Eden's Garden
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Eden's Garden

by
4.0 of 5 stars 4.00  ·  rating details  ·  28 ratings  ·  11 reviews
2011

Carys’ dreams for the future are falling apart as she returns to the Snowdonia village where she was born, to look after her mother. But then a chance discovery draws her back into the story of Plas Eden, the huge, ramshackle country house where, at eighteen, she said goodbye to her childhood sweetheart, David Meredith.

1898

The last time Ann was in London she was a spoi...more
ebook, 361 pages
Published March 22nd 2012 by Honno Press (first published March 14th 2012)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 69)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Susan Jones
It's hard to believe that this is Juliet Greenwood's first novel. It's the story of two women, Carys and Ann, though it's Carys in the present day that is the main vein of the story. Set in North Wales in the village of Pont yr Eden, I'm sure I know some of these characters who are warm, funny and loveable.

Carys comes home to look after her Mam who is recouping from an operation. At first she wonders why it's her out of the three sisters who gets the job of carer, her boyfriend is quite miffed.

I...more
Claire McAlpine
If you plan on taking a holiday in Cornwall or Wales in the near future I can think of no better accompaniment than this book. Holiday or not, don't hesitate to immerse yourself in this delightful, intriguing tale which unravels family secrets while celebrating women returning to the creative work they were born to do.

Eden's Garden follows Carys in the present day back to her childhood village to attend her mother who is convalescing from a broken hip; she has little choice being the unmarried s...more
Cryssa
I thoroughly enjoyed this story about two women, Carys and Ann, living at separate times, yet connected by family secrets and Plas Eden and the garden of statues. Eden's Garden is extremely well written, and the author manages the threads of these two separate, yet connected stories, with a deft brush. They mystery around Ann's life unfolds at the right pace, drawing you into who she was and the life she has tried to escape. Carys's ambition for a fulfilling life has driven her to leave behind h...more
Ann
A dual time novel set in Victorian and the present time. Both enjoyable and well written it should appeal to fans of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton. The two main characters, Ann in the earlier period and Carys in the present, are both likeable and believable though my favourite character is Hodge the Labrador! There is an intriguing family mystery connecting Wales and Cornwall and these settings are vividly portrayed. Unlike some novels of this genre I didn’t find it too long and the action moved a...more
Allie Cresswell
A pleasing story very reminiscent of The Forgotten Garden. A secret from the past unites an estranged couple in a search for the truth. A small, gossipy Welsh village replete with caricatures, a dilapidated stately home and some very nice descriptions of landscape, flora and art complement the rather darker and mysterious scenes from the past. The author makes a real effort to understand and portray the issues of caring for an elderly parent and the dichotomy which increasingly exists between ag...more
Amanda
Loved this book - a love story mixed in with a mystery and hopping between present day and 1898. All tied up with a Welsh house and garden and the people connected with it. Mix in a Victorian husband of the worse kind and you've got a good mystery that carries through right to the end of the book. Highly recommended.
Kathryn
Mysterious statues in a Welsh garden draw the reader into a wonderful story web about the people living and working on the Plas Eden estate. Great cast of characters, an intriguing mystery from the past and beautiful descriptions of place made this an unputdownable read for me.
Donna Irwin
Thoroughly enjoyed this inter-linked story of past and present. An intriguing tale. Very well written.
Sandra
A very pleasant, satisfying read
Cleo Bannister
Cleo Bannister marked it as to-read
Apr 06, 2014
Isa
Isa marked it as to-read
Mar 09, 2014
Alyson
Alyson marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2014
NormaCenva
NormaCenva marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2014
Maura
Maura added it
Jan 21, 2014
Chaundra Anderson
Chaundra Anderson marked it as to-read
Dec 28, 2013
Michelle
Michelle marked it as to-read
Nov 24, 2013
Molly
Molly marked it as to-read
Nov 22, 2013
Emily
Emily marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2013
Charlotte
Charlotte marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2013
ZiggyF
ZiggyF marked it as to-read
Sep 09, 2013
Rebecca
Rebecca marked it as to-read
May 26, 2013
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
844510
I'm the author of 'We That are Left', set in Cornwall, Anglesey and France during the First World War. It was finished with a Literature Wales Writer's Bursary in 2013 and published by Honno Press in February 2014. 'We That are Left' is the Welsh Books Council's Book of the Month for March, and the Welsh Book of the Month for Waterstones Wales and the National Museums of Wales.

My first book for H...more
More about Juliet Greenwood...
We That Are Left Elissa's Castle (Transita)

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »