Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dino Bites!” as Want to Read:
Dino Bites!
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dino Bites!

by
3.58 of 5 stars 3.58  ·  rating details  ·  165 ratings  ·  46 reviews
Munch, crunch! “This is the dinosaur looking for lunch!” It's a dinosaur-eat-dinosaur (and other treats) world out there. But when Bite! Snap! Crunch! leads to a buzz, the buzz leads to a hop, and the hop leads to a wriggle, mealtime has surprising and hilarious results. This delightful cumulative story and fun read-aloud will entertain children again and again.
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published March 5th 2013 by Boxer Books (first published March 1st 2013)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dino Bites!, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dino Bites!

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 240)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Joella www.cinjoella.com
This is one of those picture books that has very few words and the kids will get to explain what happens themselves. (I love those. Especially when I use them in story time and continually ask “what happened?”) Basically a dinosaur is looking for lunch (a smaller dino). The smaller dino is looking for a snack (the smallest dino). The smallest dino is looking for a bite (a bug). Then the smallest dino eats the bug. The smaller dino eats the smallest dino. The dinosaur (who looks like a t-rex) eat ...more
Miss Pippi the Librarian
One of the shortest dinosaur books you will ever read! Three dinosaurs are looking for something to eat. They find their prey and give a chomp. Soon after their bite, their meals backfire with a giant belch!

The book is fast paced, but fun and interesting. The illustrations could be considered minimalistic, but they highlight the action and the minimal words per page. The dinosaurs jump to the forefront because of the solid color pages with no background illustrations. In a small group setting, t
...more
Karen
Um... a book about the carnivorous food chain for dinosaurs. It could have been better -- visually, but it's OK.
Marissa Garcia
Demonstrates chain reactions/cause and effect well. May upset younger audiences, but hey, it's the circle of life.
Cassie
Munch, crunch! “This is the dinosaur looking for lunch!” It's a dinosaur-eat-dinosaur (and other treats) world out there. But when Bite! Snap! Crunch! leads to a buzz, the buzz leads to a hop, and the hop leads to a wriggle, mealtime has surprising and hilarious results. This delightful cumulative story and fun read-aloud will entertain children again and again.

Readalikes: I Know an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly: A Hilarious Lift-the-Flap Book!
Karen
Good for Dino fans and Dino themed ST. Also good for "I'm Gonna Eat You Up" story time.
Robin Rousu
Not a fan of books that end with a burp, but other than that, this is fun, fast, and ferocious. Would be good for story time. Recommended for ages 2.5-5.
Maddypictures
Simple, loud and funny! This story is a total triumph. One dinosaur chomps another in this food chain book, and all is well until, "The bite buzzed..." causing T-Rex to rather loudly "BUUURP!" the other dinos free again. Dino Bites has enormous kid appeal, large, colorful illustrations with bold dark outlines and a very simple text, sometimes only one word per page. Perfect for reading aloud to large groups.
Great Books
Three "fierce some" dinosaurs of varying size are looking for a bite to eat. But when the "food" does not agree with them, a whole lot of rumbling goes on in all those stomachs, ending in a comical surprise. Comical creatures, bright backgrounds, and spare text help create a wonderful story to share with a group, one-on-one or even as a very first reader. Reviewer 17
Meghan Hunt
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Samantha
A hungry dinosaur is looking for lunch and his lunch is looking for a snack who's looking for a bite to eat. With all of these creatures wiggling around in the dinosaur's stomach he lets out a monster burp and everyone escapes!

A funny read aloud that brings to mind the Old Lady who Swallowed a Fly.
Barbara
There's no such thing as a free lunch. From the big dinosaur to the little fly, as each eats the next smaller the reader wonders what will happen. A tickled stomach frees everyone in the end. A quick and silly story that might work for preschool storytime if the reader helps it along a bit.
Stephanie Skolmoski
Dino Bites! is a perfect book for a beginning reader. Once you read it to a child, they can read it right back to you! No matter how many times they read it, there is always laughter at the end! The illustrations are simple and wonderful. Kids love them! Enjoy this book with a child!
Bethany
At first it seems a little dark, watching the food chain from largest creature to smallest, but then the story takes a twist a la "There was an old lady who swallowed a fly" and the creatures all make a funny escape. Will be a nice read aloud during story time.
Mary
This book is perfect for ECE and read aloud! It is the story of a dinosaur who is looking for his lunch (and what the lunch itself is looking to eat). It is a great sequence book with good vocabulary, large text and pictures, and a simple story. Awesome!
Msjennifers Corner
Great for babies and especially toddlers. Big bold illustrations that will catch their eyes. Few words that tell the story without any too much to distract. And what kid doesn't like a burp in their story?
Alison
This is a kind of cute, kind of off the wall picture book about a food chain looking for their next meal and then burping each other up at the end. I think boys would like it.
Kelsey
Age: 1-years-old - Kindergarten
Animals: Dinosaurs
Read-a-like: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly

Simple text, bold and attractive illustrations, silly story
LandOLakes Library
Enjoyable illustrations with adorable dinosaurs who live in a dinosaur eats dinosaur world. However, it's kinda hard to keep a dinosaur down in this story!
Brittany
The illustrations are a little goofy looking and the story couldn't be simpler. Kids may find this funny, but it wouldn't be a first choice for me.
Beth
Fantastic book. Kids will love this one, especially at story times. The illustrations are fun and the text easy. An instant hit.
Leigh
cumulative picture book where each creature munches on the smaller one and all are devoured by a hungry T-Rex.
Marina
Seems like a very abbreviated take on I know an old lady who swallowed a fly. Cute illustrations and easy to read.
Tara
Funny, but a little disturbing at the same time. Might not be a good read for very sensitive kids.
Brindi
I wish I had this book a few weeks ago for SRP...a new favorite dino book with the kids for sure.
Moehee01
I had tremendous success in storytime with this one. The kids loved it! Short, sweet, and funny!
Katie Peterson
This book is so cute and would be great in a younger elementary setting. Short and super cute.
Linda Starr
Very short but funny illustrations about the food chain but with a funny happy ending.
Sharper1
Cute, simple. Somewhat akin to I Know an Old Lady, but without the rhyme and repetition.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Dinosaur Kisses
  • The Things I Can Do
  • I Spy on the Farm
  • Here Comes the Big, Mean Dust Bunny!
  • Little Mouse
  • Buddy and the Bunnies: In Don't Play with Your Food
  • Moo!
  • Monsters Love Colors
  • Open Very Carefully: A Book with Bite
  • Tea Rex
  • Perfectly Percy
  • Soup for One
  • Nighty Night, Little Green Monster
  • Are the Dinosaurs Dead, Dad?
  • Seven Hungry Babies
  • Rah, Rah, Radishes!: A Vegetable Chant
  • Banana
  • Jump!
Fine As We Are Mammoth and Me The Deep Dark Wood The Scariest Monster in the World Goal ! Let's Play ! In Simplified Chinese And English

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »