Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Snitch World” as Want to Read:
Snitch World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Snitch World

3.83  ·  Rating Details ·  40 Ratings  ·  10 Reviews
In the new novel from noir master Jim Nisbet, the Snitch World in question is actually made up of different worlds both old and new, populated with the old-time petty criminals, like Chainbang and Klinger, but also with the modern, including a nouveau femme fatale whose tools of the criminal trade are from the new economy. Snitch World takes place in a San Francisco of men ...more
Paperback, 192 pages
Published July 1st 2013 by PM Press (first published January 1st 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Snitch World, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Snitch World

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Tuck
Jul 22, 2013 Tuck rated it it was amazing
Shelves: noir
thieves, bad guys and ex cons DO HAVE an ethics, and that is to NEVER snitch. so our down n out drunk, not-so-bad-guy Klinger can do nothing when he gets the big frameup and no payoff, just a trip to the hot seat.
jim nisbet writes the smartest, smoothest, most realistic noir today, usually from the perspective of the smelliest, low-downest, drunkest douche bags of the greater bay area. hell, in one book there's even a formula for why one should take as early an SS payout as possible. you can do
...more
Still
Jun 15, 2014 Still rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Noir enthusiasts; Fans of Bukowski & Derek Raymond & Other Cerebral Two-Fisted Crime Writers
Recommended to Still by: I Buy ALL Jim Nisbet Books
REALLY Liked It!


REVIEW TO FOLLOW.
Tim Niland
Sep 06, 2016 Tim Niland rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2014-reads
Unrepentant alcoholic Klinger has tried it all, from digging in abandoned mines to holding up stores with a psychotic wheelman. He settles into a down and out bar called the Hawse Hole and a no-hope motel, while he tries to stay drunk as long as his money holds out. Hooking up with a fellow con just out of prison, they pick the pocket of a drunken cell phone app programmer and in a scuffle Klinger ends up with the programmer's cell phone. Klinger, a decidedly non-digital denizen of the dark ...more
Justin Howe
May 12, 2013 Justin Howe rated it really liked it
A small time crook collides with amoral dot-com venture capitalists in modern day San Francisco. What plot there is focuses largely on a top secret under development phone app, but the real entertainment is in Nisbet's prose and vivid depiction of San Francisco. An enjoyable book, both funny and sad in a "Those days are gone, but the people live on" kind of way. However I doubt most cops or crooks are as philosophical as those presented here.
Cheryl
Apr 02, 2014 Cheryl rated it really liked it
An engaging, fast read. Fun for anyone who has lived in San Francisco and in the context of the tech world and the criminal underworld that you may/may not know exists. Engaging caper.
Tom Andes
Dec 26, 2014 Tom Andes rated it it was amazing
This was a pleasant surprise, a book I picked up at the PM Press table at the New Orleans Bookfair because I wanted to see what kind of noir they were doing that turned into one of the more enjoyable novels I've read lately. More than anything, it's a love song (or perhaps an elegy) for a disappearing San Francisco, the blue collar city that started vanishing in earnest around 1993 (though the novel is set in the mid-2000s) and has continued to cling to life through successive tech booms and ...more
A
Aug 19, 2013 A rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction, e-book, mystery
E books from the library are a limited choice. It sometimes feels like these are more "vacation" and "best sellers" than the more obscure books which usually attract me. I was surprised to find this recent book by Jim Nisbet, someone I knew back in the 1970s, when he had written Death Puppet, which was not so great (in my humble opinion). This book shows how much Nisbet has changed as a writer, while he maintains his quirky edge.

The conversation at the end of the book was a diversion, and not s
...more
Laura Leonard
Sep 10, 2013 Laura Leonard rated it did not like it
Shelves: gave-up-on
I didn't think about anything. 4.5 stars? If I can't get into a book within the first few chapters, I quit.

That being said, this book made 2 chapters. Then I returned it so that I could get my hold book. Fingers crossed it's better than this one.
Mike
Mar 11, 2016 Mike rated it liked it
Takes about a hundred pages before it gets good. Typical Niisbet noir except with some white collar grifters this time around.
Ferzana
Ferzana rated it it was amazing
Aug 08, 2015
Shari
Shari rated it really liked it
Dec 07, 2015
Cyber
Cyber rated it it was amazing
Sep 02, 2015
Scoutaccount
Scoutaccount rated it liked it
Apr 18, 2014
Nathan
Nathan rated it really liked it
May 21, 2013
Paul
Paul rated it really liked it
Sep 08, 2015
Phil Judd
Phil Judd rated it liked it
May 10, 2014
Teeny Katt
Teeny Katt rated it really liked it
Jun 16, 2014
John
John rated it really liked it
Dec 06, 2013
Johanna
Johanna rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2015
Corrina
Corrina rated it liked it
Mar 31, 2014
Alex Norden
Alex Norden rated it liked it
Sep 26, 2016
Duncan Comrie
Duncan Comrie rated it it was amazing
Aug 25, 2013
Christina Jenkins
Christina Jenkins rated it liked it
Nov 14, 2015
Cooper John
Cooper John rated it liked it
May 06, 2016
Sarah
Sarah rated it liked it
Dec 06, 2015
PM Press
PM Press rated it it was amazing
May 20, 2013
Amy
Amy rated it liked it
Mar 20, 2014
Dan Sharber
Sep 27, 2013 Dan Sharber rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction, own
this was a fun little book. very enjoyable!
Alex Norden
Alex Norden rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2016
Vanessa
Vanessa rated it really liked it
Jan 29, 2014
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
264561
San Francisco writer Jim Nisbet has published eleven novels, including the acclaimed Lethal Injection. He has also published five volumes of poetry. His novel, Dark Companion, was shorted-listed for the 2006 Hammett Prize. Various of his works have been translated into French, German, Japanese, Italian, Polish, Hungarian, Greek, Russian and Romanian.

Aside from reading and performing his own work
...more
More about Jim Nisbet...

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »