Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Dead Whisper on” as Want to Read:
The Dead Whisper on
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Dead Whisper on

by
3.38 of 5 stars 3.38  ·  rating details  ·  138 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Candace Canada Mac MacHugh lives a ghost of her former life. Once a proud Butte, Montana, miner who daily risked her life setting explosives, she's now a garbage collector in her dying hometown. Her father is dead and she doesn't speak with her mom. Canada Mac is alone. Longing for the past. Dreaming of making a difference.
Hardcover, 314 pages
Published July 1st 2007 by Bethany House Publishers
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Dead Whisper on, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Dead Whisper on

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 259)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Symon
Departed spirits, people bursting into flames, netherworldly spiders. Sounds like the type of story I would love... alas, I was disappointed.

When Candace MacHugh hears her dead father's voice whispering to her from the shadows, she joins a giant organization that shares the secrets of the dead with our world. But soon she's sucked into a shadowy conspiracy tying together murders, tragedies, living shadows...and spontaneous human combustion. Is her father really dead? Is she really communicating
...more
Stephanie
There was absolutely nothing intriguing, enchanting, or miraculous to be found inside of this book. The story was not presented as something believable. Supernatural stories can be quite believable, but unfortunately this one was not. I had so many questions about the main character and her attitude that were just never fully answerable. Sometimes this may be a good thing, but in this case the reader was expected to automatically "buy in to" too much.
Sorry, Hines.
Jennifer Lauren Collins
I'm new to the genre of 'spiritual thrillers', and I'm still not entirely sure what to think about them, but this one was a far cry better than the last one I came across. The characters are believable and engaging, and the first half of the book especially is wonderfully creepy. Further into the book, things begin to get more predictable and didactic (which has, admittedly, been my problem with spiritual/christian fiction and thrillers in the past), so the book lost some of its momentum for me. ...more
Nike Chillemi
The sometimes flippant heroine of The Dead Whisper On is a copper miner's daughter who followed in her dad's footsteps into the mines and now that the mines are shut down has become a garbage collector. Candace "Canada Mac" MacHugh has a promise from her dad, who died eleven year ago, that he'll contact her again, so she's not surprised when she hears his disembodied voice whispering to her. He wants her to join him in a network of operatives who work with the shadow world in doing good and publ ...more
Tyora Moody
Canada MacHugh’s life is interrupted on a garbage collection day. Moving along her route, minding her own business, Canada hears her father’s voice out of the shadows . The only problem. Her dad has been dead for eleven years. Not sure whether she’s losing her mind or really hearing her father’s voice, Canada reflects on her life after her father’s death. Is she really where she wants to be? What if the voice is her father? When she starts believing the voice really is her father, Canada trades ...more
Deb
This is as close to horror as I'm likely to come to read. Candace misses her dead father terribly, so when his voice speaks to her from the shadows she is ready to do just about anything to still be able to communicate with him. But is the voice speaking to her really her father, and is this new secretive life she's leading really for the good? Candace has to find out the answers to these questions in a spiritual journey that takes her through the darkness and shows her how to find hope. But be ...more
Kimmy Yates
I really, really liked this book!! I was expecting something totally different, I cant say why, but it doesn't matter, this book was exactly what I was looking for in spookiness, in thrill, in the fear factor, in ghosts ect..I had a very hard time putting the book down, also, I could see there being a sequel, though it is not meant to have one. 5 stars.
Dustin Foutz
With a different feel from his debut novel: Waking Lazarus, the Dead Whisper On will take you on a strange ride. There were a few things I did not understand about this book but the main thing that comes to mind is a paticular character. Maybe Hines leaves things unexplained for you to decide.
One of my favorite genres is what I call the "creepy" genre (the CBA version of horror, a bit toned down) but it's usually accompanied with its ugly twin: weird. There is a fine line but when the scales
...more
Mark
This book was a decent read but not the type of book I typically read. Fans of Ted Dekker & Stephen King will love it.
Todd Noorman
This was a fun book to read. Nothing mind-blowing or really deep, but fast-paced and interesting. My biggest peeve as a reader is with dialogue that isn't believable, and there were flashes of that here, but there have been worse. I gave it four stars because, as I said, it's a fun, fast read.
Sara
T.L. Hines is a mediocre author. His books have great premises, but then it doesn't quite feel right at the end. Things just "work out at the end" and characters show up without any good reason except possible telekenisis (sarcasm).
Tracy
Much easier to follow than his first book. Interesting take on what may happen after you die, but doesn't necessarily answer any of the important questions. Left me a little puzzled and wondering if I had skipped a few pages somewhere.
Cindy Smith
ugh, never finished. started skimming and kept on skimming.
Karen
Interesting kind of sci fi
Susan Foster
Susan Foster marked it as to-read
May 21, 2015
Kim
Kim marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2015
Jessica
Jessica marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2015
Kim
Kim marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2015
Cheryl Turley
Cheryl Turley marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2015
Jiro Javier
Jiro Javier marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2014
Destinyhart
Destinyhart marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Shade
  • My Soul to Keep (Day of Evil, #3)
  • Bad Ground
  • Dark to Mortal Eyes
  • City of the Dead
  • The Heir
  • Isolation
  • Deployed (Called to Serve, #1)
  • Nobody
  • Corridor
  • Comes a Horseman
  • The Deuce (Midtown Blue #1)
  • The Voice
  • Like a Watered Garden
  • Uncharted
  • Rearview (7 Hours #1)
  • The Lord Is My Shepherd (The Psalm 23 Mysteries, #1)
  • Pray
745073
TL Hines writes "Noir Bizarre" stories, mixing mysteries with oddities in books such as Waking Lazarus, The Dead Whisper On, and The Unseen (coming in 2008). His work has won recognitions ranging from the Maryland Writers Association novel contest to Library Journal's "25 Best Genre Fiction Books of the Year" award. He lives in Montana with his wife and daughter, where he defends an undefeated 3-0 ...more
More about T.L. Hines...
Waking Lazarus The Unseen Faces in the Fire The Falling Away

Share This Book