Blue (Tom Bishop #1)

3.91  ·  Rating Details ·  67 Ratings  ·  21 Reviews
If there’s one thing worse than a crooked cop on your heels then it’s a whole unit of them.

A fistful of people are murdered, fifteen million dollars is stolen and detective Tom Bishop is stuck in the middle. When he hits the street, every clue points in the same direction – his colleagues in a police department demoralised by cutbacks and scandals. Hunted, alone and with n
...more
ebook, 224 pages
Published November 1st 2012 by Momentum
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dark City Blue, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dark City Blue

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Josh
Oct 31, 2012 Josh rated it really liked it
‘Justice’ is more an idea than concept or purpose for policing. It’s a universal term coined to facilitate the dispensing of action through lawful conduct on those who are in breach of maintaining public order. DARK CITY BLUE squashes the safety blanket-like public and policing perception by using this as a means of defining a central corrupt body of lawmakers and turning them into first class criminals. Protagonist, Bishop, a hard-man who’s shed more blood than tears is an honest cop in a world ...more
Sean the Bookonaut
Nov 19, 2012 Sean the Bookonaut rated it really liked it
Dark City Blue is a fast paced crime thriller published by Momentum, the digital offspring of PanMacmillan.

What can I say about Dark City Blue that others haven’t said already?

"It’s the cage fighting equivalent of a police procedural: violent, gaudy, and packing heat.” – Trent Jamieson, author of the Death Works trilogy

” … noir on No-Doz … ” – Fair Dinkum Crime


To tell you the truth it was Trent Jamieson’s quote that hooked me. I trust his taste and Dark City Blue didn’t disappoint. The idea – ma
...more
Brenda
Detective Tom Bishop was a hard nut to crack! Growing up, his teenage years were filled with all the things you hope your kids never get into. But orphanages and foster homes have to be the right type or the worst will happen. When a cop by the name of Pat Wilson came to his rescue, took him into his home and taught him right from wrong, good from bad and guided him into the police force, Tom’s life changed. But he still had a darkness inside him – and when someone was wronged, his violence ...more
David Gibson
Sep 22, 2013 David Gibson rated it really liked it
I just finished Dark City Blue by Luke Preston. I met a cop who is harder to kill than Steven Seagal, with one liners to make Clint Eastwood jealous and saw enough shooting and action to shame Bruce Willis.

This was an adrenaline packed page turner, and I can't wait for the release of his new book, Out of Exile.

Thank-you Greg (Greg Barron, author of Rotten Gods and Savage Tide) for putting me on to this emerging talent. Another thriller writer for me to follow!
Col
Oct 25, 2013 Col rated it liked it
Shelves: 2013, p
Synopsis/blurb.....

If there's one thing worse than a crooked cop on your heels then it's a whole unit of them.

A fistful of people are murdered, fifteen million dollars is stolen and detective Tom Bishop is stuck in the middle. When he hits the street, every clue points in the same direction - his colleagues in a police department demoralised by cutbacks and scandals. Hunted, alone and with no place left to turn, Bishop embarks on a hellish journey down into the gutters where right and wrong quic
...more
Raven
Nov 15, 2012 Raven rated it really liked it
A gripping slice of Aussie noir from debut author Luke Preston, that will have you hooked from the first page. Violent and action-packed, the pace is as swift as the writing is sparse, in a true homage to the hardboiled crime tradition, and the short snappy chapters carry you quickly through this tale of police corruption, paedophiles, and armed robbery. Tom Bishop, our erstwhile hero, is a cop on a mission seeking to expose a very dark conspiracy involving his fellow police officers who are as ...more
Greg Barron
Nov 10, 2012 Greg Barron rated it really liked it
Tom Bishop grew up in the cab of a truck, on the run with his dad, who was wanted by the cops for killing his wife, Tom’s mother, “with the butt of a longneck.” Tom ended up in an orphanage, and never knew when to stop throwing punches. Cop, Patrick Wilson, who had lost his own son from leukaemia, adopted him, and guided young Tom into the police force.

Dark City Blue is the story of Bishop’s one man war against a corrupt gang of major crime squad boys, a paedophile/snuff ring headed up by someon
...more
Speesh
Apr 09, 2013 Speesh rated it really liked it
So, two days in the company of policeman Detective Tom Bishop. Not the most pleasant of experiences for him - but a fast-paced, tense, amoral, dark and gritty, ultimately thrilling roller-coaster ride for us.

The story is based in and around Bishop's Police Station in...well, we aren't told, as far as I can see. It's a violent, no-name city that could be many places (just hope it isn't near you or me). Perhaps Luke Preston deliberately doesn't say where it IS set, so that we can think 'this could
...more
Karen
Dec 04, 2012 Karen rated it really liked it
Shelves: crime, australian, ebook
Sometimes you just have to start off a book review with a bunch of warnings - so let's get the public service announcements out of the road now. Don't read DARK CITY BLUE if:

a) you're going to need sleep in the immediate future;
b) you're about to cough up the annual Christmas Policeman's Fund donation;
c) your tolerance for violence is more on the Midsummer end of the scale; or
d) you've got an allergy to adrenaline.

Ignore the warnings if you're looking for something that is action-packed, violent
...more
Leo Stableford
Dec 20, 2012 Leo Stableford rated it really liked it
I'd never really considered the possibility of there being a sub-genre called "hard boiled oz noir" before cracking open Dark City Blue. The first thing to note about this is that the Australian patois definitely delivers a unique wrinkle to a powerful, bloody, violent thriller.

Let's be clear about this, there is something joyously adolescent about the violence, the swearing, the cranked up adrenaline-soaked machismo of Dark City Blue. I think the jazzy mood title does little to convey the swagg
...more
Chris
Mar 30, 2013 Chris rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Fans of Hammet, Fans of Stark
Recommended to Chris by: Luke Preston
Shelves: mystery, hard-crime
I finished this book within 24 hours of downloading it. It's fast-paced, tightly written and extremely well-written book.

Preston has said on his website and in his blog that he's a fan of both Hammet and Stark, and his hero reminded me of a combination of the Continental Op and Parker. I don't know if it's because of the novel blurb or the actual character in the book, but I would totally cast Lee Marvin as Bishop in a movie version of this thing. Though I think Gene Hackman could play the part
...more
Trevor
Feb 20, 2015 Trevor rated it really liked it
Fast paced and action packed police thriller. Tom Bishop has had a tough violent upbringing, he is now a detective in the VPD trying hard to control his inner demons. The one good cop trying to route out corruption at the highest level. A good book that moves at a good pace, Tom Bishop's life will never be the same, on a professional and personal level.
Steve P Vincent
Oct 14, 2014 Steve P Vincent rated it it was amazing
A detective chases down dodgy cops and a fat load of cash in this hard boiled crime book by Luke Preston. Smashed through this in a few days, and enjoyed the precision and brevity of the writing. Also a buzz seeing some scenes set down the road from my house, as scary as that is. Recommended.
Sarah Macgregor
Mar 01, 2014 Sarah Macgregor rated it really liked it
Amazing!! A good, Australian cop thriller, with very relevant underlying social themes. Good fun to read.
Leslie Willmouth
Apr 17, 2014 Leslie Willmouth rated it liked it
very violent
Amanda Bridgeman
May 30, 2013 Amanda Bridgeman rated it it was amazing
Great read. A gritty, action-packed, cop tale that shoots from the hip!
L.E. Truscott
Feb 15, 2013 L.E. Truscott rated it liked it
If you like characters who never sleep and only ever pass out to get some rest, then this is the book for you.

This is a fast-paced story and the body count starts almost immediately and doesn't let up right until the very end. It has a very gritty feel and it is set in a bleak, dystopian version of Melbourne, Australia that as someone who lives there I don't recognise, thank goodness.

The plot is a little cliched; veteran, weary, jaded cop stumbles across police corruption bringing himself, his f
...more
Barry Simiana
Jun 04, 2015 Barry Simiana rated it it was amazing
Was given the book. Never heard of the writer.

Bloody pity that!

This is a cracker. Started slow and I kept leaving it, but after 20 pages I just bashed through it. Hollywood noir cop thriller set in Melbourne modern. It rocks. Yes the lead is possibly heading into a p,ce where he's indestructible, but it's the first in a series sothat might change. The writing is great, takes a modern Australuan setting and coats it with liberal amounts of Hammett and Chandler and 1930s cop fiction. It has that s
...more
Balthazar Lawson
Mar 24, 2013 Balthazar Lawson rated it really liked it
This book starts with action and it doesn't stop. It's go, go, go from cover to cover, or in the modern age of ebooks, from first electron to the last electron. I enjoyed that.

But the editing of this edition of the book leaves a lot to be desired, with missing words that changed the whole context of some sentences. The time line is very murky as the story does start in the present and jumps back, then jumps back to the present. This all gets confusing at times. Or that may be another case of bad
...more
Brittany Singh
May 07, 2015 Brittany Singh rated it really liked it
Loved this book! Read it in two days...page turner..loved the characters and how action packed it was. Looking forward to the next one!
Miles
Dec 25, 2013 Miles rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kindle-ebooks
Isn't Australia where England dumped their criminals . . . perhaps that's why the police are the way they're portrayed in this book ! ! !
Jewels
Jewels rated it really liked it
Aug 03, 2014
Tony
Tony rated it it was amazing
Nov 01, 2012
Leigh Price
Leigh Price rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2015
Ros
Ros rated it it was amazing
Jun 10, 2014
Marie-Louise
Marie-Louise rated it it was ok
Feb 12, 2014
Leon
Leon rated it did not like it
Aug 24, 2014
Andrew Nette
Andrew Nette rated it really liked it
Nov 20, 2012
Amy
Amy rated it liked it
May 30, 2014
Susan Stuart
Susan Stuart rated it liked it
Dec 30, 2015
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
6564253
Luke spent most of his twenties as a freelance writer, a private investigator and listening to rock ‘n roll. He drinks heavily on occasion, is a half decent musician and his idea of a good time involves a jukebox designed to bleed ears.

Luke’s work has been recognised by The Inside Film Awards, MTV and The ATOM Awards. He writes in cafes, bars and in parking lots on the back of old fuel receipts an
...more
More about Luke Preston...

Other Books in the Series

Tom Bishop (2 books)
  • Out Of Exile (Tom Bishop, #2)

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »